≡ Menu

Book Review and Giveaway: Fast Profits in Hard Times

FSB Associates contacted and provided me with a free copy of the new book "Fast Profits in Hard Times – 10 Secret Strategies to Make You Rich in an Up or Down Economy" by Jordan E. Goodman for review. 

This hardcover book, as the title suggests, goes into various investment strategies for the more aggressive investor.  All of the strategies vary in risk.  Some of the strategies, like FOREX trading, are on the extreme side of risk.

If you are interested in winning a free copy of this book, scroll down to the bottom of this post. 

Who is Jordan E. Goodman?

According to their publisher,

Jordan E. Goodman is a former Money magazine journalist and the author of several bestselling books, including Everyone's Money Book, The Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms, and Master Your Money Type. He provides financial advice to millions of people each month through regular appearances on radio call-in and TV shows and through his seminars to corporate, association, and university audiences. He has been a regular contributor to NBC News at Sunrise, The Marketplace Morning Report on Public Radio, and many other shows. He hosts a popular financial resources Web site, www.moneyanswers.com, and is the host of The Money Answers Show on the VoiceAmerica Radio Network at www.voiceamerica.com. You can find out more about this book at www.fastprofitsinhardtimes.com.

What are the main points made by the book?

Discover how to profit from:

  • Tax liens and deeds
  • Buying real estate below market value
  • Income trusts and master limited partnerships
  • High-yielding stocks
  • Dividend reinvestment plans
  • Options trading
  • Unusual bond strategies
  • Foreign exchange trading
  • Passive income strategies
  • Brokering cash flow opportunities

What I liked?

  • For those readers who have been following for a while, you know that I enjoy reading/writing about new money making ideas.  This book does just that, it provides 10 ways to make extra income, some of which are fairly new ideas to me.
  • I liked how the author interviewed and obtained information from experts in their field.  Also, at the end of each strategy, the author lists recommended books for further reading on the topic.
  • Each of the strategies contain a certain amount of risk.  I appreciated that the author pointed out the least riskiest path of each strategy.

What I didn’t like?

  • Although the book has some good ideas, the ideas were not explained in enough detail to actually go out on your own and implement them.  Much more research is required on the cash flow methods mentioned. 

Final Thoughts:

  • This book is well written and provides many ideas for making extra cash flow.  Word of warning for my Canadian readers though, a lot of the content is geared towards our American friends. 

Book Giveaway!  

Would you like to win a free copy?  Simply leave a comment in this post indicating your favorite food and I'll pick a winner at random.  Deadline for entries is 5pm EST Thursday March 13, 2008.  Please, only one comment entry per person.

Update:  Contest entries are closed. 

Find out how you can save an additional 4% on this book from Chapters. 

If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free weekly money tips newsletter below (we will never spam you).

FT About the author: FT is the founder and editor of Million Dollar Journey (est. 2006). Through various financial strategies outlined on this site, he grew his net worth from $200,000 in 2006 to $1,000,000 by 2014. You can read more about him here.

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Avatar Al x March 11, 2008, 9:09 am

    Pizza!!!!

  • Avatar Mike March 11, 2008, 9:58 am

    Steak!

  • Avatar Harry G March 11, 2008, 9:59 am

    Pad Thai

  • Avatar Goga March 11, 2008, 10:02 am

    Bean soup.

  • Avatar Linds March 11, 2008, 10:04 am

    Guacamole!

  • Avatar jdp March 11, 2008, 10:11 am

    looooooove Sushi

  • Avatar MunEconomist March 11, 2008, 10:31 am

    Onion Bjhia
    Naan Bread
    Basmati Rice
    spicy Dal
    tandori chicken
    Bengali Vegetable

    Best meal. Food group indian.

  • Avatar Jeff March 11, 2008, 10:34 am

    French fries

  • Avatar Charles March 11, 2008, 10:42 am

    Green Onion Pancake

  • Avatar Chris March 11, 2008, 11:06 am

    pizza

  • Avatar Irene March 11, 2008, 11:06 am

    mushroom

  • Avatar Andrew March 11, 2008, 11:19 am

    Ice cream

  • Avatar Daniel March 11, 2008, 11:26 am

    Butter chicken

  • Avatar Jeff S March 11, 2008, 11:29 am

    bacon

  • Avatar Alex March 11, 2008, 11:35 am

    Foie gras!

  • Avatar newinvestor March 11, 2008, 12:01 pm

    caribou

  • Avatar djg March 11, 2008, 12:09 pm

    beef ribeye!!!

