≡ Menu

Book Review and Giveaway: The Answer

It seems that after watching “The Secret“, I have been attracting attention from the main characters in the movie. First it was Joe Vitale with the book “The Key“, now John Assaraf with his newest piece, The Answer: Grow Any Business, Achieve Financial Freedom, and Live an Extraordinary Life.

Wait, before you discard this review as another law of attraction book, read through the review as this book even surprised me. Instead of focusing purely on “The Law of Attraction”, this hardcover book is about how to build the business of your dreams by changing it’s most limiting factor, you!

Most people blame their circumstances around them for their lack of success. People should be looking within and examine their thought process where most will find the underlying problem.

For those of you who read my review on The Key, this book has a similar idea but much better as it’s not spammy. In fact, I would go as far as saying that I recommend it to those who are serious about growing their business.

Lets get on with the nitty gritty.

Who is the Author?

This book is co authored by John Assaraf and Murray Smith. Who are these guys? According to the back of the book:

John Assaraf is a speaker, entrepreneur, and the internationally bestselling author of Having it all. Most of you will know John Assaraf from his appearance in the DVD and book The Secret. Over the last 20 years, he has built 4 multimillion dollar companies.

Murray Smith is a business-growth expert and entrepreneur who has launched or revived thirteen successful businesses and helped thousands of business owners increase revenues, profits, and value.

What’s this book about?

This hard cover book falls into the series of books that focuses on changing the way that you think rather than a “how to” book on how to make your business succeed. I would classify this book in the same category as “Think and Grow Rich” by Napoleon Hill and “The Science of Getting Rich” by Wallace D. Wattles (free).

The Answer is written by two authors, John Assaraf and Murray Smith. Both have complimentary points of view on how to create a successful business.  Mr. Assaraf is a big believer in the law of attraction and lives his life that way.  He explains why the law of attraction works, how our brain works, and how we can change our thoughts to be successful.  Mr. Smith, on the other hand, is more technical on the business side of things.  Combining their complementary skills, they have an enjoyable chapter dedicated to the case studies of actual companies that they have helped improve.

What Topics are Covered? Learn how to:

  • Transform your business and life
  • Attract more of the “right” customer of any business
  • Find your own passions and achieve your business goals
  • Use the law of attraction to create the business of your dreams
  • Make the right decisions with confidence and certainty.
  • Develop the mind-set of a mega-millionaire.

Final Thoughts

Even though my reviews of The Secret and The Key were not completely favorable, I really enjoyed reading this book even though it revolved around a similar topic. The authors found a way to explain the power of positive thinking in concrete terms that was easy to understand and believe.

Want a Free Copy?

  • Simply leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered in the draw for a free copy.
  • Please only 1 comment entry / person (please enter a valid email address).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Friday 5pm EST July 25, 2008 and the winner announced shortly afterwards!

Update:  Contest is now closed.

-> If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free newsletter service below (we will not spam you).

FT About the author: FT is the founder and editor of Million Dollar Journey (est. 2006). Through various financial strategies outlined on this site, he grew his net worth from $200,000 in 2006 to $1,000,000 by 2014. You can read more about him here.

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • karibou July 22, 2008, 7:50 am

    I would definitely use some books like this as i want to start my business but still don’t know exactly in what direction.

  • Elizabeth M. July 22, 2008, 8:14 am

    We’re entering into a partnership for a business at this time so this book may have some real value for us.

  • KC July 22, 2008, 8:41 am

    This book would come in very handy. Thanks for offering it!
    KC

  • Stephen Winters July 22, 2008, 8:46 am

    As a big fan of “The Secret” I can’t wait to read this book. Thanks for pointing it out.

  • PH July 22, 2008, 9:01 am

    Thanks for the blog. I enjoy it. Lots of practical advice. Keep it up.

  • Ted July 22, 2008, 9:34 am

    Sounds interesting.

  • Terry July 22, 2008, 9:54 am

    Looks interesting.

  • Aaron July 22, 2008, 9:56 am

    Count me in, please.

  • moneygardener July 22, 2008, 9:58 am

    in

  • LP July 22, 2008, 10:15 am

    books are cool.

  • Millionaireby45 July 22, 2008, 10:19 am

    In.

  • MoneyMusing July 22, 2008, 11:04 am

    I’m interested as well!

  • Chuck July 22, 2008, 11:08 am

    I’m in for the contest.

  • James July 22, 2008, 11:26 am

    I would love to receive a copy of this book. I am currently in the process of creating an online business and can use all the help I can get.

