≡ Menu

Book Review and Giveaway: Fast Profits in Hard Times

FSB Associates contacted and provided me with a free copy of the new book "Fast Profits in Hard Times – 10 Secret Strategies to Make You Rich in an Up or Down Economy" by Jordan E. Goodman for review. 

This hardcover book, as the title suggests, goes into various investment strategies for the more aggressive investor.  All of the strategies vary in risk.  Some of the strategies, like FOREX trading, are on the extreme side of risk.

If you are interested in winning a free copy of this book, scroll down to the bottom of this post. 

Who is Jordan E. Goodman?

According to their publisher,

Jordan E. Goodman is a former Money magazine journalist and the author of several bestselling books, including Everyone's Money Book, The Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms, and Master Your Money Type. He provides financial advice to millions of people each month through regular appearances on radio call-in and TV shows and through his seminars to corporate, association, and university audiences. He has been a regular contributor to NBC News at Sunrise, The Marketplace Morning Report on Public Radio, and many other shows. He hosts a popular financial resources Web site, www.moneyanswers.com, and is the host of The Money Answers Show on the VoiceAmerica Radio Network at www.voiceamerica.com. You can find out more about this book at www.fastprofitsinhardtimes.com.

What are the main points made by the book?

Discover how to profit from:

  • Tax liens and deeds
  • Buying real estate below market value
  • Income trusts and master limited partnerships
  • High-yielding stocks
  • Dividend reinvestment plans
  • Options trading
  • Unusual bond strategies
  • Foreign exchange trading
  • Passive income strategies
  • Brokering cash flow opportunities

What I liked?

  • For those readers who have been following for a while, you know that I enjoy reading/writing about new money making ideas.  This book does just that, it provides 10 ways to make extra income, some of which are fairly new ideas to me.
  • I liked how the author interviewed and obtained information from experts in their field.  Also, at the end of each strategy, the author lists recommended books for further reading on the topic.
  • Each of the strategies contain a certain amount of risk.  I appreciated that the author pointed out the least riskiest path of each strategy.

What I didn’t like?

  • Although the book has some good ideas, the ideas were not explained in enough detail to actually go out on your own and implement them.  Much more research is required on the cash flow methods mentioned. 

Final Thoughts:

  • This book is well written and provides many ideas for making extra cash flow.  Word of warning for my Canadian readers though, a lot of the content is geared towards our American friends. 

Book Giveaway!  

Would you like to win a free copy?  Simply leave a comment in this post indicating your favorite food and I'll pick a winner at random.  Deadline for entries is 5pm EST Thursday March 13, 2008.  Please, only one comment entry per person.

Update:  Contest entries are closed. 

Find out how you can save an additional 4% on this book from Chapters. 

-> If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free newsletter service below (we will not spam you).

FT About the author: FT is the founder and editor of Million Dollar Journey (est. 2006). Through various financial strategies outlined on this site, he grew his net worth from $200,000 in 2006 to $1,000,000 by 2014. You can read more about him here.

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Al x March 11, 2008, 9:09 am

    Pizza!!!!

  • Mike March 11, 2008, 9:58 am

    Steak!

  • Harry G March 11, 2008, 9:59 am

    Pad Thai

  • Goga March 11, 2008, 10:02 am

    Bean soup.

  • Linds March 11, 2008, 10:04 am

    Guacamole!

  • jdp March 11, 2008, 10:11 am

    looooooove Sushi

  • MunEconomist March 11, 2008, 10:31 am

    Onion Bjhia
    Naan Bread
    Basmati Rice
    spicy Dal
    tandori chicken
    Bengali Vegetable

    Best meal. Food group indian.

  • Jeff March 11, 2008, 10:34 am

    French fries

  • Charles March 11, 2008, 10:42 am

    Green Onion Pancake

  • Chris March 11, 2008, 11:06 am

    pizza

  • Irene March 11, 2008, 11:06 am

    mushroom

  • Andrew March 11, 2008, 11:19 am

    Ice cream

  • Daniel March 11, 2008, 11:26 am

    Butter chicken

  • Jeff S March 11, 2008, 11:29 am

    bacon

  • Alex March 11, 2008, 11:35 am

    Foie gras!

