≡ Menu

No Hype – The Straight Goods on Investing Your Money: Book Review and Giveaway

I’ve asked QCash, the young and retired millionaire, to write a book review on No Hype – The Straight Goods on Investing Your Money.  Here is a great summary that he came back with.  Be sure to check out the giveaway at the end of the review!

Thanks to Million Dollar Journey for giving me the opportunity to publish my first book review. Let me begin by saying that I enjoy reading books about finances at all different levels, from the beginner to the technical investor. I hope that every time I read a new book, I at least find something new or improve my knowledge even slightly.

Now on to the book: No Hype – The Straight Goods on Investing Your Money by Gail Bebee.

The book is described as a primer for those who are wish to invest beyond the standard bank offered mutual funds and GICs we all seem to start with and need some guidance on the range of investing. The author calls this book “the book I couldn’t find when I began to seriously focus on investing.”

It is different from a beginners guide and it has to be taken in the context of someone is invested but knows they want to invest differently but is not sure why or how.

About the Author

According to the book:

Gail Bebee, B.Sc., M.Eng., is an independent investor. She has mastered the finer points of investing through completion of the Canadian Securities Course with honours, hands-on investing experience, membership in the Tycoons Investment Club and extensive reading.

About the Book

I think that the fact that the book defines itself as a primer for those who “want to get serious” about investing differentiates it from “a beginners guide.” However, Gail is certainly willing to start from the very beginning, talking about the power of compounding and the rule of 72 all the way up to technical analysis of stocks.

I personally found the way she presented the information in 26 bite-sized, yet comprehensive chapters organized in 7 sections useful and an intuitive progression.

While she touched on real estate as an investment vehicle, it was lumped in with real estate, commodities and collectibles. I liked her comment not to confuse your home with an investment in real estate, but her total real estate advice was to stick with REITs. Personally, I feel real estate could have been a chapter in and of itself.

Pros/Cons

I liked her title of chapter 17 – “Alternative Investments – Investments or Gambling” where she warns readers away from flavours of the month and to stick with fundamentals. I have been an advocate of that for many of my less savvy investor friends for years.

The only fault I would have with this book is that for someone offering “no hype”, she is not afraid to provide her own personal opinion on the suitability or appeal of certain investments, but given her experience I would be prepared to take most of her advice. With that said, she is not an advocate of income trusts for reasons she spells out in her book and I would personally disagree with her about certain types of trusts, but that is probably a personal risk tolerance thing.

The Bottom Line

No Hype lives up to its billing as a the Straight Goods on Investing Your Money. While I don’t believe it is for the absolute beginner (there are better books out there to get people started in investing The Wealthy Barber, Smart Couples Finish Rich, etc.), I would recommend this to anyone who is thinking about taking control of your own portfolio or someone who needs a primer on an investment asset class they are not currently utilizing.

And one last thing: I did learn a few new things, especially regarding split share corporations I didn’t know before.

Want a Free Copy?

  • Simply leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered in the draw for a free copy.
  • Please only 1 comment entry / person (please enter a valid email address).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Friday 5pm EST Jan 30, 2009 and the winner announced shortly afterward!
If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free weekly money tips newsletter below (we will never spam you).

Avatar About the author: QCash is a young retiree and self made millionaire. He has built his net worth up to $1.5 million by the ripe age of 36. QCash writes the occasional article for Million Dollar Journey to share in his experience of obtaining a large net worth at a young age.You can read our interview with him here.

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Avatar Patrick Cooke January 27, 2009, 8:20 am

    Sounds like a great read!

  • Avatar Kirk S. January 27, 2009, 8:43 am

    Has anyone actually read this and can give a first hand review?

  • Avatar Money Minder January 27, 2009, 8:58 am

    Pick Me!

  • Avatar ZeFrog January 27, 2009, 9:04 am

    I would like to read it.

  • Avatar cbez January 27, 2009, 9:05 am

    Looks interesting…

  • Avatar csplice January 27, 2009, 9:11 am

    One book please!

  • Avatar dukeland January 27, 2009, 9:56 am

    Nice summary. Looking forward to reading this.

