≡ Menu

Rich Brother Rich Sister Book Review and Giveaway

Robert Kiyosaki is at it again with another book titled Rich Brother Rich SisterTwo Different Paths to God, Money and Happiness.  Did you know that Mr. Kiyosaki’s book “Rich Dad Poor Dad” has been on the New York Best Sellers list for the past 7 years?  I’m one of the many who have read Rich Dad Poor Dad and although it doesn’t explain a lot about “how” to get rich, it does have a lot of value in explaining how rich people think.

About the Authors

Rich Brother Rich Sister is written by two people, Robert Kiyosaki and his sister Emi Kiyosaki.  Most of us know who Robert Kiyosaki is.  He is the author of international best seller of the Rich Dad Poor Dad series of books along with being a real estate investor.  However, who is Emi Kiyosaki?  Emi took an entirely different path than Robert.  While Mr. Kiyosaki took the path of financial greatness, Emi followed a spiritual path and was ordained (by the Dalai Lama) as a Buddhist nun.

What is Rich Brother Rich Sister about?

This book is a little different than Robert Kiyosaki’s other books where Rich Brother Rich Sister is more of a biography and personal development guide than a “financial book”.  It contains many life lessons that I think that we can all learn from.

It starts off with what Robert and Emi Kiyosaki were like as children and how they grew up during World War II.  The story evolves into how they both went on their own separate paths and the struggles that they went through to get to where they are today.  Each chapter contains perspectives from both Robert and his sister.

What I found refreshing was that both authors humbly admit their faults and what they have learned from them.  For example, with Robert, he admitted to having a dark side along with being discharged from the U.S Army.  Emi, she went through many struggles in life (both financial and health) which mainly stem from her trying to find her path in life.

For those of you who have already read “Rich Dad Poor Dad” or the “Cash Flow Quadrant“, this book helps put depth into what Robert Kiyosaki preaches and why he believes so strongly in what he does.  If you’re anything like me, you’ve questioned if you’re doing what you’re supposed to be doing.  This book helps answer that question in describing how two siblings found their path to a fulfilling life and their lessons on how they both got there.

Want a Free Copy?

  • Simply leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered in the draw for a free copy.
  • Please only 1 comment entry / person (please enter a valid email address).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Thursday 5pm EST Jan 22, 2009 and the winner announced shortly afterward!

If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free newsletter service below (we will not spam you).

FT About the author: FT is the founder and editor of Million Dollar Journey (est. 2006). Through various financial strategies outlined on this site, he grew his net worth from $200,000 in 2006 to $1,000,000 by 2014. You can read more about him here.

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Terry January 20, 2009, 9:27 am

    Sign me up.

  • Writer's Coin January 20, 2009, 9:36 am

    Anything written by Kiyosaki typically turns me off, but his sister sounds pretty interesting. I’m in.

  • David V January 20, 2009, 9:41 am

    I read the Rich Dad book and while it isn’t a book I recommend to friends who want to learn about finances, anytime I read a book I do tend to learn something.

  • Elina January 20, 2009, 9:43 am

    Pick me pick me!!!!

  • Julie January 20, 2009, 10:04 am

    I’m intrigued, and want to know more about Emi.

  • newbie January 20, 2009, 10:18 am

    Sounds like it would be an interesting read; two siblings “enriching” their lives in different ways.

  • Money Minder January 20, 2009, 10:26 am

    I love a free book! Pick me!

  • KC January 20, 2009, 10:43 am

    Count me in!

    Thanks!

  • Mark January 20, 2009, 10:46 am

    Thanks!

    Kiyosaki’s columns on Yahoo Finance are nice and topical too.

  • Chris January 20, 2009, 11:00 am

    I’d like to add this to my collection of rich dad books.

  • Alyson January 20, 2009, 11:02 am

    Sounds like a fascinating read!

  • Ringo January 20, 2009, 11:02 am

    I wish I would as rich as my sisters too, after reading this book!

  • canucktuary January 20, 2009, 11:08 am

    Sounds like an interesting read!

  • cbez January 20, 2009, 11:13 am

    Looks interesting!

  • Braiden Harvey January 20, 2009, 11:13 am

    Rich Dad is a great series, I would love to add it to my collection.