  • newinvestor March 11, 2008, 12:01 pm

    caribou

  • djg March 11, 2008, 12:09 pm

    beef ribeye!!!

  • Nate March 11, 2008, 12:10 pm

    Sushi!

    Eye of round steak!

    and of course… frozen peanut butter pie…

  • Mike Gillard March 11, 2008, 12:23 pm

    BBQ’d Rib Eye Steak, rare.

    Trust me, once you’ve had Rib Eye, there’s no going back.

  • Ramona March 11, 2008, 12:39 pm

    Pasta, pasta, pasta!

  • Dan March 11, 2008, 12:43 pm

    Hmmmm, So many possibilities…but gotta go with Pizza!

    I may have second thoughts later :p

  • Sarlock March 11, 2008, 12:47 pm

    Spaghetti!

  • James March 11, 2008, 12:47 pm

    broccoli

  • Big Ryan March 11, 2008, 12:49 pm

    Sushi!

  • Brad T March 11, 2008, 12:52 pm

    Cold, hard, ca….
    |
    |
    |
    ..rrots.

  • Carolyn March 11, 2008, 1:07 pm

    chocolate

  • 45free March 11, 2008, 1:21 pm

    Probably highlighting exactly why I am not yet retired…venison carpaccio with a reduced balsamic and raw sea salt

  • Frank Conradie March 11, 2008, 1:36 pm

    “Potjie” – a South African slow cooking method in a 3-legged cast iron pot.

  • Jeff Renaud March 11, 2008, 1:39 pm

    You guys forgot POUTINE !!!

  • JN March 11, 2008, 1:55 pm

    papad

  • Jason R. March 11, 2008, 1:56 pm

    Indian lamb, mutton or goat curry of just about any variety!

  • Marianne O. March 11, 2008, 1:56 pm

    Mmmm, roesti… the Swedish answer to latkes

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R%C3%B6sti

  • Marianne O. March 11, 2008, 2:15 pm

    Oops I meant swiss…

  • Scott M March 11, 2008, 2:32 pm

    Ribs!

  • Damir March 11, 2008, 2:38 pm

    Metamucil

  • FearLES March 11, 2008, 2:39 pm

    cheese and chocolate (though not together)

  • Miso March 11, 2008, 2:45 pm

    Miso noodles…

  • Looking for Fast Profits March 11, 2008, 2:54 pm

    Meat lovers pizza!

  • AD March 11, 2008, 3:04 pm

    Seafood.
    Any type of crustacean, langoustine or fish.

  • Yuriy March 11, 2008, 3:23 pm

    Borsch!

  • VG March 11, 2008, 3:57 pm

    TacoBell Chalupa.

  • Senk March 11, 2008, 5:29 pm

    Pizza

  • Shoaib March 11, 2008, 5:35 pm

    Chicken Tandoori

  • lencurrie March 11, 2008, 5:39 pm

    Spaghetti & Meatballs.. but only my mothers! ;-)

  • Jared March 11, 2008, 5:43 pm

    Pizza..

    Which was the best section of the book?

  • Dividendgrowth March 11, 2008, 6:07 pm

    My favorite food is chicken casserole with potatoes.

  • StillLearning March 11, 2008, 6:26 pm

    Beaver Tails… on the canal in Ottawa with lots of cinnamon.

  • Jesus March 11, 2008, 6:55 pm

    BBQ ribs

  • dj March 11, 2008, 6:58 pm

    Milk chocolate

  • Sarah Galbraith March 11, 2008, 8:19 pm

    protein shakes….hahah Just kidding. I love me a chicken chimichanga!! Mexican food is definitely my favorite! Oh, and chocolate!!

  • Noah March 11, 2008, 8:25 pm

    It used to be pizza, but now it’s perfectly prepared steel-cut oatmeal.

    My favorite food is boring :(

  • TL March 11, 2008, 8:31 pm

    I love pizza!!!!

  • Kris March 11, 2008, 9:02 pm

    pizza!

  • dale March 11, 2008, 9:26 pm

    I like crawfish, potatos, and corn.

  • telefantastik March 11, 2008, 9:31 pm

    big mac

  • chuck March 11, 2008, 9:45 pm

    Carne Asada Burrito

  • Andrea March 11, 2008, 10:40 pm

    Fettucini Alfredo

  • Deanna March 11, 2008, 10:40 pm

    Chocolate!

