≡ Menu

Book Review and Giveaway: Happier

Today’s book review is a bit different than the typical book about finance, but just as relevant in my eyes.  A New York Times best seller, Happier – Learning the Secrets to Daily Joy and Lasting Fulfillment, is written by Tal Ben-Shahar who happens to be a Harvard Professor on Positive Psychology – and teaches Harvard’s most popular course.

About the Author:

According to the book:

Tal Ben-Shahar, Ph.D., is one of Harvard University’s most popular lecturers. He has been profiled on NPR and featured on CNN, CBS, in the New York Times and the Boston Globe.  His classes attract 20% of all Harvard graduates.  Ben-Shahar graduated from Harvard with a degree in philosophy and psychology.  For the last ten years, he has been teaching personal and organizational excellence, leadership, ethics, and self-esteem.

About the Book

Happier is about finding meaning and fulfillment in life, something which I have written about before.  They teach that when you learn how to live for the present and future at the same time, it brings true enjoyment and life fulfillment.

The book is separated into 3 sections:

  1. What is Happiness? – That is the question that a lot of us have.  Ben-Shahar goes through the debate and gives us his definition of happiness.  He explains happiness as the ultimate currency (not money) and how important it is to have self-concordant goals.
  2. Happiness Applied – Here the author applies his theories on happiness in education, the workplace, and in relationships.
  3. Meditations on Happiness – Various meditations and exercises that you can do to help you find what brings you happiness and fulfillment.

Final Thoughts

In my opinion, this was a great book for those of you looking for a little more out of life.  I especially enjoyed the section on setting goals along with the various exercises to enhance happiness.

Want a Free Copy?

McGraw-Hill was generous in offering Million Dollar Journey readers the chance to win 2 copies of the book.  The details are below:

  1. Simply leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered in the draw for a free copy.
  2. All email subscribers will receive an additional entry (privacy).
  • Please only 1 comment entry / person (please enter a valid email address).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Friday 5pm EST July 3, 2009 and the winner announced shortly after!
If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free weekly money tips newsletter below (we will never spam you).

FT About the author: FT is the founder and editor of Million Dollar Journey (est. 2006). Through various financial strategies outlined on this site, he grew his net worth from $200,000 in 2006 to $1,000,000 by 2014. You can read more about him here.

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Avatar Ramona June 30, 2009, 8:31 am

    I can always afford to be “Happier”
    Thanks!

  • Avatar Ms. Jones June 30, 2009, 8:35 am

    I’ve got a whole family here eager to be happier. Bring it on!

  • Avatar Bill M June 30, 2009, 8:58 am

    I would be HAPPY to have this book !

  • Avatar Millionaireby45 June 30, 2009, 9:36 am

    Sounds like a good read.

  • Avatar Steve - Montreal June 30, 2009, 9:45 am

    Hey who doesn’t want to be Happier?? Please place my name into the pot.

  • Avatar lana June 30, 2009, 10:09 am

    I would be happier if I got to read this book.

  • Avatar Paolo June 30, 2009, 10:17 am

    Happy happy happy.

  • Avatar Kelsey June 30, 2009, 10:18 am

    I would love to read this book. Thanks!

  • Avatar Ben June 30, 2009, 10:31 am

    Sounds like a good summer read!

  • Avatar Chris June 30, 2009, 10:31 am

    Count me in!

  • Avatar Mike Fuellbrandt June 30, 2009, 10:42 am

    I could always use more “happy” in my life.

  • Avatar Sampson June 30, 2009, 10:43 am

    Me Please!

  • Avatar Finance_Addict June 30, 2009, 10:51 am

    Thanks.

  • Avatar David Tam June 30, 2009, 10:52 am

    The title of the book makes me Happier in the heart.

  • Avatar Melanie June 30, 2009, 10:54 am

    I would love to know how to make all my relationships happier in some way!

  • Avatar Cisco Kid June 30, 2009, 10:56 am

    I truely need to find the secret to happyness, I think I should buy this book even if I don’t win. I feel like I have so many things to be happy for, but yet, I am not…

  • Avatar STCLOW June 30, 2009, 11:00 am

    I look forward to being Happier, this book would come at a perfect time…

  • Avatar JasonM June 30, 2009, 11:04 am

    Thanks

  • Avatar R I June 30, 2009, 11:31 am

    Funny – I used to be very happy all the time, but now I’m less so. Could this book have the answer to get it back?

