≡ Menu

Book Review and Giveaway: Happier

Today’s book review is a bit different than the typical book about finance, but just as relevant in my eyes.  A New York Times best seller, Happier – Learning the Secrets to Daily Joy and Lasting Fulfillment, is written by Tal Ben-Shahar who happens to be a Harvard Professor on Positive Psychology – and teaches Harvard’s most popular course.

About the Author:

According to the book:

Tal Ben-Shahar, Ph.D., is one of Harvard University’s most popular lecturers. He has been profiled on NPR and featured on CNN, CBS, in the New York Times and the Boston Globe.  His classes attract 20% of all Harvard graduates.  Ben-Shahar graduated from Harvard with a degree in philosophy and psychology.  For the last ten years, he has been teaching personal and organizational excellence, leadership, ethics, and self-esteem.

About the Book

Happier is about finding meaning and fulfillment in life, something which I have written about before.  They teach that when you learn how to live for the present and future at the same time, it brings true enjoyment and life fulfillment.

The book is separated into 3 sections:

  1. What is Happiness? – That is the question that a lot of us have.  Ben-Shahar goes through the debate and gives us his definition of happiness.  He explains happiness as the ultimate currency (not money) and how important it is to have self-concordant goals.
  2. Happiness Applied – Here the author applies his theories on happiness in education, the workplace, and in relationships.
  3. Meditations on Happiness – Various meditations and exercises that you can do to help you find what brings you happiness and fulfillment.

Final Thoughts

In my opinion, this was a great book for those of you looking for a little more out of life.  I especially enjoyed the section on setting goals along with the various exercises to enhance happiness.

Want a Free Copy?

McGraw-Hill was generous in offering Million Dollar Journey readers the chance to win 2 copies of the book.  The details are below:

  1. Simply leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered in the draw for a free copy.
  2. All email subscribers will receive an additional entry (privacy).
  • Please only 1 comment entry / person (please enter a valid email address).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Friday 5pm EST July 3, 2009 and the winner announced shortly after!
If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free newsletter service below (we will not spam you).

FT About the author: FT is the founder and editor of Million Dollar Journey (est. 2006). Through various financial strategies outlined on this site, he grew his net worth from $200,000 in 2006 to $1,000,000 by 2014. You can read more about him here.

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Ramona June 30, 2009, 8:31 am

    I can always afford to be “Happier”
    Thanks!

  • Ms. Jones June 30, 2009, 8:35 am

    I’ve got a whole family here eager to be happier. Bring it on!

  • Bill M June 30, 2009, 8:58 am

    I would be HAPPY to have this book !

  • Millionaireby45 June 30, 2009, 9:36 am

    Sounds like a good read.

  • Steve - Montreal June 30, 2009, 9:45 am

    Hey who doesn’t want to be Happier?? Please place my name into the pot.

  • lana June 30, 2009, 10:09 am

    I would be happier if I got to read this book.

  • Paolo June 30, 2009, 10:17 am

    Happy happy happy.

  • Kelsey June 30, 2009, 10:18 am

    I would love to read this book. Thanks!

  • Ben June 30, 2009, 10:31 am

    Sounds like a good summer read!

  • Chris June 30, 2009, 10:31 am

    Count me in!

  • Mike Fuellbrandt June 30, 2009, 10:42 am

    I could always use more “happy” in my life.

  • Sampson June 30, 2009, 10:43 am

    Me Please!

  • Finance_Addict June 30, 2009, 10:51 am

    Thanks.

  • David Tam June 30, 2009, 10:52 am

    The title of the book makes me Happier in the heart.

  • Melanie June 30, 2009, 10:54 am

    I would love to know how to make all my relationships happier in some way!