  • Avatar Dividend Growth Investor January 27, 2009, 9:59 am

    FT and Qcash,

    Great Review. Sign me up for the book giveaway pls!

  • Avatar Alice January 27, 2009, 10:02 am

    Wish me good luck!

  • Avatar Frank January 27, 2009, 10:08 am

    Would love a free copy!

  • Avatar KnowledgeSeeker January 27, 2009, 10:10 am

    Count me in!

  • Avatar Brandon January 27, 2009, 10:17 am

    Sounds like a good read

  • Avatar Frog of Finance January 27, 2009, 10:35 am

    Looks like many bloggers got a copy for review and a giveaway! Count me in. :o)

  • Avatar Darcie January 27, 2009, 10:35 am

    If you can read a book like that and learn even one useful thing, it is well worth the time invested. Thanks, Qcash.

  • Avatar canucktuary January 27, 2009, 10:43 am

    Count me in

  • Avatar mike h January 27, 2009, 10:45 am

    I’d love to win this book!

  • Avatar Mark January 27, 2009, 10:50 am

    Guest Star reviews, Nice!

  • Avatar Chuck January 27, 2009, 10:54 am

    Giggity-Goo, sign me up!

  • Avatar Dane January 27, 2009, 11:07 am

    I’d definitely be interested in reading this one as I’m feeling more than a little confused about what to do with my RRSPs this year ie. buy some index funds while they’re “on sale” or try something a little different.

  • Avatar Rod January 27, 2009, 11:14 am

    sign me up

  • Avatar Lyne January 27, 2009, 11:27 am

    Sounds very interesting. Thanks for the opportunity :-)

  • Avatar Brian January 27, 2009, 11:33 am

    Count me in please.

  • Avatar Luc Richard January 27, 2009, 11:34 am

    Sounds like a good read. Count me in please

  • Avatar Cara January 27, 2009, 11:38 am

    Sounds like a good read.

  • Avatar Marianne O. January 27, 2009, 11:40 am

    I’m in.

  • Avatar jimmy January 27, 2009, 11:40 am

    i like to read this book!

  • Avatar karash January 27, 2009, 11:41 am

    please count me in…!!!

  • Avatar Susan Pipes January 27, 2009, 11:41 am

    Love to win, thank you.

  • Avatar excell January 27, 2009, 11:41 am

    Sounds very interesting. Count me in please!

  • Avatar bill January 27, 2009, 11:44 am

    count me in
    Thank you

  • Avatar Niket January 27, 2009, 11:46 am

    Looks like a great read! Good review as well!

  • Avatar Marion January 27, 2009, 11:50 am

    would love a chance to read investing info written from a woman’s perspective!

  • Avatar Dan January 27, 2009, 11:51 am

    Count me in!!

  • Avatar Vincent January 27, 2009, 11:51 am

    Very ineresting book, and thanks for the write up!

  • Avatar Terence January 27, 2009, 11:51 am

    Sounds like a good book. Sign me up!

  • Avatar Xenko January 27, 2009, 11:53 am

    I’m in.

  • Avatar Digger January 27, 2009, 12:04 pm

    Sounds like a great book.

  • Avatar Millionaireby45 January 27, 2009, 12:16 pm

    Hopefully this is my chance to win.

  • Avatar Tony January 27, 2009, 12:23 pm

    gotta be in it to win it

  • Avatar Peter January 27, 2009, 12:25 pm

    Thanks this sounds like a great book.

  • Avatar Jineshwar singh January 27, 2009, 12:29 pm

    very much would like to read this book

  • Avatar Ringo January 27, 2009, 12:31 pm

    Count me in, please.

  • Avatar Rob B January 27, 2009, 12:32 pm

    Sounds like an interesting read, I’ll see if the library has it yet.

  • Avatar Benoit Anctil January 27, 2009, 12:32 pm

    i will like to read it.
    like R.kyosaky or more.

  • Avatar Lakedweller January 27, 2009, 12:33 pm

    Its time to shed the 3% management fees and take control of our investment’s destiny.

  • Avatar Blitzkrieg January 27, 2009, 12:39 pm

    Yes please.

  • Avatar Kevin January 27, 2009, 12:40 pm

    Count Me in!