  • Avatar Nick June 30, 2009, 11:31 am

    Sounds like an interesting read!

  • Avatar Oil Baron June 30, 2009, 11:33 am

    Excellent idea for a book.

  • Avatar Harv June 30, 2009, 11:36 am

    Pick me please…LOL!

  • Avatar fdum11 June 30, 2009, 11:37 am

    i want the secret to a happy life

  • Avatar Michael June 30, 2009, 11:39 am

    I would love a copy of this book!

  • Avatar SD June 30, 2009, 11:39 am

    I would love to learn how to be happier!

  • Avatar Thaily June 30, 2009, 11:40 am

    mas feliz. Does Spanish count?
    I’m in… Thaily

  • Avatar Carol June 30, 2009, 11:41 am

    Well now, who wouldn’t want to be HAPPIER?! Thanks for the contest……

  • Avatar karash June 30, 2009, 11:42 am

    I WOULD LOVE TO BE HAPPIER…!

  • Avatar casey5 June 30, 2009, 11:43 am

    Count me in!

  • Avatar Mike June 30, 2009, 11:44 am

    I’m a pretty happy guy, but you can always be happier.

  • Avatar Rick June 30, 2009, 11:44 am

    Love and Happiness seem to go together . Count me in .

  • Avatar Kathy S. June 30, 2009, 11:46 am

    I definitely need to be “happier”. :)

  • Avatar Jimmy June 30, 2009, 11:46 am

    would like to read this

  • Avatar Cara June 30, 2009, 11:47 am

    Happieness is often all about perception!

  • Avatar scott June 30, 2009, 11:48 am

    Happiness is a state of mind, the problem is the current state your mind is in…..

  • Avatar hjincalgary June 30, 2009, 11:49 am

    Happiness – do something kind each day……..find joy in the little things in life, and appreciate what you have – good health, family and integrity

  • Avatar Sandra June 30, 2009, 11:49 am

    Yes …. a positive approach to getting more out of life! Thanks for bringing this book to my attention. Hope I’m one of the lucky two.

  • Avatar Tish June 30, 2009, 11:53 am

    This is a road I’d like to travel down……………….

  • Avatar Florence June 30, 2009, 11:54 am

    Very wise! I’d love to read this book!

  • Avatar cannon_fodder June 30, 2009, 11:54 am

    I am happy in the present, and I will be happier in the future if I would win.

  • Avatar Aaron June 30, 2009, 11:55 am

    Sounds great! Count me in.

  • Avatar ashley June 30, 2009, 11:57 am

    Sounds like a great book. Thanks for the chance to win one!!

  • Avatar Daniel Morel June 30, 2009, 11:58 am

    What me worry? Nah, Just be Happy!

  • Avatar Terry June 30, 2009, 11:59 am

    Thanks.

  • Avatar Maria June 30, 2009, 11:59 am

    This is all I could wish for after receiving the finality of marriage annulment last month – HAPPIER!

  • Avatar Narajin June 30, 2009, 12:03 pm

    Interesting book. I’d like to get one.

  • Avatar Sophie June 30, 2009, 12:04 pm

    generally a happy person, but losing my job and my mother within a couple of months has been tough, I could definitely use this!

  • Avatar Tom June 30, 2009, 12:06 pm

    Bobbie McFerron (sp?) comes to mind. Don’t worry, be happy!

  • Avatar allawi17 June 30, 2009, 12:06 pm

    me want book

  • Avatar Kirk June 30, 2009, 12:15 pm

    Sounds like a good topic. I was wondering what I could buy with my Chapter’s gift card.

  • Avatar Nora June 30, 2009, 12:16 pm

    Sounds like a great book…Happiness is what it is all about!

  • Avatar JamieV June 30, 2009, 12:18 pm

    Looks to be an interesting read.

  • Avatar Robbie K June 30, 2009, 12:18 pm

    Please add my entry to the pot.

  • Avatar Kippan June 30, 2009, 12:20 pm

    Count me in for a chance!

  • Avatar ryan June 30, 2009, 12:30 pm

    I could use this book about now.

  • Avatar Ali June 30, 2009, 12:31 pm

    Count me in!!