    Thanks

    Braiden Harvey

  • JasonM January 20, 2009, 11:14 am

    I have always wanted to try the board game.

  • Chuck January 20, 2009, 11:16 am

    I’m always up for a good read

  • Neerajn Singhal January 20, 2009, 11:49 am

    Seems like a nice read. Please count me in.

  • Sauce January 20, 2009, 11:50 am

    I’m in…

  • Joel January 20, 2009, 11:54 am

    seems like an interesting read – I am happy to read free books.

  • Tish January 20, 2009, 11:57 am

    My goal this year is to educate myself by increasing the number of good books I read each month…this one will be on that list.

  • Christian January 20, 2009, 11:59 am

    I did enjoy reading the the Rich Dad series books. Especially the original book. I learn better when I read stories and life experiences and Robert does a really good job in writing all of that. I think his main message from most of his books is that, if you want to get rich, you should build a business and start investing. Sometimes I feel that the message is the same for all his books. Same message, different words. I hope this one brings something fresh.

    But he’s good at selling, because I am going to buy it anyways.. If I don’t win it.

    Christian

  • Jimmy January 20, 2009, 12:00 pm

    sounds like a good book to read!

  • nobleea January 20, 2009, 12:01 pm

    I don’t want the book, because Kiyosaki is a hack. I’m interested if the stories told in this one (I assume his sister can keep him honest) match up with the ‘stories’ he tells in his other novels.

  • Brian January 20, 2009, 12:07 pm

    I have appreciated the insites of how “successful” people think and would enjoy reading about the events and history that helped to shape such a gifted man.

  • RJ January 20, 2009, 12:08 pm

    Free book sounds good to me!!

  • Swati Jain January 20, 2009, 12:09 pm

    Here is for the opportunity to own my first finance related book.

  • Gloria January 20, 2009, 12:15 pm

    Thanks for the opportunity! Sounds like an interesting book.

  • Rose January 20, 2009, 12:16 pm

    I find Mr. Kiyosaki very interesting and I would love to read more of him and to find out more of his sister. It’s amazing how he took the road to money wealth and his sister took the road to spiritual wealth. Please count me in to win this interesting, alluring book.

  • Hemen Modi January 20, 2009, 12:18 pm

    I like ‘Rich Dad..’ because of the fundamental financial principals explained in a very simple language…hoping that this book has something more to it.

  • real money January 20, 2009, 12:23 pm

    count me in.

  • Les January 20, 2009, 12:26 pm

    I liked the Rich Dad books (you just have to take it with a grain of salt) so I guess this one is worth a read.

  • amyt January 20, 2009, 12:36 pm

    Thanks for the opportunity, it looks like it would be a great book to win!

  • The Financial Blogger January 20, 2009, 12:46 pm

    coool!
    do you know when they will edit “rich grand son” ? hehehe

  • Mark Wolfinger January 20, 2009, 12:50 pm

    I’m amazed that people love the Rich Dad series.

    It’s all hype. It’s all ‘rah,rah rah.’

    There’s no substance; it’s all inspirational.

    Mak

  • Steve January 20, 2009, 1:03 pm

    I am interested!

  • Gates VP January 20, 2009, 1:04 pm

    So Kiyosaki has a sister who’s a nun? Really? Man what a convenient life… first the guy has the perfect set of “fathers” and now it’s like his family is just popping in all of the right directions too. I’m just waiting for “Rich Dad, Richer Kid” (OK, I’m claiming the copyright on that right now :)

    For anyone who hasn’t read “Rich Dad, Poor Dad”, it’s definitely a “library rental”. It’s really sad to me that it has been a best seller for so long.

    Look, people don’t want to be “rich”, they want to be “financially independent”. People don’t want to “retire”, they want to be “financially independent” so they don’t have work any more (or as much). We don’t want “money”, we want the quality of life that money brings.

    For a more lucid and practical book about this concept, see “Killing Sacred Cows”.

  • Steve in Montreal January 20, 2009, 1:17 pm

    Looks like an interesting read. Sign me up as well.

  • Izzoshady January 20, 2009, 1:17 pm

    Thanks for the review

    Look forward to reading this

  • Daniel Morel January 20, 2009, 1:18 pm

    Is Obama the secret word?

