≡ Menu

Book Review and Giveaway: When Markets Collide

Yet another book review and giveaway.  This time, we got contacted by the publisher of the book When Markets Collide: Investment Strategies for the Age of Global Economic Change by Mohamed A. El-Erian.

Who is Mohamed A. El-Erian?

According to the back of the book, he has very high credentials:

Mohamed A. El-Erian is co-CEO and co-CIO of PIMCO, one of the largest investment management companies in the world. He formerly served as president and CEO of Harvard Management Company, the firm that manages the university’s $35 billion endowment. He spent 15 years at the International Money Fund, working on policy, capital market, and multilateral economics issues. El-Erian has been featured by Bloomberg, Forbes, Financial Times, Latin Finance, CNBC, The New York Times, and The Wall Street Journal. In 2004, Fortune named him a member of its eight-person “Mutual Fund Dream Team.”

What is this book about?

In “When Markets Collide”, Mohamed El-Erian writes for 3 audiences, individual investors, economists and policy makers.  With that, he explains how to to distinguish between market noise and market signals, gives his perspective on the big picture of global markets and suggestions for changes to global market economic policies.

Here is a snippet from McGraw-Hill:

The world economy is in the midst of a series of hand-offs. Global growth is now being heavily influenced by nations that previously had little or no systemic influence. Former debtor nations are building unforeseen wealth and, thus, enjoying unprecedented influence and facing unusual challenges. And new derivative products have changed the behavior of many market segments and players. Yet, despite all these changes, the system’s infrastructure is yet to be upgraded to reflect the realities of today’s and tomorrow’s world. El-Erian investigates the underlying drivers of global change to shed light on how you should:

* Think about the new opportunities and risks
* Construct an appropriately diversified and internationalized portfolio
* Protect your portfolio against new sources of systemic risk
* Best think about the impact of central banks and financial policies around the world

Offering up predictions of future developments, El-Erian directs his focus to help you capitalize on the new financial landscape, while limiting exposure to new risk configurations.

My Thoughts

Although the credentials that Mr. El-Erian carries makes this book automatically interesting for me, at times, the book was a bit dry as it seemed to ramble on a little bit.  As a simple minded individual, I enjoy books with clear headings and clearly indicated main points which this book lacked.

Also note again that the book seemed to be written for varying audiences, with only a smaller portion of the book directed toward individual investors.

Want a Free Copy?

  • Simply leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered in the draw for a free copy.
  • Please only 1 comment entry / person (please enter a valid email address).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Friday 5pm EST Oct 10, 2008 and the winner announced shortly afterwards!
If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free weekly money tips newsletter below (we will never spam you).

FT About the author: FT is the founder and editor of Million Dollar Journey (est. 2006). Through various financial strategies outlined on this site, he grew his net worth from $200,000 in 2006 to $1,000,000 by 2014. You can read more about him here.

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Avatar Michael Clark October 7, 2008, 8:57 am

    I like free books :)

  • Avatar Four Pillars October 7, 2008, 9:31 am

    I`m interested!

  • Avatar Quick Lunar Cop October 7, 2008, 9:39 am

    Now seems like a good time to read about markets colliding! I’m in!

  • Avatar Brian October 7, 2008, 9:47 am

    Sounds like an interesting book, sign me up

  • Avatar LL October 7, 2008, 10:23 am

    It sounds like an interesting book even if it’s a bit dry. I’m not a big investor (except through my mutual funds, etc. through work) but I am trying to learn as much as I can about investing. I want to become much more educated and knowledgeable about investing, real estate, and building wealth.

  • Avatar Cameron October 7, 2008, 10:29 am

    Please add me to your drawing.

    Thanks!

  • Avatar Jane October 7, 2008, 10:33 am

    Yesterday I felt like the markets had collided on me, but this is a new day, so count me in!

  • Avatar EastCoast October 7, 2008, 10:49 am

    international finance… sounds interesting.

  • Avatar Aaron October 7, 2008, 11:10 am

    Sign me up, please.
    Thanks.

  • Avatar Brandon October 7, 2008, 11:22 am

    Free finance books are always a good thing.

  • Avatar Frog of Finance October 7, 2008, 11:39 am

    Looks like an interesting reading. And I like free books!

    Frog

  • Avatar Jimmy October 7, 2008, 11:43 am

    i would like to read this book !

  • Avatar Dividend Growth Investor October 7, 2008, 11:44 am

    I would love to get this book from this guy. He’s somewhat of a legend having run a major endowment fund and then pimco..

  • Avatar Daniel October 7, 2008, 11:51 am

    I’d like to read this book.

  • Avatar ryan October 7, 2008, 12:00 pm

    sounds interesting to us dorks. i am in.

  • Avatar Chris October 7, 2008, 12:04 pm

    Sounds interesting. count me in.

  • Avatar Mark October 7, 2008, 12:04 pm

    Another great review,

    Thanks!

  • Avatar 45free October 7, 2008, 12:05 pm

    Awesome…been wanting to read this book.

  • Avatar FearLES October 7, 2008, 12:08 pm

    I am interested to check the book out.

  • Avatar Deb October 7, 2008, 12:09 pm

    Count me in, thanks!

  • Avatar venter October 7, 2008, 12:11 pm

    Sounds interesting, put me on the list!

  • Avatar viennatech October 7, 2008, 12:12 pm

    Collision? More like a grotesque train wreck. I keep wanting to look away but my morbid curiosity keeps me watching….

  • Avatar Greenhouse October 7, 2008, 12:13 pm

    I’d read it

  • Avatar Brian October 7, 2008, 12:14 pm

    Sign me up please!
    Thanks

  • Avatar mike October 7, 2008, 12:48 pm

    looks interesting.