  • Avatar Sauce January 27, 2009, 12:44 pm

    I’m in…

  • Avatar Terry January 27, 2009, 12:46 pm

    work in the ALT industry. Look forward to reading chapter 17

  • Avatar steve January 27, 2009, 1:07 pm

    Looks interesting

  • Avatar Sean Hyde January 27, 2009, 1:12 pm

    I’m in…

  • Avatar Senk January 27, 2009, 1:13 pm

    Looks like a good book.

  • Avatar Bryce January 27, 2009, 1:28 pm

    Can’t wait to read it.

  • Avatar Ian January 27, 2009, 1:30 pm

    Well if Qcash has learnt something that is good enough for me!

  • Avatar Ryan January 27, 2009, 1:36 pm

    Sounds like and interesting read.

  • Avatar Derek January 27, 2009, 1:36 pm

    I’ve read Smart Couples Finish Rich; I’m ready for the next step.

  • Avatar Steve in Montreal January 27, 2009, 1:37 pm

    Great to see QCash back. Sign me up.

  • Avatar Broke January 27, 2009, 1:38 pm

    yummy

  • Avatar Brian January 27, 2009, 1:41 pm

    No Hype _ i would love to read it. this book might have something that help me out.

  • Avatar george January 27, 2009, 1:43 pm

    great blog, good review … free book (?)

  • Avatar Adam January 27, 2009, 1:46 pm

    Looks good!

  • Avatar Gregory Quebec January 27, 2009, 2:09 pm

    I am happy I came across your review, it made the book sound very promising

    Gregory,
    Quebec

  • Avatar Sarah January 27, 2009, 2:10 pm

    Sounds interesting! And sounds like it was written at about my level… wanting to move beyond.
    Thanks for the blog –

  • Avatar Kurt January 27, 2009, 2:10 pm

    Would love to read that!

  • Avatar Carole January 27, 2009, 2:12 pm

    I need help!

  • Avatar Jesus January 27, 2009, 2:16 pm

    Count me in.

  • Avatar Swati January 27, 2009, 2:16 pm

    A rather interesting book, and something I will probably purchase/borrow from library if I don’t win it.

    The book perfectly defines my situation at this point…I am invested here and there, I read about it when and where I get a chance…but still don’t know where to begin or what the “next steps” should be. I am also confused on how people define asset allocation in a dozen ways. Some people differentiate between mutual funds/stocks/bonds in their “asset allocation” and some canadian/us/foreign and some small/med/large (I have NO idea how to determine that one).

    Looks like a good read. Thanks for the opportunity

  • Avatar AndrewM January 27, 2009, 2:17 pm

    I’ll take it!

  • Avatar Caroline January 27, 2009, 2:21 pm

    Boo-yah! I’d love a copy of this book.

  • Avatar Alex January 27, 2009, 2:21 pm

    Sounds like a great book. Sign me up!

  • Avatar Walk January 27, 2009, 2:28 pm

    Sign me up :)

  • Avatar Amon Anus January 27, 2009, 2:35 pm

    Sounds like a good read!

  • Avatar telefantastik January 27, 2009, 2:47 pm

    count me in! :)

  • Avatar rachel January 27, 2009, 2:48 pm

    i’m in

  • Avatar Elman January 27, 2009, 2:50 pm

    I need this book !

  • Avatar Kristy January 27, 2009, 2:50 pm

    Hi, Thanks for posting this review. I am starting the journey of learning how to control my own investments and any tips on good resources are always appreciated!

  • Avatar Brian M January 27, 2009, 2:52 pm

    Interesting article on this new book. I enjoy reading other perspectives on investing and financial planning and look forward to this one as well. I have checked my local library and have not found it as of yet. I am very curious about Gail’s beliefs on REIT investing as I favour them (in limited amounts) within my portfolio.

    Excellent website to have created, keep promoting financial awareness and education to the masses :)

  • Avatar Joel January 27, 2009, 2:53 pm

    Sounds like a useful book

  • Avatar Tish January 27, 2009, 3:03 pm

    I think that this book will be very helpful and assist me in getting on the right path…..

