≡ Menu

Book Review and Giveaway: Does Your Bag Have Holes?

Seems that the book reviews are getting popular with publishers! Cameron C. Taylor, a multimillionaire businessman and author, contacted me to do a book review of his newest project: Does Your Bag Have Holes? 24 Truths that Lead to Financial and Spiritual Freedom. This book takes a look at the underlying principles and choices of prosperity with a spiritual/Christian twist.

Who is the author?

This is what the books website has to say about the author Cameron C. Taylor:

Cameron began writing books and learning to speed read while in college. By his senior year, Cameron was a published author and was reading at a rate of over 3,000 words a minute. Upon graduating with honors in business, he began his entrepreneurial career and founded several companies. He took one of his companies from an idea to over $1 million in revenue in its second year and then grew the business to over $10 million in revenue its fifth year. He is currently the president of three organizations: The Ladder to Success Corporation—a for-profit marketing consulting company; the Claim Your Victory Corporation, a for-profit company involved in the exploration for oil and natural gas resources; and the Does Your Bag Have Holes? Foundation, an educational charity. In addition to his business successes, Cameron has served in an overseas missionary ministry and is currently a volunteer pastor. He is a recipient of the Circle of Honor Award for being an “exceptional example of honor, integrity, and commitment.”

What the book is about?

The book goes through 4 principles and 6 choices of prosperity. Within each principle and choice of prosperity, there are myths explained with a truth at the end of each chapter.

The 4 Principles of Prosperity Include:

  1. Our Creator Gives us all Good Things
  2. Liberty is Given to All Men by our Creator
  3. Consequences are the Results of Our Choices
  4. Government is Created by the People to Protect our God Given Rights

The 6 Choices of Prosperity Include:

  1. Blame or Responsibility
  2. Pride or Humility
  3. Hypocrisy or Integrity
  4. Idleness or Industry
  5. Debt or Ownership
  6. Greed or Charity

The Good and The Bad

I enjoy books that come with CD’s. This book in particular came with an audio CD which summarized the main points of the book. A cliff notes of sorts. I also appreciate reading books from authors who have “made it” themselves in addition to giving us the principles and values that they believe in.

Since the book has a spirituality portion of the book, it has a fairly strong Christian flavor. This is not necessarily a bad thing, but might not be the best read for those who aren’t religious.

What did I learn the most from this book?

As a passive Christian, I learned a bit about the bible and some of its monetary/principle based interpretations. I must say that I’ve found some of the passages very interesting, perhaps interesting enough to pick up the new testament to read myself.

Be Teachable: “Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise. ” – Proverbs 19:20, New International Version

Doing Our Personal Best: “Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might.” Ecclesiates 9:10, New International Version

Want a free copy?

  • Simply leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered in the draw for a free copy.
  • Please only 1 comment entry / person (please enter a valid email address).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Thursday 5pm EST May 15, 2008 and the winner announced shortly afterwards!

Find out how you can save an additional 4% on this book from Chapters.

Update:  Entries are now closed.

-> If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free newsletter service below (we will not spam you).

FT About the author: FT is the founder and editor of Million Dollar Journey (est. 2006). Through various financial strategies outlined on this site, he grew his net worth from $200,000 in 2006 to $1,000,000 by 2014. You can read more about him here.

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • The Financial Blogger May 13, 2008, 8:18 am

    Interesting principles. I guess that if you are able to link your faith to your financial habits, you might become very wealthy. Most of the time, people failed their financial plan because they give it up.

    The Christian twist maybe the sparkle that will lit up the motivation to another level… who knows?

  • cbez May 13, 2008, 9:04 am

    This book sounds like a very interesting read! Thanks for posting it.

  • Laura May 13, 2008, 9:05 am

    This book looks great! Thanks for a great blog.

  • Debt_Free_in_5 May 13, 2008, 9:22 am

    I would love a copy

  • Colleen May 13, 2008, 9:31 am

    The title is great. You gave us insight into the moral aspects of the book and I’m looking forward to learning if the author has anything to add to the basics of personal finance.

  • Gloria May 13, 2008, 10:06 am

    This book sounds interesting. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  • David May 13, 2008, 10:30 am

    Your post caught my attention! I am always on the look out for resources that integrate faith with real life. This book sounds like it might just fit the bill.

  • Joshua May 13, 2008, 10:52 am

    I’m an active Christian and would love to learn, in more detail, what the bible says about investing and finances in general! Sign me up for a W!

  • rab May 13, 2008, 10:54 am

    Always interested in financial info from a spiritual perspective. Thanks for the review.

  • DRA May 13, 2008, 11:02 am

    Well the title certainly catches your attention! Especially since I am heading to be vasectomized at 230 today!! [no, I’m not kidding!!!]

    Good to see another Christian book about finance. You may wanna check out http://www.financialfoundations.com

  • MAC May 13, 2008, 11:05 am

    Great review, count me in for a free copy!