  • Susan March 11, 2008, 11:08 pm

    Chocolate!

  • Joe March 12, 2008, 12:06 am

    Thin Spaghetti – The Besttt!

  • Brenna March 12, 2008, 12:16 am

    Noodles

  • Jeff March 12, 2008, 12:33 am

    Butter Chicken! :-)

  • Agent389 March 12, 2008, 12:56 am

    Chilli Cheese Burger

  • Deb March 12, 2008, 1:07 am

    tacos

  • USN ElCid March 12, 2008, 1:40 am

    Pork Fried Rice

  • Ramis March 12, 2008, 3:20 am

    pizza

  • augustabound March 12, 2008, 7:23 am

    Gotta go with pizza.

  • Daniel March 12, 2008, 8:07 am

    Chinese food!

  • Mark March 12, 2008, 8:45 am

    Fish Fingers

  • AndrewP March 12, 2008, 9:36 am

    PIZZA!

  • clalc March 12, 2008, 10:02 am

    mussels

  • FFBlog March 12, 2008, 10:47 am

    The Keg’s Surf & Turf (Steak and Lobster Tail Dinner)

  • Sonia March 12, 2008, 11:10 am

    Ceviche – love the fresh, light and pure flavours. And living on the edge of eating seafood ‘cooked’ by lime juice. Mmmmm, another reason, other than Machu Pichu, to go to Peru.

  • Elizabeth March 12, 2008, 11:57 am

    SUSHI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Mofiq March 12, 2008, 12:52 pm

    Mutton Biryani

  • Danny C March 12, 2008, 2:19 pm

    A nice peice of Filet Mignon, marinated with olive oil, bit of soy sauce, and a lil balsamic vinegar.
    Then grilled Med. Rare.

  • HeatherP March 12, 2008, 4:01 pm

    Lasagne. Thanks for the review!

  • Robby Colvin March 12, 2008, 4:01 pm

    Any food from Argentina–absolutely delicious!!

  • Candi March 12, 2008, 4:35 pm

    Definitely Pizza!

  • Ryan March 12, 2008, 5:09 pm

    Sushi all the way!

  • Jeff March 12, 2008, 6:29 pm

    Lobster!

  • Alison March 12, 2008, 8:24 pm

    Chocolate covered strawberries.

  • telly March 12, 2008, 9:46 pm

    Cookies & Cream ice cream!

  • Elliott Russell March 12, 2008, 9:50 pm

    Jerky! (any kind)

  • LYu March 12, 2008, 9:52 pm

    Albacore tuna!!

  • tom March 12, 2008, 10:03 pm

    Pasta.

  • Karina March 12, 2008, 10:05 pm

    Cheesecake.

  • finman March 12, 2008, 10:10 pm

    Chicken wings and beer.

  • Kevin March 12, 2008, 10:18 pm

    Ice Cream!

  • neil March 12, 2008, 10:19 pm

    pho (vietnamese beef noodle soup)

  • Pascal March 12, 2008, 10:47 pm

    gnocchi with gorgonzola sauce!!!

  • Brandon March 12, 2008, 11:33 pm

    liver with a hint of broccoli.

  • Ron M March 13, 2008, 4:00 am

    I want the book!

  • Brian March 13, 2008, 10:00 am

    Pad Thai

  • GH March 13, 2008, 10:51 am

    Gotta go with shrimp quesadillas!

  • CMR March 13, 2008, 11:16 am

    I HOPE I WIN THE BOOK

  • Middle Class Millionaire March 13, 2008, 12:01 pm

    Wings. With extra wing sauce on the side.

  • Wendy March 13, 2008, 12:25 pm

    Cheese! Any kind any time any how!

  • Adam March 13, 2008, 1:33 pm

    Some nice Chicken Curry

  • AppleTree March 13, 2008, 2:42 pm

    Cheese…Good cheese with good bread.

  • Cheri March 13, 2008, 5:13 pm

    I’m always looking for new ideas beyond “The Richest Man in Babylon” type books – thanks for the review. Did you have any good ideas on where to follow up for more information on the ideas presented?