  • Avatar Nate March 11, 2008, 12:10 pm

    Sushi!

    Eye of round steak!

    and of course… frozen peanut butter pie…

  • Avatar Mike Gillard March 11, 2008, 12:23 pm

    BBQ’d Rib Eye Steak, rare.

    Trust me, once you’ve had Rib Eye, there’s no going back.

  • Avatar Ramona March 11, 2008, 12:39 pm

    Pasta, pasta, pasta!

  • Avatar Dan March 11, 2008, 12:43 pm

    Hmmmm, So many possibilities…but gotta go with Pizza!

    I may have second thoughts later :p

  • Avatar Sarlock March 11, 2008, 12:47 pm

    Spaghetti!

  • Avatar James March 11, 2008, 12:47 pm

    broccoli

  • Avatar Big Ryan March 11, 2008, 12:49 pm

    Sushi!

  • Avatar Brad T March 11, 2008, 12:52 pm

    Cold, hard, ca….
    |
    |
    |
    ..rrots.

  • Avatar Carolyn March 11, 2008, 1:07 pm

    chocolate

  • Avatar 45free March 11, 2008, 1:21 pm

    Probably highlighting exactly why I am not yet retired…venison carpaccio with a reduced balsamic and raw sea salt

  • Avatar Frank Conradie March 11, 2008, 1:36 pm

    “Potjie” – a South African slow cooking method in a 3-legged cast iron pot.

  • Avatar Jeff Renaud March 11, 2008, 1:39 pm

    You guys forgot POUTINE !!!

  • Avatar JN March 11, 2008, 1:55 pm

    papad

  • Avatar Jason R. March 11, 2008, 1:56 pm

    Indian lamb, mutton or goat curry of just about any variety!

  • Avatar Marianne O. March 11, 2008, 1:56 pm

    Mmmm, roesti… the Swedish answer to latkes

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R%C3%B6sti

  • Avatar Marianne O. March 11, 2008, 2:15 pm

    Oops I meant swiss…

  • Avatar Scott M March 11, 2008, 2:32 pm

    Ribs!

  • Avatar Damir March 11, 2008, 2:38 pm

    Metamucil

  • Avatar FearLES March 11, 2008, 2:39 pm

    cheese and chocolate (though not together)

  • Avatar Miso March 11, 2008, 2:45 pm

    Miso noodles…

  • Avatar Looking for Fast Profits March 11, 2008, 2:54 pm

    Meat lovers pizza!

  • Avatar AD March 11, 2008, 3:04 pm

    Seafood.
    Any type of crustacean, langoustine or fish.

  • Avatar Yuriy March 11, 2008, 3:23 pm

    Borsch!

  • Avatar VG March 11, 2008, 3:57 pm

    TacoBell Chalupa.

  • Avatar Senk March 11, 2008, 5:29 pm

    Pizza

  • Avatar Shoaib March 11, 2008, 5:35 pm

    Chicken Tandoori

  • Avatar lencurrie March 11, 2008, 5:39 pm

    Spaghetti & Meatballs.. but only my mothers! ;-)

  • Avatar Jared March 11, 2008, 5:43 pm

    Pizza..

    Which was the best section of the book?

  • Avatar Dividendgrowth March 11, 2008, 6:07 pm

    My favorite food is chicken casserole with potatoes.

  • Avatar StillLearning March 11, 2008, 6:26 pm

    Beaver Tails… on the canal in Ottawa with lots of cinnamon.

  • Avatar Jesus March 11, 2008, 6:55 pm

    BBQ ribs

  • Avatar dj March 11, 2008, 6:58 pm

    Milk chocolate

  • Avatar Sarah Galbraith March 11, 2008, 8:19 pm

    protein shakes….hahah Just kidding. I love me a chicken chimichanga!! Mexican food is definitely my favorite! Oh, and chocolate!!

  • Avatar Noah March 11, 2008, 8:25 pm

    It used to be pizza, but now it’s perfectly prepared steel-cut oatmeal.

    My favorite food is boring :(

  • Avatar TL March 11, 2008, 8:31 pm

    I love pizza!!!!

  • Avatar Kris March 11, 2008, 9:02 pm

    pizza!

  • Avatar dale March 11, 2008, 9:26 pm

    I like crawfish, potatos, and corn.

  • Avatar telefantastik March 11, 2008, 9:31 pm

    big mac

  • Avatar chuck March 11, 2008, 9:45 pm

    Carne Asada Burrito

  • Avatar Andrea March 11, 2008, 10:40 pm

    Fettucini Alfredo

  • Avatar Deanna March 11, 2008, 10:40 pm

    Chocolate!