    MAC

  • AP May 13, 2008, 11:38 am

    Thanks for the review. It has definitely peaked my interest. Would love to read it.

  • Elaine Tarrant May 13, 2008, 11:40 am

    Can’t wait to read it!

  • Daniel May 13, 2008, 11:46 am

    If I win can I get another title?

  • Oscar May 13, 2008, 11:49 am

    I would like to read this book.
    Thanks.

  • Digger May 13, 2008, 11:51 am

    You don’t see many books that link finances and faith. I guess people are afraid to talk about both of these things with their friends. I’m glad that someone has written this book. It looks like an interesting one.

  • Blitzkrieg May 13, 2008, 11:56 am

    Looks like an interesting take on finance, and the link to faith might actually be enough to get my wife to read a financial book!

  • Elizabeth May 13, 2008, 12:02 pm

    Sounds interesting…. I’d love to have a read.

  • Ringo May 13, 2008, 12:08 pm

    Hope that I won’t find many (and big) holes in my own bags after reading the book!

  • Geoff May 13, 2008, 12:40 pm

    That title is nice reminder for me:

    No matter how much you make – if you’ve got holes in your bag, over time you’re gonna be penniless.

    Count me in for the draw! :)

  • Yuriy May 13, 2008, 12:46 pm

    Very interesting! I would like to read about prospoerity principles derived from Christian texts.

  • Hank May 13, 2008, 1:23 pm

    Sounds like an interesting book

  • Acint May 13, 2008, 1:23 pm

    I like to get a free copy. Book sounds interesting but I don’t know if religion and finance can be mixed together.

  • Jonathan May 13, 2008, 1:42 pm

    The Bible has over 2,300 passages relating specifically to money, wealth and possessions. It is more than worth your while to dig into it a little. The info is priceless.

    Thanks for the book offer. I’d love to get a copy.

  • Chad May 13, 2008, 1:47 pm

    count me in for the draw

  • Andrew May 13, 2008, 2:11 pm

    Sounds like a great book! I’d like to be entered in the drawing.

  • David May 13, 2008, 3:35 pm

    Sounds like a good book, and an interesting “movie” name if you know what I mean…. wink wink

  • JME May 13, 2008, 4:41 pm

    Sounds like an interesting book

  • Brenna May 13, 2008, 6:37 pm

    Sounds good to me. Count me in

  • Mai May 13, 2008, 7:18 pm

    I’am in for the poll :)

  • Marc May 13, 2008, 7:52 pm

    I would love to see what this book has to say.

  • Tina May 13, 2008, 7:59 pm

    I am intrigued as it sounds like a very different take on the usual financial advice. Please count me in for the draw!

  • Mike May 13, 2008, 8:58 pm

    I saw a review of this book elsewhere and thought it looked interesting – count me in!

  • Triple_Eh May 13, 2008, 9:46 pm

    Would like to read this! Thanks for the opportunity!

  • guinness416 May 13, 2008, 11:46 pm

    I read the excerpts over at FMF’s blog, and it’s odd to me how the US-style Christianity is so different from the Catholic culture I grew up with in Ireland. But I’m always up for being outraged, so please drop my name in the hat.

  • heather May 14, 2008, 12:15 am

    I enjoy reading your blog – this book looks interesting!!

  • AndrewP May 14, 2008, 12:26 am

    Financial AND spiritual…sounds like a good combination!

  • Elvis K May 14, 2008, 1:16 am

    As a passive Christian myself, this looks like a great read, I’ll enter.

    Great site FT, I just started reading about a month ago, and I only subscribe to 3 sites and MDJ is one of ’em. Keep it up.

  • Jill May 14, 2008, 2:17 am

    I love reading financial books as well as spiritual ones… this would be an interesting read!

    I checked the local library and it’s not yet available, so please count me in the for the draw!

  • Mihai May 14, 2008, 2:31 am

    I’d like to read the book.

  • Michael_S May 14, 2008, 1:09 pm

    Please add me in. Thanks.

  • James May 14, 2008, 2:36 pm

    This looks interesting.

  • Bob May 14, 2008, 2:45 pm

    The book looks interesting. Great blog.

  • Anton May 14, 2008, 6:00 pm

    Great blog and book review… looks interesting, hope I win the book.

  • Henry May 14, 2008, 6:03 pm

    There are no passive Christians. You either live your faith or you don’t.

  • Elvis K May 15, 2008, 5:40 am

    Henry, relax. What I mean is, I believe in the principles of Christianity, but I don’t preach it to everyone I meet or talk to and I’m not at Church every Sunday.

    I don’t want to make this blog post about religion so lets get off that topic….It’s about a great book I want to read….I’m hoping for that book!!!

  • Dividend Growth Investor May 15, 2008, 1:09 pm

    Million Dollar Journey,

    Sign me up!

  • Kaitlin M May 15, 2008, 1:39 pm

    Fingers crossed…I’d love to read this.