  • Avatar Astin January 27, 2009, 3:08 pm

    Can’t speak to the quality of the book, but that blurb about the author turned me right off it.

    She’s got degrees in Science and Engineering, took the CSC (a multiple-choice exam for a self-study course required for any Canadian trader, that is NOT that difficult), joined an investor’s club, and read a lot… and she’s “mastered” the finer points of investing? Talk about hype.

  • Avatar Chris January 27, 2009, 3:09 pm

    would love to read it

  • Avatar Dwight Thompson January 27, 2009, 3:13 pm

    I would love to have a read

  • Avatar Neeraj January 27, 2009, 3:14 pm

    count me in.

  • Avatar Qubikal January 27, 2009, 3:15 pm

    i want the book!

  • Avatar Eric KunzE January 27, 2009, 3:19 pm

    Looking for investment advise

  • Avatar Wade January 27, 2009, 3:24 pm

    Thanks for your great site – even though I’ve been investing for many years, I still find your articles of interest. I’d love to win the book.

    Wade

  • Avatar Andrea January 27, 2009, 3:38 pm

    I would like to read this book… pick me.

  • Avatar fillalph January 27, 2009, 3:40 pm

    I would like to read this as according to the reviewer it covers basic investing as well as going into some detailed stock analysis.

    Cheers

  • Avatar Jules @ Lovely Las Vegas January 27, 2009, 3:41 pm

    Please count me in.

  • Avatar Brian January 27, 2009, 4:04 pm

    Look like a useful book.

  • Avatar AndrewP January 27, 2009, 4:45 pm

    Good job on your first review, QCash!!
    I’d love a copy!

  • Avatar Les January 27, 2009, 4:49 pm

    i’d like to read it. Thanx

  • Avatar Vincent January 27, 2009, 4:58 pm

    sounds useful

  • Avatar Laura January 27, 2009, 5:00 pm

    Looks to be a great read!!!

  • Avatar codemonkey January 27, 2009, 5:00 pm

    cool. thanks for the review. awesome blog, btw.

  • Avatar Kenny January 27, 2009, 5:06 pm

    Count me in, please!

  • Avatar Greg January 27, 2009, 5:45 pm

    Sounds interesting. Count me in too.

  • Avatar newbie January 27, 2009, 5:58 pm

    pick me please!

  • Avatar Catharine January 27, 2009, 6:00 pm

    this is right up my alley!

  • Avatar Gates VP January 27, 2009, 6:02 pm

    Ummm… The Wealthy Barber?

    I’m sorry, but I wouldn’t recommend that book to anybody.

    Isn’t that the book where he advocates that being saving 30% of your pre-tax income and then making 12% / year over 30 years like he did?

    It has nuggets of wisdom heaped with piles of frugal “limited-good” mindset. He casually ignores inflation despite a chunk of his mythical “12% returns” coming during the 20% inflation era (the book was printed in 1989, anyone remember October ’89?)

    He starts by telling you that you can be rich by saving only 10% of your income. But then follows that with later wisdom that you should also be maxing out your RRSPs and that you should really be saving 15% or 20% on top of that (not just the 10%).

    Here’s an Indigo review with some supporting comments.

    @FT and QCash why are you even mentioning this book? What are the book’s strong points? (other than including Canadian-specific content?)

  • Avatar So January 27, 2009, 6:02 pm

    Great review.

  • Avatar Chootiya January 27, 2009, 6:08 pm

    Count me in.

  • Avatar Jatinder January 27, 2009, 6:19 pm

    Would love to read it!

  • Avatar Zack January 27, 2009, 6:45 pm

    Hello, 4th year business student here chiming in. I love the Blog, and I’d love to read the book. Thanks!

  • Avatar KAF January 27, 2009, 7:04 pm

    Count me in!

  • Avatar Sarah January 27, 2009, 7:07 pm

    This is timely. My husband and I have some money that we’re looking at investing, and we’ve been debating where to start. (Actually, I think we’re going to split it and each try different things).

  • Avatar Jeff Wilson January 27, 2009, 7:57 pm

    I could use a book like this given my recent performance in managing my portfolio.

    cheers,

    Jeff

  • Avatar Mai January 27, 2009, 7:59 pm

    I’am in :)

  • Avatar Deb January 27, 2009, 8:00 pm

    Sounds like a good reference book. Count me in!