  • Avatar Suzanne June 30, 2009, 12:32 pm

    I’d like a copy.

  • Avatar bill ruus June 30, 2009, 12:39 pm

    Great self education, would love a copy

  • Avatar Maiku June 30, 2009, 12:39 pm

    Sounds like a good read.

  • Avatar Edouard S June 30, 2009, 12:40 pm

    Another wonderful book on happiness is ”what happy people know” which can be found at all serious book outlets. Indigo, Amazon, B&N, etc… Thanks for the info FT.

  • Avatar Matt June 30, 2009, 12:40 pm

    Participated in every raffle for last 1 year, hopefully this is my lucky chance :)

  • Avatar Cori June 30, 2009, 12:42 pm

    Sounds like a good book…I’d like to read it!

  • Avatar Susan June 30, 2009, 12:42 pm

    Thanks for the offer and for introducing the book. It made me ponder the meaning of ‘happy’ and ‘happier’. It will be interesting to read Dr. Ben-Shahar’s views.

  • Avatar Triple_Eh June 30, 2009, 12:42 pm

    Would like a copy!

  • Avatar telefantastik June 30, 2009, 12:49 pm

    Count me in!

  • Avatar NoDebtGuy June 30, 2009, 12:58 pm

    Would love a copy!

  • Avatar Sarah June 30, 2009, 1:01 pm

    I want this book!

  • Avatar RI June 30, 2009, 1:01 pm

    It would definitely a daily joy if I can get the book!

  • Avatar abcstocks June 30, 2009, 1:01 pm

    Please count me in….

  • Avatar canucktuary June 30, 2009, 1:02 pm

    count me in

  • Avatar Genius Boy June 30, 2009, 1:06 pm

    I attended Tal’s courses and lectures when I was at Harvard, and I must say he’s a great lecturer. Interesting, provocative, and funny at the same time. His book is really an incredibly fun read.

    MDJ: I don’t need a copy of the book, since I’ve read it, but it really is a great read for those of you, who want a more positive view of life

  • Avatar Blogging Banks June 30, 2009, 1:08 pm

    Sign me up and Pick me! ;-)

  • Avatar Jenny June 30, 2009, 1:17 pm

    I am looking forward to reading this book…thanks for bringing it to my attention.

  • Avatar Terri June 30, 2009, 1:20 pm

    Sounds like a great summer read!

  • Avatar Bryce June 30, 2009, 1:20 pm

    I could use a happy book to read on holidays!

  • Avatar cdc979 June 30, 2009, 1:25 pm

    I need all the happiness help I can get!

  • Avatar Frugalgirl June 30, 2009, 1:27 pm

    I believe the outlook on life is not how much you have in terms of many or stuf but how happy you are

  • Avatar Craig June 30, 2009, 1:27 pm

    Would be happy to read it

  • Avatar Steve Zussino June 30, 2009, 1:28 pm

    I enjoy reading about happiness!

  • Avatar Alex June 30, 2009, 1:30 pm

    I’m in

  • Avatar gexter June 30, 2009, 1:31 pm

    I could always use an extra dose of HAPPY!

  • Avatar allyson fleck June 30, 2009, 1:39 pm

    Don’t worry, Be Happy – I strive to live by this.

  • Avatar Patricia June 30, 2009, 1:40 pm

    Sounds like a great summer read.

  • Avatar bob June 30, 2009, 1:41 pm

    I am sad… please make me happy!

  • Avatar Mo June 30, 2009, 1:46 pm

    I would love to win a copy of this book!

  • Avatar Bob June 30, 2009, 1:47 pm

    Free books make me happy.

  • Avatar K June 30, 2009, 1:48 pm

    Everyone beat me to the plays on “happy”… if I read this book, would I learn how to be happy with that idea?

  • Avatar Elbyron June 30, 2009, 1:55 pm

    Who needs money to buy happiness, if you can win this book for free!

  • Avatar Ed June 30, 2009, 1:56 pm

    54 with 4 kids “under” 8….I need it,don’t you think??? :)

  • Avatar Kathryn June 30, 2009, 1:59 pm

    Sounds like my kind of book! Count me in.

  • Avatar Jeff June 30, 2009, 2:00 pm

    Could this be my next read?

  • Avatar Chris June 30, 2009, 2:02 pm

    Yay books!