  • tom January 20, 2009, 1:21 pm

    sign me up and keep up the good work!

  • Dean Barclay January 20, 2009, 1:26 pm

    Probably a good book …i’ve enjoyed his other ones.

  • jesse January 20, 2009, 1:43 pm

    I’m looking forward to a book that sounds inspiring but leaves you just as confused as before you picked it up. Lots of interesting concepts but no meat on the bones.

  • piper January 20, 2009, 1:56 pm

    pick me please. God bless Obama.

  • Finance Matters January 20, 2009, 2:00 pm

    I’m in!

  • csplice January 20, 2009, 2:17 pm

    I’m in!

  • karash January 20, 2009, 2:17 pm

    I’m intrigued, and want to know more about Emi.

  • Chris January 20, 2009, 2:19 pm

    also in for a free copy!

  • karash January 20, 2009, 2:25 pm

    I am curious about the ‘rich sister’ s philosophy..!

  • Bonnie January 20, 2009, 2:29 pm

    I would love to read the book, thanks!

  • pj January 20, 2009, 2:32 pm

    looks good

  • Erick January 20, 2009, 2:38 pm

    Sign me up!

  • Brad January 20, 2009, 2:45 pm

    I’ve read Rich Dad, Poor Dad a time or two but if you asked me what I learned, I’m not sure I could tell you. Guess I need a free book so I can read it over and over and over to really learn his concepts. :)

  • Eric January 20, 2009, 2:46 pm

    That looks like a good read. Consider me entering.

  • ryan January 20, 2009, 2:52 pm

    VICTORY!

  • Vicki January 20, 2009, 3:16 pm

    I’ve never read anything by either of them even though I have heard of Robert Kiyosaki. The journey sounds interesting!

  • TomW January 20, 2009, 3:22 pm

    Let’s face it: the Anglo-Saxon financial and economic models are broken. Whatever understanding the Kiyosakis might contribute is welcome.

  • Aman@BullsBattleBears January 20, 2009, 3:24 pm

    great promotion for a very informative book! good luck to all!!

  • Maiku January 20, 2009, 3:36 pm

    Interesting. I’ve actually put off reading Kiyosaki books before because I’ve heard many negative reviews and the small parts I have read seemed a little overly focused on money rather than developing a life you can respect.

    But now with the input of his sister, this sounds like it may give a lot more detail about whether the “rich life” is the way to go rather than how to get there.

  • Stephen Winters January 20, 2009, 3:37 pm

    Nice addition to the other Kiyosaki books

  • jim January 20, 2009, 3:46 pm

    i’ve read rich dad poor dad & learned a great deal about money.i read all of the time & would like to win this book for my Library & to share with others

  • viennatech January 20, 2009, 4:09 pm

    Having read many of his other books, this should offer more insight. Thanks!

  • Jineshwar singh January 20, 2009, 4:18 pm

    It sounds an interesting read written by siblings so different!

  • Michael January 20, 2009, 4:39 pm

    I have read Rich Dad, Poor Dad and I am interested in reading this as well.

  • Jatinder Singh January 20, 2009, 4:44 pm

    sign me up!

  • Krys January 20, 2009, 4:48 pm

    Count me in! I liked the Rich Dad Poor Dad book, as it helped open my eyes to the real road to riches.

    Thanks!

  • Naveen January 20, 2009, 4:51 pm

    Sign me up…

  • Ney January 20, 2009, 5:01 pm

    I really liked the Rich Dad Poor Dad book. Although I’m expecting something very different from this one, it also seems pretty interesting.

  • rachel January 20, 2009, 5:20 pm

    count me in.

  • Oil Baron January 20, 2009, 5:20 pm

    I’ve read many of his books, but I’m not terribly impressed with his approach. Way back when I first read one of his books, it was the first time I’d been introduced to multiple streams of income. I’m glad for learning about that. His books always left me with negative feelings though. After reading what he had to say, I think I’d prefer to go my own way rather than use his methods.