  • Cisco Kid June 30, 2009, 10:56 am

    I truely need to find the secret to happyness, I think I should buy this book even if I don’t win. I feel like I have so many things to be happy for, but yet, I am not…

  • STCLOW June 30, 2009, 11:00 am

    I look forward to being Happier, this book would come at a perfect time…

  • JasonM June 30, 2009, 11:04 am

    Thanks

  • R I June 30, 2009, 11:31 am

    Funny – I used to be very happy all the time, but now I’m less so. Could this book have the answer to get it back?

  • Nick June 30, 2009, 11:31 am

    Sounds like an interesting read!

  • Oil Baron June 30, 2009, 11:33 am

    Excellent idea for a book.

  • Harv June 30, 2009, 11:36 am

    Pick me please…LOL!

  • fdum11 June 30, 2009, 11:37 am

    i want the secret to a happy life

  • Michael June 30, 2009, 11:39 am

    I would love a copy of this book!

  • SD June 30, 2009, 11:39 am

    I would love to learn how to be happier!

  • Thaily June 30, 2009, 11:40 am

    mas feliz. Does Spanish count?
    I’m in… Thaily

  • Carol June 30, 2009, 11:41 am

    Well now, who wouldn’t want to be HAPPIER?! Thanks for the contest……

  • karash June 30, 2009, 11:42 am

    I WOULD LOVE TO BE HAPPIER…!

  • casey5 June 30, 2009, 11:43 am

    Count me in!

  • Mike June 30, 2009, 11:44 am

    I’m a pretty happy guy, but you can always be happier.

  • Rick June 30, 2009, 11:44 am

    Love and Happiness seem to go together . Count me in .

  • Kathy S. June 30, 2009, 11:46 am

    I definitely need to be “happier”. :)

  • Jimmy June 30, 2009, 11:46 am

    would like to read this

  • Cara June 30, 2009, 11:47 am

    Happieness is often all about perception!

  • scott June 30, 2009, 11:48 am

    Happiness is a state of mind, the problem is the current state your mind is in…..

  • hjincalgary June 30, 2009, 11:49 am

    Happiness – do something kind each day……..find joy in the little things in life, and appreciate what you have – good health, family and integrity

  • Sandra June 30, 2009, 11:49 am

    Yes …. a positive approach to getting more out of life! Thanks for bringing this book to my attention. Hope I’m one of the lucky two.

  • Tish June 30, 2009, 11:53 am

    This is a road I’d like to travel down……………….

  • Florence June 30, 2009, 11:54 am

    Very wise! I’d love to read this book!

  • cannon_fodder June 30, 2009, 11:54 am

    I am happy in the present, and I will be happier in the future if I would win.

  • Aaron June 30, 2009, 11:55 am

    Sounds great! Count me in.

  • ashley June 30, 2009, 11:57 am

    Sounds like a great book. Thanks for the chance to win one!!

  • Daniel Morel June 30, 2009, 11:58 am

    What me worry? Nah, Just be Happy!

  • Terry June 30, 2009, 11:59 am

    Thanks.

  • Maria June 30, 2009, 11:59 am

    This is all I could wish for after receiving the finality of marriage annulment last month – HAPPIER!

  • Narajin June 30, 2009, 12:03 pm

    Interesting book. I’d like to get one.

  • Sophie June 30, 2009, 12:04 pm

    generally a happy person, but losing my job and my mother within a couple of months has been tough, I could definitely use this!

  • Tom June 30, 2009, 12:06 pm

    Bobbie McFerron (sp?) comes to mind. Don’t worry, be happy!

  • allawi17 June 30, 2009, 12:06 pm

    me want book

  • Kirk June 30, 2009, 12:15 pm

    Sounds like a good topic. I was wondering what I could buy with my Chapter’s gift card.

  • Nora June 30, 2009, 12:16 pm

    Sounds like a great book…Happiness is what it is all about!

  • JamieV June 30, 2009, 12:18 pm

    Looks to be an interesting read.

  • Robbie K June 30, 2009, 12:18 pm

    Please add my entry to the pot.

  • Kippan June 30, 2009, 12:20 pm

    Count me in for a chance!

  • ryan June 30, 2009, 12:30 pm

    I could use this book about now.