  • Avatar Lakedweller June 30, 2009, 2:06 pm

    This reminds me of the Be-Do-Have cycle I learned ten years ago from a good friend named Netra.

  • Avatar Paul Huynh June 30, 2009, 2:10 pm

    I would love a copy of this book.

  • Avatar Vince June 30, 2009, 2:11 pm

    Count me in for happiness please!

  • Avatar Davina June 30, 2009, 2:12 pm

    Enter me, please!

  • Avatar InstruMike June 30, 2009, 2:24 pm

    Sounds Interesting

  • Avatar Stephanie June 30, 2009, 2:25 pm

    Cant wait to win.

  • Avatar CSW June 30, 2009, 2:37 pm

    Happiness comes from daily yoga, a balanced life and harmony with nature.

  • Avatar Angela June 30, 2009, 2:39 pm

    I started this book and found it interesting, but had to give it back to it’s owner.

  • Avatar Mark June 30, 2009, 2:43 pm

    Please count me in.

  • Avatar Audree June 30, 2009, 3:01 pm

    i am reevaluating my life goals and career, I could definitely use this book!

  • Avatar Rick June 30, 2009, 3:02 pm

    Ben-Shahar seems like an interesting fellow.
    Wouldn’t mind trying his meditations/exercises

  • Avatar walk June 30, 2009, 3:11 pm

    A free book would be nice!

  • Avatar WM June 30, 2009, 3:13 pm

    Looks like a great read.

  • Avatar Mike June 30, 2009, 3:16 pm

    Sounds interesting. Sign me up!

  • Avatar judy June 30, 2009, 3:24 pm

    I need this book for good friend who thinks he need no goals, no plans–just deal w/whatever is or “happens”! A little frustrating.

  • Avatar JJ June 30, 2009, 3:33 pm

    Sounds like an interesting read, please enter me into the contest!

  • Avatar Greg June 30, 2009, 3:35 pm

    Oh. Oh. Pick me! :)

  • Avatar tsiko June 30, 2009, 3:37 pm

    Be happy!

  • Avatar Heather June 30, 2009, 3:47 pm

    Giveaways of cool stuff make me happy. Thanks for the entries!

  • Avatar Nichole June 30, 2009, 3:51 pm

    Sounds like a good read!

  • Avatar PC June 30, 2009, 4:08 pm

    I need to be Happier too!

  • Avatar chris June 30, 2009, 4:17 pm

    sign me up!

  • Avatar GTP June 30, 2009, 4:23 pm

    Looks interesting to me !

  • Avatar Qman June 30, 2009, 4:58 pm

    thanks

  • Avatar Kelly Clark June 30, 2009, 4:59 pm

    I agree with the author that happiness, not wealth, is what we should gage our success by.

  • Avatar Erick June 30, 2009, 5:02 pm

    Sign me up!

  • Avatar Ray C June 30, 2009, 5:08 pm

    Sounds like a great read, seeing as wealth doesn’t always equal happiness.

  • Avatar Kelle June 30, 2009, 5:16 pm

    …and Lasting Fulfillment. Sounds like an idea worth exploring.

  • Avatar Alexis June 30, 2009, 5:27 pm

    Count me in!

  • Avatar E. Tarrant June 30, 2009, 5:59 pm

    Pick me!!! Pick me!!!!!

  • Avatar Shaun June 30, 2009, 6:12 pm

    I would like to read this book!

  • Avatar PAC June 30, 2009, 6:13 pm

    happy times, its almost Canada day

  • Avatar Rebecca June 30, 2009, 6:18 pm

    I want to be happy :)

  • Avatar cbird June 30, 2009, 6:43 pm

    Sounds like an excellent read for the summer.

  • Avatar Jim June 30, 2009, 6:48 pm

    Happiness is…. a free book!

  • Avatar Tin June 30, 2009, 6:52 pm

    Count me in!

  • Avatar iamphysio June 30, 2009, 7:06 pm

    Always in pursuit of happiness. Thanks.

  • Avatar Andrew June 30, 2009, 7:17 pm

    Me too

  • Avatar Candace June 30, 2009, 8:48 pm

    Don’t worry be happy :)

  • Avatar Mark in Nepean June 30, 2009, 8:49 pm

    I want to read this book FT. Count me in!