  • Avatar Susan March 11, 2008, 11:08 pm

    Chocolate!

  • Avatar Joe March 12, 2008, 12:06 am

    Thin Spaghetti – The Besttt!

  • Avatar Brenna March 12, 2008, 12:16 am

    Noodles

  • Avatar Jeff March 12, 2008, 12:33 am

    Butter Chicken! :-)

  • Avatar Agent389 March 12, 2008, 12:56 am

    Chilli Cheese Burger

  • Avatar Deb March 12, 2008, 1:07 am

    tacos

  • Avatar USN ElCid March 12, 2008, 1:40 am

    Pork Fried Rice

  • Avatar Ramis March 12, 2008, 3:20 am

    pizza

  • Avatar augustabound March 12, 2008, 7:23 am

    Gotta go with pizza.

  • Avatar Daniel March 12, 2008, 8:07 am

    Chinese food!

  • Avatar Mark March 12, 2008, 8:45 am

    Fish Fingers

  • Avatar AndrewP March 12, 2008, 9:36 am

    PIZZA!

  • Avatar clalc March 12, 2008, 10:02 am

    mussels

  • Avatar FFBlog March 12, 2008, 10:47 am

    The Keg’s Surf & Turf (Steak and Lobster Tail Dinner)

  • Avatar Sonia March 12, 2008, 11:10 am

    Ceviche – love the fresh, light and pure flavours. And living on the edge of eating seafood ‘cooked’ by lime juice. Mmmmm, another reason, other than Machu Pichu, to go to Peru.

  • Avatar Elizabeth March 12, 2008, 11:57 am

    SUSHI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Avatar Mofiq March 12, 2008, 12:52 pm

    Mutton Biryani

  • Avatar Danny C March 12, 2008, 2:19 pm

    A nice peice of Filet Mignon, marinated with olive oil, bit of soy sauce, and a lil balsamic vinegar.
    Then grilled Med. Rare.

  • Avatar HeatherP March 12, 2008, 4:01 pm

    Lasagne. Thanks for the review!

  • Avatar Robby Colvin March 12, 2008, 4:01 pm

    Any food from Argentina–absolutely delicious!!

  • Avatar Candi March 12, 2008, 4:35 pm

    Definitely Pizza!

  • Avatar Ryan March 12, 2008, 5:09 pm

    Sushi all the way!

  • Avatar Jeff March 12, 2008, 6:29 pm

    Lobster!

  • Avatar Alison March 12, 2008, 8:24 pm

    Chocolate covered strawberries.

  • Avatar telly March 12, 2008, 9:46 pm

    Cookies & Cream ice cream!

  • Avatar Elliott Russell March 12, 2008, 9:50 pm

    Jerky! (any kind)

  • Avatar LYu March 12, 2008, 9:52 pm

    Albacore tuna!!

  • Avatar tom March 12, 2008, 10:03 pm

    Pasta.

  • Avatar Karina March 12, 2008, 10:05 pm

    Cheesecake.

  • Avatar finman March 12, 2008, 10:10 pm

    Chicken wings and beer.

  • Avatar Kevin March 12, 2008, 10:18 pm

    Ice Cream!

  • Avatar neil March 12, 2008, 10:19 pm

    pho (vietnamese beef noodle soup)

  • Avatar Pascal March 12, 2008, 10:47 pm

    gnocchi with gorgonzola sauce!!!

  • Avatar Brandon March 12, 2008, 11:33 pm

    liver with a hint of broccoli.

  • Avatar Ron M March 13, 2008, 4:00 am

    I want the book!

  • Avatar Brian March 13, 2008, 10:00 am

    Pad Thai

  • Avatar GH March 13, 2008, 10:51 am

    Gotta go with shrimp quesadillas!

  • Avatar CMR March 13, 2008, 11:16 am

    I HOPE I WIN THE BOOK

  • Avatar Middle Class Millionaire March 13, 2008, 12:01 pm

    Wings. With extra wing sauce on the side.

  • Avatar Wendy March 13, 2008, 12:25 pm

    Cheese! Any kind any time any how!

  • Avatar Adam March 13, 2008, 1:33 pm

    Some nice Chicken Curry

  • Avatar AppleTree March 13, 2008, 2:42 pm

    Cheese…Good cheese with good bread.

  • Avatar Cheri March 13, 2008, 5:13 pm

    I’m always looking for new ideas beyond “The Richest Man in Babylon” type books – thanks for the review. Did you have any good ideas on where to follow up for more information on the ideas presented?