    I found that John Reed had some interesting findings on Kiyosaki and his books. He wrote quite a lengthy review. He’s a journalist at heart, and writes reviews of authors in the real estate space.
    http://www.johntreed.com/Reedgururating.html

  • Lakedweller January 20, 2009, 5:27 pm

    For some people education is second to motivation. Putting money into the perspective of livng a good life is a timely topic. I’d appreciate the perspective of this book.

  • Yaw January 20, 2009, 5:33 pm

    Looks like a great book, I’ll probably give it a read!

  • Shanny January 20, 2009, 5:46 pm

    I’d love to have this book!

  • elman January 20, 2009, 5:51 pm

    I’d like a copy please

  • Patricia January 20, 2009, 6:12 pm

    Thanks for the introduction to this book, sounds like it would be a very interesting read. Thanks as well for another great giveaway.

  • Miguel January 20, 2009, 6:20 pm

    I agree with post #70–he has made his money from books and from what I understand not so much from real estate. I always like a good finance read, though, and keep the thinking critical when you read anything.

  • geoff January 20, 2009, 6:24 pm

    looks interesting…

  • Jinny January 20, 2009, 7:10 pm

    Count me in! :)

  • Tyler Burge January 20, 2009, 7:11 pm

    I would love the get a free copy.

  • Kinny January 20, 2009, 7:29 pm

    Sounds great! Count me in!

    Thanks =)

  • DG January 20, 2009, 7:58 pm

    Count me in!

    Thanks,
    Dan.

  • amit January 20, 2009, 8:07 pm

    Unlike most readers, I am quite inspired by Rich Dad, Poor Dad. It gave me a whole new perspective about how to change my thinking towards my financial independence. There are lot of things to learn from his stories and from his books.

    Please count me in for the draw.

  • Chelsea January 20, 2009, 8:20 pm

    Sounds like a great read – hope I win a copy!

  • Mark January 20, 2009, 8:30 pm

    This book sounds like another great addition to the collection!

  • Jeff January 20, 2009, 8:40 pm

    Thanks for your info. I’d like to be entered into the draw as well!

  • Amon Anus January 20, 2009, 8:47 pm

    Could be an interesting read!

  • Ronny January 20, 2009, 8:51 pm

    count me in!

  • Jason Lee January 20, 2009, 8:56 pm

    This could be an interesting read. I have heard great things of the rich dad poor dad series. Having just been to a “Learn to be rich ” seminar put on by the rich dad organization, it left a really sour taste in my mouth. I hope this read wil reaffirm his teachings.

  • EDWARD CHONG January 20, 2009, 8:58 pm

    IF IT IS LIKE HIS PREVIOUS BOOK:” RICH DAD POOR DAD” , ROBERT KIYOSAKI HAS ANOTHER BEST SELLER.

    I LIKE THE WAY ROBERT GOES TO HIS PERSONAL LIFE EXPERINCES TO EXPLAIN, HOW THE SEEDS OF FUTURE SUCCESS ARE PLANTED AND NUTURE FOR FUTURE HARVEST OR SUCCESS IN HIS LATER LIFE.

  • Marianne O January 20, 2009, 9:23 pm

    I wonder if this book will impress me more than the Cashflow quadrant did. Some good ideas there, but it was mostly filler. Who knows, maybe this will be radically different.

  • theFatLossAuthority January 20, 2009, 9:24 pm

    Read one of his books earlier on and it helped me understand most things about Real Estate.

  • Linda January 20, 2009, 10:33 pm

    I enjoyed “Rich Dad, Poor Dad” greatly. It was one of the first five books of this genre that I’d read, and I’d found it so engaging that I burned through it in a day, enjoying it thoroughly. It now has a place on my bookshelf. I found “Cash Flow Quadrant” less entertaining and more like a workbook; thus, not on my shelf. Thanks for hilighting “Rich Brother/Rich Sister”! I’m looking forward to it already. (Even if I have to buy my own copy.)

    Keep up the good work – I read you daily.

  • Maria V January 20, 2009, 10:43 pm

    Sounds like an interesting read.

  • Pepe January 20, 2009, 11:03 pm

    Count me in.

  • Bob January 20, 2009, 11:08 pm

    Sounds like a good read. Count me in!

  • Davina January 20, 2009, 11:17 pm

    I am interested!

  • Jordan January 20, 2009, 11:27 pm

    I enjoyed rich dad, poor dad, count me in!