  • Ali June 30, 2009, 12:31 pm

    Count me in!!

  • Suzanne June 30, 2009, 12:32 pm

    I’d like a copy.

  • bill ruus June 30, 2009, 12:39 pm

    Great self education, would love a copy

  • Maiku June 30, 2009, 12:39 pm

    Sounds like a good read.

  • Edouard S June 30, 2009, 12:40 pm

    Another wonderful book on happiness is ”what happy people know” which can be found at all serious book outlets. Indigo, Amazon, B&N, etc… Thanks for the info FT.

  • Matt June 30, 2009, 12:40 pm

    Participated in every raffle for last 1 year, hopefully this is my lucky chance :)

  • Cori June 30, 2009, 12:42 pm

    Sounds like a good book…I’d like to read it!

  • Susan June 30, 2009, 12:42 pm

    Thanks for the offer and for introducing the book. It made me ponder the meaning of ‘happy’ and ‘happier’. It will be interesting to read Dr. Ben-Shahar’s views.

  • Triple_Eh June 30, 2009, 12:42 pm

    Would like a copy!

  • telefantastik June 30, 2009, 12:49 pm

    Count me in!

  • NoDebtGuy June 30, 2009, 12:58 pm

    Would love a copy!

  • Sarah June 30, 2009, 1:01 pm

    I want this book!

  • RI June 30, 2009, 1:01 pm

    It would definitely a daily joy if I can get the book!

  • abcstocks June 30, 2009, 1:01 pm

    Please count me in….

  • canucktuary June 30, 2009, 1:02 pm

    count me in

  • Genius Boy June 30, 2009, 1:06 pm

    I attended Tal’s courses and lectures when I was at Harvard, and I must say he’s a great lecturer. Interesting, provocative, and funny at the same time. His book is really an incredibly fun read.

    MDJ: I don’t need a copy of the book, since I’ve read it, but it really is a great read for those of you, who want a more positive view of life

  • Blogging Banks June 30, 2009, 1:08 pm

    Sign me up and Pick me! ;-)

  • Jenny June 30, 2009, 1:17 pm

    I am looking forward to reading this book…thanks for bringing it to my attention.

  • Terri June 30, 2009, 1:20 pm

    Sounds like a great summer read!

  • Bryce June 30, 2009, 1:20 pm

    I could use a happy book to read on holidays!

  • cdc979 June 30, 2009, 1:25 pm

    I need all the happiness help I can get!

  • Frugalgirl June 30, 2009, 1:27 pm

    I believe the outlook on life is not how much you have in terms of many or stuf but how happy you are

  • Craig June 30, 2009, 1:27 pm

    Would be happy to read it

  • Steve Zussino June 30, 2009, 1:28 pm

    I enjoy reading about happiness!

  • Alex June 30, 2009, 1:30 pm

    I’m in

  • gexter June 30, 2009, 1:31 pm

    I could always use an extra dose of HAPPY!

  • allyson fleck June 30, 2009, 1:39 pm

    Don’t worry, Be Happy – I strive to live by this.

  • Patricia June 30, 2009, 1:40 pm

    Sounds like a great summer read.

  • bob June 30, 2009, 1:41 pm

    I am sad… please make me happy!

  • Mo June 30, 2009, 1:46 pm

    I would love to win a copy of this book!

  • Bob June 30, 2009, 1:47 pm

    Free books make me happy.

  • K June 30, 2009, 1:48 pm

    Everyone beat me to the plays on “happy”… if I read this book, would I learn how to be happy with that idea?

  • Elbyron June 30, 2009, 1:55 pm

    Who needs money to buy happiness, if you can win this book for free!

  • Ed June 30, 2009, 1:56 pm

    54 with 4 kids “under” 8….I need it,don’t you think??? :)

  • Kathryn June 30, 2009, 1:59 pm

    Sounds like my kind of book! Count me in.

  • Jeff June 30, 2009, 2:00 pm

    Could this be my next read?