  • Avatar Dane June 30, 2009, 9:18 pm

    I’ve read a few of these books over the past couple of years and they’ve been really eye-opening … would be interested to see what this one says!

  • Avatar Ryan June 30, 2009, 9:36 pm

    Sounds like a good read.

  • Avatar Darry June 30, 2009, 10:59 pm

    A free book would make me happier.

  • Avatar TheRoadtoMeaning June 30, 2009, 11:08 pm

    This book sounds really good! Count me in please!

  • Avatar Brendan June 30, 2009, 11:24 pm

    comment

  • Avatar Brennan June 30, 2009, 11:32 pm

    I’m in.

  • Avatar Marcin July 1, 2009, 12:15 am

    Sounds like a good read, I`m really interested in the psyhology and power of the mind studies (why the heck did I become an accountant?)

  • Avatar Heather S July 1, 2009, 12:25 am

    I’d love to win, enter me pretty please!

  • Avatar MarsCat July 1, 2009, 12:26 am

    Books books books! I like books!

  • Avatar Peter W July 1, 2009, 12:32 am

    Could not be happier right now;

    But you might prove me wrong, if you give me the book!

    Thanks!

  • Avatar Ron July 1, 2009, 12:34 am

    I’ld like the book as well. I hope i get lucky.

  • Avatar Lucie July 1, 2009, 12:41 am

    HAPPY CANADA DAY! I’d be “HAPPY” to read a “HAPPIER” book.

    P.S. – Excellent site you have here and thanks for all the great info!

  • Avatar Derek July 1, 2009, 12:51 am

    I like the sound of sharing happiness for free . thanks MHP and MDJ.

    DH

  • Avatar Terri July 1, 2009, 1:00 am

    I look forward to reading this book, whether I win a copy or not! :)

  • Avatar Justin July 1, 2009, 1:13 am

    Can’t wait to be happier!

  • Avatar AL July 1, 2009, 1:27 am

    Excellent book to add to my library!!

  • Avatar Paul S July 1, 2009, 1:35 am

    Wow, many more people leaving comments than I thought there would be. Thanks for the review.

  • Avatar Sam July 1, 2009, 2:05 am

    It is said that “Happiness is a state of Mind!”. I wonder what Dr. Tal Ben-Shahar has to enlighten us even more. I would love to get a chance to read his book.

  • Avatar Dianne M July 1, 2009, 9:34 am

    20% of all graduates attend his class? I ‘d like to read what he has to say too.
    Happy Canada Day!

  • Avatar Nancy Urekar July 1, 2009, 11:19 am

    I’m pretty happy – could I be happier?

  • Avatar Neil F July 1, 2009, 1:07 pm

    Make me happy!

  • Avatar Mike July 1, 2009, 4:01 pm

    Would love a copy

  • Avatar Garry July 1, 2009, 4:48 pm

    I am always happy – but why not more!

  • Avatar Henry July 1, 2009, 4:54 pm

    I need the book!!!

  • Avatar RS July 1, 2009, 9:09 pm

    Would love a copy

  • Avatar Marina July 1, 2009, 10:03 pm

    Thanks!

  • Avatar Mary-Anne July 1, 2009, 10:22 pm

    Sounds like a great read from a great author!

  • Avatar lindahfx July 1, 2009, 10:39 pm

    Definitely something I would love to read right now!

  • Avatar Jay July 2, 2009, 1:14 am

    I’d love to read this book.

  • Avatar Matt July 2, 2009, 2:59 am

    Sounds like a good read!

  • Avatar Miller July 2, 2009, 8:13 am

    Sounds like a cool book….maybe i’ll win a copy

  • Avatar Barik July 2, 2009, 12:59 pm

    Would like to get a copy

    Thanks

  • Avatar Julie July 2, 2009, 1:29 pm

    I’d love to have a copy.
    Thanks

  • Avatar Chris July 2, 2009, 2:14 pm

    Sounds great!

  • Avatar Deborah July 2, 2009, 4:05 pm

    You might also want to check out “The Happiness Project” blog.

  • Avatar Subversive July 2, 2009, 6:00 pm

    Hi, sign me up. :)

  • Avatar Neeraj July 3, 2009, 12:42 pm

    Please count me in.

  • Avatar pauline July 3, 2009, 5:01 pm

    i would love a copy of the book