  • Dustin January 20, 2009, 11:33 pm

    This sounds like an interesting book!

  • Kathryn January 20, 2009, 11:41 pm

    Wow, 99 comments and counting. Count me in.

  • skippy January 20, 2009, 11:47 pm

    Just learning to get back on my financial feet, and every little bit helps. I’m in on the contest, I could use a good read.

  • skippy January 20, 2009, 11:49 pm

    I need all the financial help I can get, please draw my name. BTW, thanks for the great blog

  • clalc January 21, 2009, 12:01 am

    It would be great to read his new book ! Count me in.

  • Al January 21, 2009, 12:37 am

    Sounds like a great book to read!!

  • Wanda January 21, 2009, 12:39 am

    Please count me in – thank you!

  • Kanggadin January 21, 2009, 12:58 am

    It looks pretty interesting. I am in. Thanks.

  • skippy January 21, 2009, 1:16 am

    Man, I sure could use some financial help. I think this book is a step in the right direction.

  • Flora January 21, 2009, 3:31 am

    sounds like an interesting book.. would love to win it =)

  • Elisha January 21, 2009, 4:19 am

    I read Rich Dad Poor Dad and gained a new perspective.

  • Brad Mottashed January 21, 2009, 5:02 am

    Im in.

  • John January 21, 2009, 9:09 am

    As a father of 3 with a single income, I often feel locked onto the path of financial gain, of being a good provider. I often wonder if I chose the right path, or if living with less, but a more spiritual focus would have been a better choice. This sounds like a book that would be very much in tune with my thoughts.

  • Debt_Free_in_5 January 21, 2009, 9:36 am

    Count me in

  • Jordan January 21, 2009, 10:26 am

    Please enter me in the draw.
    Thank you.

  • Kryton January 21, 2009, 10:53 am

    I’m in. Thanks

  • Humbaba January 21, 2009, 11:08 am

    For a scathing review of this guy see http://johntreed.com/Kiyosaki.html

  • So January 21, 2009, 11:45 am

    1 in 115 chance. :)

  • Dividend Growth Investor January 21, 2009, 2:01 pm

    Sign me up :-)

  • Nick January 21, 2009, 2:16 pm

    Thanks for the opportunity. I’m in!

  • Sarah January 21, 2009, 3:45 pm

    Thanks for running the give-away! Looks like an interesting read.

  • Caryn January 21, 2009, 5:26 pm

    Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. I am already learning so much! It would be nice to have the Rich Brother, Rich Sister book. Whether I win or not, I enjoy reading and learning about your journey towards financial freedom.

  • Earl January 21, 2009, 5:40 pm

    I always read your blog. Thanks!

  • Reg January 21, 2009, 8:09 pm

    Thanks for the giveaway; would love to win the copy!

  • Andrea January 21, 2009, 8:17 pm

    This sounds like a fantastic book!

  • Eric Meunier January 22, 2009, 1:38 am

    Sounds like another good book from Robert.

  • Peter B January 22, 2009, 2:45 am

    This book would go great next to The Wealthy Barber on my book shelf.

    Peter

  • slickster January 22, 2009, 8:39 am

    sign me up….anything free, sounds good to me!

  • kasm January 22, 2009, 1:19 pm

    Thanks – sounds interesting

  • Awcool January 22, 2009, 2:12 pm

    I did read his first book and I agree that, even though it frustrated me in that he didn’t provide any details on how to get rich today, it definitely provided me with a new way to look at finances, assets, investing and cashflow.

    Although I don’t expect this to provide me with any additional financial knowledge, I’m still curious to read about how two siblings lead two completely different lives.

  • Melanie Samson January 22, 2009, 3:20 pm

    Looks like an interesting book.

  • David Pontello January 22, 2009, 3:46 pm

    Robert Kiyosaki must be doing something right, as he tends to completely polarize people. I think his books are simply meant to get people to change their attitudes about and habits around money, as opposed to being “how tos”. Anyways, hope I win a copy of this book! Thanks.

  • Bridget January 22, 2009, 4:22 pm

    I am so totally a winner. =O)

  • alex January 22, 2009, 4:28 pm

    just discovered your blog from searching SM. worth reading