  • LBanks July 22, 2008, 11:31 am

    Teach a wise man a lesson, and he is yet wiser…

  • ryan July 22, 2008, 11:40 am

    throw my hat in.

  • Ramona July 22, 2008, 11:45 am

    All I have to do is “believe” I will win, and I will be successful.

    Thanks FT.

  • Mark July 22, 2008, 11:51 am

    Excellent! i loved the secret. It’s nice to see a follow-up.

  • Rose July 22, 2008, 11:57 am

    Sounds like a good book. I read “Think and Grow Rich”. Do you think this new book can help me? I am very interested and I plan on buying the book. Thanks for highlighting it.

  • Pam July 22, 2008, 11:59 am

    I didn’t even know there was a follow-up book to “The Secret”. I’d love to read this! Thanks for offering it.

  • Brian July 22, 2008, 12:12 pm

    Been a daily visitor to your site for a year now. Keep up the good work! Count me in please!

  • Triple_Eh July 22, 2008, 12:17 pm

    Sounds interesting, would like to give it a read!

  • MJ July 22, 2008, 12:30 pm

    IN. Sounds like a great read. Thanks for the opportunity.

  • Terence Lo July 22, 2008, 12:39 pm

    count me in!

  • Daniel July 22, 2008, 12:50 pm

    I’m in. I need to jump start my new business. Starnights, see the weblink. ;-)

  • Larysa July 22, 2008, 1:13 pm

    I agree that I need to change something about myself to be more successful. Look forward to learning what it is. Thanks!

  • skube July 22, 2008, 1:19 pm

    I should really read more.

  • Ringo July 22, 2008, 1:41 pm

    I hope I can get “The Answer” this time. LOL!

  • Mike July 22, 2008, 1:46 pm

    I’m holding my breath /.

  • Mike July 22, 2008, 1:48 pm

    I’m holding my breath ;).

  • Bubelah July 22, 2008, 1:54 pm

    I really liked “The Secret” and I stronly believe in positive/creative visualization and law of attraction, way before the terms were introduced. It just was pure common sense on my part. I saw John Assaraf on “Big Idea” and heard about his new book.
    It would be nice to get it, of course.

  • Finance_Addict July 22, 2008, 1:58 pm

    Lucky #29

  • Miso July 22, 2008, 2:10 pm

    Count me in please!

  • kassam July 22, 2008, 2:14 pm

    can’t wait to read it

  • Michael Gillard July 22, 2008, 2:16 pm

    The law of attraction….. are you f&*king kidding me! You guys actually believe in that steaming pile of cow dung?

    Of course if you take “positive” actions you’re more likely to get things done but that’s common sense, not some fundamental law of the universe. I would not have expected this crowd to be so gullible!

    For the record I do not want this book and it will go promptly in the recycling bin if it ends up in my mail box.

  • Blitzkrieg July 22, 2008, 2:20 pm

    I’m in.

  • Senk July 22, 2008, 2:39 pm

    It couldn’t hurt to check out the book.

  • Amit in Vancouver Canada July 22, 2008, 2:48 pm

    Let’s see if #34 is lucky or not. I could really use this book as I am trying to expand my business very soon. And, of course I also have the uncanny desire to get super-rich.

  • Krys July 22, 2008, 3:09 pm

    Sounds interesting to me, would love to give it a read!

  • A F July 22, 2008, 3:10 pm

    I am certainly interesed in the book. I am a great fan of the Million Dollar Journey.

  • tom July 22, 2008, 3:15 pm

    I’d love a copy!

  • karina July 22, 2008, 3:16 pm

    Put me in the draw.

  • Jesus July 22, 2008, 3:16 pm

    Count me in!!!

  • Rosalie July 22, 2008, 3:34 pm

    Would love to win a copy!

  • Joshua July 22, 2008, 3:37 pm

    Count me in for the big W!

  • James July 22, 2008, 3:48 pm

    I’m always on the lookout for books that take into account positive thinking and business at the same time.. I look forward to reading this book.

  • Kenny July 22, 2008, 3:51 pm

    Sounds interesting!

  • AP July 22, 2008, 4:07 pm

    I’m in!

  • Commander T July 22, 2008, 4:50 pm

    I am in

  • Mark July 22, 2008, 5:56 pm

    I’d love a copy.

  • Elvis K July 22, 2008, 6:49 pm

    I was a fan of The Secret, and am an even bigger fan of Napoleon Hill’s Think and Grow Rich. I think Hill teaches valuable lessons that The Secret leaves out. I think The Secret sort of misrepresented what the ‘Law’ is all about, and played more towards greed and that you can have anything you want but don’t really have to do anything of effort to get it….but that’s marketing, and in any case I enjoyed it.