  • Chris June 30, 2009, 2:02 pm

    Yay books!

  • Lakedweller June 30, 2009, 2:06 pm

    This reminds me of the Be-Do-Have cycle I learned ten years ago from a good friend named Netra.

  • Paul Huynh June 30, 2009, 2:10 pm

    I would love a copy of this book.

  • Vince June 30, 2009, 2:11 pm

    Count me in for happiness please!

  • Davina June 30, 2009, 2:12 pm

    Enter me, please!

  • InstruMike June 30, 2009, 2:24 pm

    Sounds Interesting

  • Stephanie June 30, 2009, 2:25 pm

    Cant wait to win.

  • CSW June 30, 2009, 2:37 pm

    Happiness comes from daily yoga, a balanced life and harmony with nature.

  • Angela June 30, 2009, 2:39 pm

    I started this book and found it interesting, but had to give it back to it’s owner.

  • Mark June 30, 2009, 2:43 pm

    Please count me in.

  • Audree June 30, 2009, 3:01 pm

    i am reevaluating my life goals and career, I could definitely use this book!

  • Rick June 30, 2009, 3:02 pm

    Ben-Shahar seems like an interesting fellow.
    Wouldn’t mind trying his meditations/exercises

  • walk June 30, 2009, 3:11 pm

    A free book would be nice!

  • WM June 30, 2009, 3:13 pm

    Looks like a great read.

  • Mike June 30, 2009, 3:16 pm

    Sounds interesting. Sign me up!

  • judy June 30, 2009, 3:24 pm

    I need this book for good friend who thinks he need no goals, no plans–just deal w/whatever is or “happens”! A little frustrating.

  • JJ June 30, 2009, 3:33 pm

    Sounds like an interesting read, please enter me into the contest!

  • Greg June 30, 2009, 3:35 pm

    Oh. Oh. Pick me! :)

  • tsiko June 30, 2009, 3:37 pm

    Be happy!

  • Heather June 30, 2009, 3:47 pm

    Giveaways of cool stuff make me happy. Thanks for the entries!

  • Nichole June 30, 2009, 3:51 pm

    Sounds like a good read!

  • PC June 30, 2009, 4:08 pm

    I need to be Happier too!

  • chris June 30, 2009, 4:17 pm

    sign me up!

  • GTP June 30, 2009, 4:23 pm

    Looks interesting to me !

  • Qman June 30, 2009, 4:58 pm

    thanks

  • Kelly Clark June 30, 2009, 4:59 pm

    I agree with the author that happiness, not wealth, is what we should gage our success by.

  • Erick June 30, 2009, 5:02 pm

    Sign me up!

  • Ray C June 30, 2009, 5:08 pm

    Sounds like a great read, seeing as wealth doesn’t always equal happiness.

  • Kelle June 30, 2009, 5:16 pm

    …and Lasting Fulfillment. Sounds like an idea worth exploring.

  • Alexis June 30, 2009, 5:27 pm

    Count me in!

  • E. Tarrant June 30, 2009, 5:59 pm

    Pick me!!! Pick me!!!!!

  • Shaun June 30, 2009, 6:12 pm

    I would like to read this book!

  • PAC June 30, 2009, 6:13 pm

    happy times, its almost Canada day

  • Rebecca June 30, 2009, 6:18 pm

    I want to be happy :)

  • cbird June 30, 2009, 6:43 pm

    Sounds like an excellent read for the summer.

  • Jim June 30, 2009, 6:48 pm

    Happiness is…. a free book!

  • Tin June 30, 2009, 6:52 pm

    Count me in!

  • iamphysio June 30, 2009, 7:06 pm

    Always in pursuit of happiness. Thanks.

  • Andrew June 30, 2009, 7:17 pm

    Me too

  • Candace June 30, 2009, 8:48 pm

    Don’t worry be happy :)

  • Mark in Nepean June 30, 2009, 8:49 pm

    I want to read this book FT. Count me in!