  • Avatar Pat January 27, 2009, 8:31 pm

    How does this book compare to the following:

    Title: The Smartest Investment Book You’ll Ever Read
    Author: Daniel Solin

    I just checked this out of the library the other day and plan on reading it in the coming days. If this book really is the “straight goods” is it worth reading on top of the above book. Keeping in mind that I don’t have infinite time to read every investment book that comes out.

  • Avatar Al January 27, 2009, 8:48 pm

    Sounds like a great book to read and learn!!

  • Avatar Mark Telewiak January 27, 2009, 9:21 pm

    Sounds like another great addition to my library

  • Avatar VICTOR RAJKOTWALA January 27, 2009, 9:38 pm

    In these days of unregulated freelancers masquerading as ‘investment advisers’, and even qualified advisers being more interested in their commissions rather than safeguarding your portfolio, it is absolutely essential for every person to be reasonably acquainted with the basics of personal finance, insurance, taxation and avenues of investment. Therefore any well-written book on these topics, such as ‘No Hype’ is always welcome.

  • Avatar Sameer January 27, 2009, 10:02 pm

    I hate to say it, but nowadays it’s fairly easy to get the CSC. I’d like to read something by someone who’s earned the CFA.

  • Avatar Linda January 27, 2009, 10:09 pm

    Good timing! I’m currently reading everything I can get my hands on too, having already read the aforementioned Wealthy Barber and Smart Couples. As the author states, these are good get-to-know-you books, but I could use something a bit more sophisticated now. Thanks.

  • Avatar Jared January 27, 2009, 10:47 pm

    Always interested in new books.

  • Avatar Bobby January 27, 2009, 10:52 pm

    sounds interesting!

  • Avatar Maria V January 27, 2009, 11:08 pm

    sounds like an interesting read

  • Avatar Chris January 27, 2009, 11:08 pm

    Count me in!

  • Avatar Vincento January 27, 2009, 11:15 pm

    sounds good~!

  • Avatar Rajesh January 27, 2009, 11:37 pm

    Looks interesting

  • Avatar john January 27, 2009, 11:57 pm

    Sounds like there are some gems in this book – would love to take a closer look. Count me in! Have always wondered if home ownership should be considered a real estate investment, at least in terms of calculating % diversification. Now I know.

    John

  • Avatar Les MILA January 28, 2009, 12:24 am

    A very interesting review for a book that is probably good.

  • Avatar H January 28, 2009, 12:50 am

    Thanks!

  • Avatar skippy January 28, 2009, 1:48 am

    Sounds like that book is right up my alley.

  • Avatar R. January 28, 2009, 1:50 am

    I’m very interested.

  • Avatar amit January 28, 2009, 7:46 am

    sounds interesting. Count me in. BTW, what happened to the other book giveaway – rich brother, rich sister. Was a winner announced?

  • Avatar Debt_Free_in_5 January 28, 2009, 9:56 am

    I’d love a copy

  • Avatar Cheryl January 28, 2009, 10:19 am

    I would love a copy of this book!

  • Avatar cannon_fodder January 28, 2009, 10:23 am

    Yes, please!

  • Avatar Rob January 28, 2009, 12:17 pm

    Wish me luck!

  • Avatar Mike January 28, 2009, 1:19 pm

    why not

  • Avatar Marc January 28, 2009, 1:27 pm

    Looks like a good read, would love a copy.

  • Avatar Lynne January 28, 2009, 1:37 pm

    sounds like the perfect book for me!

  • Avatar bmfinc January 28, 2009, 1:54 pm

    This is the kind of book that I could really use. Thanks for the review.

  • Avatar sean January 28, 2009, 1:57 pm

    Sounds like I should read this book considering the direction my money has headed in recent months.

  • Avatar mcmatterson January 28, 2009, 2:04 pm

    Looks like a solid read…thanks!

  • Avatar Izzoshady January 28, 2009, 2:30 pm

    Thanks for the review. Appreciate it

  • Avatar Walrus January 28, 2009, 7:14 pm

    Good review made me interested.