  • Avatar BrianM October 7, 2008, 1:00 pm

    sounds appropriate for right about now…

  • Avatar James October 7, 2008, 1:13 pm

    Sounds interesting…

  • Avatar tom October 7, 2008, 1:17 pm

    To be relevant, El-Erian must address the necessity that all derivatives, especially credit default swaps, must be traded on an exchange with an associated clearinghouse to guarantee all transactions. As well, all such transactions should be subject to an excise tax.

  • Avatar toby October 7, 2008, 1:52 pm

    I always question when I hear people talking about a new economy. Usually it is not a new economy, just people tired of talking about the old economy. The recent crunch seems to show that global markets are still riding on the back of the US economy. Sounds like an interesting read all the same though.

  • Avatar Kryton October 7, 2008, 2:20 pm

    Hey I’m in for a free book. Sounds like an interesting read.

  • Avatar Jiuning October 7, 2008, 2:25 pm

    count me in, thanks

  • Avatar Johnny October 7, 2008, 2:26 pm

    Let me in, thx

  • Avatar mike h October 7, 2008, 2:54 pm

    I’ll take it!

  • Avatar Larry October 7, 2008, 3:09 pm

    I am interested in. This book will be very useful specially at this market down time.

    Thanks

  • Avatar Nelson October 7, 2008, 3:09 pm

    Free book? Sign me up!

  • Avatar PC October 7, 2008, 3:28 pm

    Thanks for the give-away!

  • Avatar guinness416 October 7, 2008, 3:30 pm

    I’m in too. Thanks, FT.

  • Avatar Tony October 7, 2008, 3:52 pm

    If it’s free it’s for me =) Free = Great

  • Avatar Brad Sutton October 7, 2008, 3:54 pm

    Book sounds like a good read. I’d enjoy a copy.

  • Avatar Snickers October 7, 2008, 4:04 pm

    I would like to test my luck

  • Avatar Ringo October 7, 2008, 4:12 pm

    I would like to read the book, can’t wait when it’s available in local library. Good luck to everyone!

  • Avatar mengi October 7, 2008, 4:36 pm

    This book seeem very interesting. Particulary, the pridction of globalization.

  • Avatar CSW October 7, 2008, 4:45 pm

    Haven’t read the book, but heard him speak on TV. He makes a lot of sense. Once the fallout from the current recent financial crisis is over, I suspect that the world and its financial management will change (one hope fro the better); investors will need a new perspective on how business is transacted and the opportunities that are to be found out there.

  • Avatar ProfitMaze October 7, 2008, 5:56 pm

    I like free books…

  • Avatar Bob October 7, 2008, 6:18 pm

    Sounds like an interesting read. Thanks

  • Avatar Geoff October 7, 2008, 7:41 pm

    I read an article in Smart Money about this guy, he seems to be very intelligent when it comes to investing.

  • Avatar Catharine Inniss October 7, 2008, 8:04 pm

    I could really use this book

  • Avatar KC October 7, 2008, 8:18 pm

    Add my name please@

    KC

  • Avatar Rick J. October 7, 2008, 8:39 pm

    Sounds interesting!

  • Avatar Rick J. October 7, 2008, 8:41 pm

    I’d like to read to understand the new global economy!

  • Avatar karash October 7, 2008, 9:15 pm

    Please sign me up..!

  • Avatar Marshall Middle October 7, 2008, 9:57 pm

    I like free books and I can not lie…

  • Avatar Miralem October 7, 2008, 10:25 pm

    looks like an interesting read

  • Avatar MultifolDream$ October 7, 2008, 11:00 pm

    Looks like worth reading

  • Avatar Patricia October 7, 2008, 11:09 pm

    Please include me in the draw. Thanks.

  • Avatar Mahesh October 7, 2008, 11:57 pm

    I am interested. Thanks

  • Avatar Mark October 8, 2008, 12:23 am

    I like books.

  • Avatar Al October 8, 2008, 1:17 am

    please sign me up

  • Avatar Andrew Paterson October 8, 2008, 9:20 am

    Sounds interesting – sign me up!

  • Avatar Start-Up October 8, 2008, 2:02 pm

    I’d like to be in the drawing. Thanks!

  • Avatar Chris October 8, 2008, 2:11 pm

    seems like an interesting read …

  • Avatar RH October 8, 2008, 6:23 pm

    With the current market meltdown and all the changes in the global market, it would it interesting to read about the author’s view and his predictions of the future economy. Please include me in the book giveaway. Thanks

  • Avatar JM October 8, 2008, 6:31 pm

    Sign me up please

    Tks

  • Avatar Oscar October 8, 2008, 6:54 pm

    I’m also interested to read this book. Thanks for the opportunity.

  • Avatar Nicholas Barnett October 9, 2008, 7:07 pm

    If you are not using the endowment model as an investor than you are missing the whole point of investing. After all the numbers are crunched concerning the probability of forcasting and market timing as a long term strategy, you are left with a short term strategy that is a ticking time bomb to fail regardless of the talent. The endownment model is just the evolution of portfolio theory from the greatest investing minds today. It is not prideful and ego centric enough to try what market timing and forecasting does. Those strategies are just one asset class, when endowment models include 6+ asset classes. Moving forward in the world of volatility and global connectivity the risk of the overall market has increased. Therefore the paradigm of diversification has become macro in nature across the gamet of economic instruments. This is the only way to reduce the overall volatility and risk within the portfolio with out scarficing equity like returns. The endowment model is the future of individual investing.

  • Avatar Pascal October 9, 2008, 9:12 pm

    Interested!

  • Avatar LBanks October 10, 2008, 1:14 pm

    I’m frugal, I like free