  • Dane June 30, 2009, 9:18 pm

    I’ve read a few of these books over the past couple of years and they’ve been really eye-opening … would be interested to see what this one says!

  • Ryan June 30, 2009, 9:36 pm

    Sounds like a good read.

  • Darry June 30, 2009, 10:59 pm

    A free book would make me happier.

  • TheRoadtoMeaning June 30, 2009, 11:08 pm

    This book sounds really good! Count me in please!

  • Brendan June 30, 2009, 11:24 pm

    comment

  • Brennan June 30, 2009, 11:32 pm

    I’m in.

  • Marcin July 1, 2009, 12:15 am

    Sounds like a good read, I`m really interested in the psyhology and power of the mind studies (why the heck did I become an accountant?)

  • Heather S July 1, 2009, 12:25 am

    I’d love to win, enter me pretty please!

  • MarsCat July 1, 2009, 12:26 am

    Books books books! I like books!

  • Peter W July 1, 2009, 12:32 am

    Could not be happier right now;

    But you might prove me wrong, if you give me the book!

    Thanks!

  • Ron July 1, 2009, 12:34 am

    I’ld like the book as well. I hope i get lucky.

  • Lucie July 1, 2009, 12:41 am

    HAPPY CANADA DAY! I’d be “HAPPY” to read a “HAPPIER” book.

    P.S. – Excellent site you have here and thanks for all the great info!

  • Derek July 1, 2009, 12:51 am

    I like the sound of sharing happiness for free . thanks MHP and MDJ.

    DH

  • Terri July 1, 2009, 1:00 am

    I look forward to reading this book, whether I win a copy or not! :)

  • Justin July 1, 2009, 1:13 am

    Can’t wait to be happier!

  • AL July 1, 2009, 1:27 am

    Excellent book to add to my library!!

  • Paul S July 1, 2009, 1:35 am

    Wow, many more people leaving comments than I thought there would be. Thanks for the review.

  • Sam July 1, 2009, 2:05 am

    It is said that “Happiness is a state of Mind!”. I wonder what Dr. Tal Ben-Shahar has to enlighten us even more. I would love to get a chance to read his book.

  • Dianne M July 1, 2009, 9:34 am

    20% of all graduates attend his class? I ‘d like to read what he has to say too.
    Happy Canada Day!

  • Nancy Urekar July 1, 2009, 11:19 am

    I’m pretty happy – could I be happier?

  • Neil F July 1, 2009, 1:07 pm

    Make me happy!

  • Mike July 1, 2009, 4:01 pm

    Would love a copy

  • Garry July 1, 2009, 4:48 pm

    I am always happy – but why not more!

  • Henry July 1, 2009, 4:54 pm

    I need the book!!!

  • RS July 1, 2009, 9:09 pm

    Would love a copy

  • Marina July 1, 2009, 10:03 pm

    Thanks!

  • Mary-Anne July 1, 2009, 10:22 pm

    Sounds like a great read from a great author!

  • lindahfx July 1, 2009, 10:39 pm

    Definitely something I would love to read right now!

  • Jay July 2, 2009, 1:14 am

    I’d love to read this book.

  • Matt July 2, 2009, 2:59 am

    Sounds like a good read!

  • Miller July 2, 2009, 8:13 am

    Sounds like a cool book….maybe i’ll win a copy

  • Barik July 2, 2009, 12:59 pm

    Would like to get a copy

    Thanks

  • Julie July 2, 2009, 1:29 pm

    I’d love to have a copy.
    Thanks

  • Chris July 2, 2009, 2:14 pm

    Sounds great!

  • Deborah July 2, 2009, 4:05 pm

    You might also want to check out “The Happiness Project” blog.

  • Subversive July 2, 2009, 6:00 pm

    Hi, sign me up. :)

  • Neeraj July 3, 2009, 12:42 pm

    Please count me in.

  • pauline July 3, 2009, 5:01 pm

    i would love a copy of the book