  • Avatar Jamie January 28, 2009, 10:08 pm

    Thanks for the book review, would love to read it myself!

  • Avatar Patricia January 28, 2009, 11:13 pm

    Sounds like a good addition to the home reference library I am slowly building. Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy

  • Avatar Shaun January 29, 2009, 1:13 am

    I think i’m in that boat, not a beginner but much to learn especially at a very intriguing time to start investing.

    Pick me Please!

  • Avatar Ken Selinger January 29, 2009, 1:15 am

    Thanks for the informative review.

  • Avatar jfernandez1977 January 29, 2009, 2:07 am

    pick me.

  • Avatar Sean January 29, 2009, 11:56 am

    Sounds like a great read. Thanks for the giveaway!

  • Avatar guychan January 29, 2009, 12:36 pm

    Thanks for the opportunity to get a freebie. After a business trip to China in late 2004, I knew that I had to switch to a DIY mode for my investments – my advisors were either asleep at the switch or working on their own agenda. No regrets since then…

  • Avatar Pauline January 29, 2009, 12:41 pm

    Thanks for the review.

  • Avatar jared January 29, 2009, 1:48 pm

    Would love to give the book a good reading. Thanks!

  • Avatar Eric January 29, 2009, 2:45 pm

    I’d like to read it…..

  • Avatar JCR January 29, 2009, 5:01 pm

    Looks like a book I’d like to read.

  • Avatar JCR January 29, 2009, 5:02 pm

    I’m currently reviewing my investments and this would be a useful book to look at. Thanks for the review!

  • Avatar Elbyron January 29, 2009, 6:46 pm

    Looking at implementing the Smith Manoeuvre soon (thank to the info on this site). I’m familiar with the basics of investing, but this book sounds like a good way to learn more. Hope I win the giveaway!

  • Avatar Pooroo January 29, 2009, 8:39 pm

    I want to win this book!

  • Avatar mindy January 29, 2009, 10:58 pm

    looks like a good read thanks for the giveaway

  • Avatar Elina January 30, 2009, 8:59 am

    Sounds like a decent book. I look forward to reading it ;)

  • Avatar Derek January 30, 2009, 9:29 am

    It sounds like a wonderful read. Who couldn’t use this advise.

  • Avatar Finance Matters January 30, 2009, 10:23 am

    I’m in.

  • Avatar ron87 January 30, 2009, 12:16 pm

    I would like to learn more about investing. Sign me up for the draw.

  • Avatar Niket January 30, 2009, 12:44 pm

    Looks like a great read!

  • Avatar Paul January 30, 2009, 1:20 pm

    In it to win it

  • Avatar harry January 30, 2009, 1:37 pm

    Just what I need now

  • Avatar thriftyguy January 30, 2009, 1:44 pm

    raffle me in please

  • Avatar Peter B January 30, 2009, 1:58 pm

    Sign me up

  • Avatar Matt January 30, 2009, 3:16 pm

    Count me in!

  • Avatar LJ January 30, 2009, 3:24 pm

    I definetely need the advice in this book!

  • Avatar LJ January 30, 2009, 3:25 pm

    I do need this advice!

  • Avatar Steve January 30, 2009, 4:06 pm

    nice review!

  • Avatar Barry January 30, 2009, 4:11 pm

    I’ve been reading tons of investment books recently. I even tried “forward testing” the philosophies that some of the “gurus” suggested will make consistent money. Unfortunately, they all fell flat on their faces, even before the big crash in October of last year. I hope that this book helps us grow our tiny nestegg as I’ve only managed to make it contract….

    Thanks for the freebie opportunity.

  • Avatar Angela C January 30, 2009, 4:48 pm

    Thank you for the giveaway:)
    angelacisco at rocketmail.com

  • Avatar Sanjeev January 30, 2009, 5:08 pm

    I’m in

  • Avatar newbie January 30, 2009, 6:14 pm

    Count me in!

  • Avatar Walrus January 30, 2009, 6:31 pm

    sounds good to me

  • Avatar Scott January 30, 2009, 6:40 pm

    this book sounds good….