    I would love to get my paws on this book as I am a big fan of some of The Secret personalities, including Bob Proctor as well as John Assaraf, so please add me in to the draw FT. Thanks!

  • Accelerated Mortgage Program July 22, 2008, 7:27 pm

    wow thats alotta people who want that free book. wonder how much it costs in stores… o_O
    -Jerry

  • Jeff July 22, 2008, 7:51 pm

    This book is amazing. I run a consulting business in San Diego and am already applying some of the fundamental tips in the book to my business. Great stuff. This is the link to the official site… http://www.readtheanswer.com/index.php?RTA=web2

  • telefantastik July 22, 2008, 9:39 pm

    i’m in

  • Sarlock July 22, 2008, 11:25 pm

    Looks like a good read, toss my name in the hat.

  • Brian July 23, 2008, 10:23 am

    I’m looking forward to reading another angle on Think and Grow Rich.

  • TKO from Ontario July 23, 2008, 1:13 pm

    Gimme, gimme, gimme.

  • fillalph July 23, 2008, 1:34 pm

    I always enjoy reading your blog to see what you are reading

  • Debt_Free_in_5 July 23, 2008, 3:40 pm

    Count me in!

  • Cannon_fodder July 23, 2008, 8:34 pm

    My brother-in-law has his own motorcycle repair shop. If I were to win this book, he would be getting it with the hopes that it can help him.

  • Jimmy July 24, 2008, 10:30 am

    I would love to read this book. Thanks!

  • Paul_Z July 24, 2008, 12:07 pm

    Count me in!

  • cougar hunter July 24, 2008, 5:02 pm

    I want the answer.

  • Edward July 24, 2008, 5:36 pm

    I’d love a copy!

  • Jill July 24, 2008, 7:09 pm

    i love to read, please pick me!
    it’s my birthday next week :)

  • Cara July 24, 2008, 9:29 pm

    I work with a number of clients who have ‘abundance’ issues with their business. When I say abundance issues, I mean that they have hidden thoughts about their worth, their chances of success, or their chances of being welcomed. Any background thoughts that you or your services are not worth what you are asking; or that your chances of success are small; or that people (customers) will not welcome you obviously hinder one’s success. Affirmations and positive thinking will only go so far towards negating these hidden thoughts. The real answer is to release those thoughts, and there are many ways to do so. (Books such as this help, but there are better ways.) When hidden negative thoughts such as the above are released, then you are free to focus both your unconscious mind and your conscious mind on achieving your goals. Until then, your unconscious thoughts will be literally fighting all of your conscious goal-setting and achievement-oriented thoughts. With your conscious mind being such a small percentage of your mind, your unconscious thoughts will win! So clean out the unconscious barriers to success even as you learn new business skills, and you’ll be able to get ahead in life far easier than you ever have before.

  • Jessica July 24, 2008, 10:15 pm

    I would love to have a copy of book!

  • pikoman July 25, 2008, 3:20 am

    Sounds like a good read. Please count me in. Thanks.

  • Scott July 25, 2008, 7:42 am

    I read the secret and this book sounds interesting, especially since I am growing tired of ‘working for the man’ and thinking of striking out on my own.

  • xiLLeNtz July 25, 2008, 12:28 pm

    If I don’t win then I’ll eventually buy it.
    Thanks for the opportunity to win this book =)

  • William July 25, 2008, 12:31 pm

    Sounds like a great book! Throw my name in the hat!

  • Victoria July 25, 2008, 1:23 pm

    Hi,
    I am a new subscriber and have very little education about finances, but I have to say that I really love the articles and links provided! It opened for me a door I never thought of opening =) Thanks a lot!

    The book “The Answer” seems to be interesting. Thank you for posting the link to “The Science of Getting Rich” I read it and reflected on it a lot. And it’s so simple and so true, all my past experience came so vivid into my mind, confirming the principles stated in this book! I recommended it to my family, friends and co-workers.

    All the very best!

  • Rodney July 25, 2008, 1:39 pm

    I very much enjoyed Napoleon Hill’s “Think and Grow Rich” and would like to read this book also. For those interested, the book is on sale at Chapters online for under $20.00 not including S&H.

  • James July 25, 2008, 2:23 pm

    This is great, seems to be a great book, and concept

  • Sean July 25, 2008, 3:47 pm

    Sounds quite attractive. I love a copy of the book!

  • Charlie July 25, 2008, 5:43 pm

    This book sounds intriguing!
    (edit: it’s 2:15MST, not sure why the time stamp is 5:43.)