≡ Menu

Book Review and Giveaway: 397 Ways to Save Money

It’s been a while since my last book review and giveaway.  This time around I have the pleasure of reviewing a book written by a fellow Canadian blogger, Kerry Taylor of Squawkfox.  The book is called 397 Ways to Save Money and it includes some great frugal tips that pretty much everyone can use.

About the Author

Kerry K. Taylor is the author of the book 397 Ways to Save Money – Spend Smarter & Live Well on Less and is the creator of Squawkfox.com, a blog that makes frugal living fun. Kerry is also a journalist and a two-time Ironman triathlon finisher.

By combining commonsense thrift with an average income, Kerry paid off her debt of $17,000 in just six months and has since saved a six-figure portfolio.

What is the Book About

As it’s apparent from the title, the book is about various ways to save money.  How does Kerry come up with 397 ways to cut back on the bills?  She goes through every room in the house (+ more) and comes up with some creative ways to keep more money in your pocket.

Kerry separates the book into four parts:

  1. Big Decisions – Here she goes through the trials and tribulations of renting, home ownership, and shopping.
  2. Home Management – Tips for home maintenance, energy conservation and cleaning.
  3. Room by Room – Kerry goes through each room in the house and gives us her frugal tips.
  4. More Ways to Save – Save money on vacations, pets and even some frugal recipes.

Even though I’ve been known to be frugal once or twice, here are some ideas that I found useful:

  • Value of organic food shopping –  As I’ve written about the value of organic food before, Kerry clarifies what is worth buying organic and what isn’t.  Basically, the more the food absorbs pesticides (like peaches), the more value the organic version brings.
  • Stains – How to cost effectively get stains out of clothing using common household items.
  • The Garden – How to create homemade weed killer using vinegar and dish detergent.  As well, the cost effectiveness of growing vegetables in a pot!

Final Thoughts

My thoughts?  This is a great book written by a fellow Canadian blogger and frugalist.  Kerry has listed numerous, and useful ideas that anyone can easily use to keep more cash in their pockets.

Interested in frugal tips?  Here are 25 ways that I save money.

Want a Free Copy?

Kerry was generous in offering Million Dollar Journey readers the chance to win 2 copies of her book.  The details are below:

  1. Simply leave a comment here and you’ll automatically be entered in the draw for a free copy.
  2. Follow me on Twitter for an entry.
  • Please only 1 comment entry / person (please enter a valid email address).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Friday 5pm EST June 5, 2009 and the winner announced shortly afterward!

Update: Entries are now closed!

-> If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free newsletter service below (we will not spam you).

FT About the author: FT is the founder and editor of Million Dollar Journey (est. 2006). Through various financial strategies outlined on this site, he grew his net worth from $200,000 in 2006 to $1,000,000 by 2014. You can read more about him here.

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Amit June 2, 2009, 8:28 am

    Count me in!

  • ross June 2, 2009, 8:36 am

    That is one more way to save money – “398 Ways to Save Money”

  • Lyne June 2, 2009, 8:53 am

    Please include me in the draw. Thanks!

  • The Reverend June 2, 2009, 9:25 am

    Looks like a book we could all benefit by reading. Thanks FT. Count me in.

  • Kevin June 2, 2009, 9:44 am

    Sounds good to me.

  • Victor June 2, 2009, 9:53 am

    Please count me in! Thanks!

    I’ve written a book on ways to greenify your life. Most tips will save you money immediately too. You can download it free here:
    http://greenifyyourlifebook.blogspot.com/

  • Frank June 2, 2009, 10:01 am

    Would love a copy, thanks!

  • sneeker June 2, 2009, 10:01 am

    Count me in too! (and i’m now following you on Twitter!)

  • Carolyn June 2, 2009, 10:06 am

    Love to find new ways to save $ & love to read. Thanks.

  • Mai June 2, 2009, 10:08 am

    I would love a copy :)

  • Father of Five June 2, 2009, 10:12 am

    I hope I win!

  • Jeff June 2, 2009, 10:13 am

    Great blog – thanks for the chance to win this book

  • Meredith June 2, 2009, 10:23 am

    This sounds like a great resource. Thanks for the draw!

  • Little Ms.Scrooge June 2, 2009, 10:34 am

    I enjoy her writings in the blog squawkfox. I would love to get my hands on it

    Litttle Ms.Scrooge

  • Caitlin June 2, 2009, 10:34 am

    I’d love a chance to win this great-sounding book – count me in!

    I’m also following you on Twitter (ClutterCubed)!

  • Finance_Addict June 2, 2009, 10:39 am

    Thanks.

  • lindahfx June 2, 2009, 10:49 am

    This sounds very interesting. Especially as I am about to be unemployed.

  • Blogging Banks June 2, 2009, 10:58 am

    Sing me up!

    Blogging Banks

  • MyLifeInBrampton June 2, 2009, 10:59 am

    Thanks for the tips.

  • Tanya Narzt June 2, 2009, 11:01 am

    Would love to receive this book. Sounds like some ideas I haven’t thought of or heard of might be there.

  • Kathryn June 2, 2009, 11:07 am

    I nearly ordered this on Amazon this week. Now I’ll wait to see if I win it first. :-)

  • Darren June 2, 2009, 11:08 am

    I’d love a copy. Thanks!

  • Larry June 2, 2009, 11:09 am

    It was Confucius that said “Teach a wise man a lesson, and he is yet wiser”

    I say “Teach a frugal man how to save more, and he will be yet richer”

  • Greg June 2, 2009, 11:12 am

    Sign me up

  • Mike Kolcun June 2, 2009, 11:18 am

    Please include me in the draw!

  • Millionaireby45 June 2, 2009, 11:21 am

    Sounds interesting.

  • Mark June 2, 2009, 11:28 am

    Free copy!

  • Nora June 2, 2009, 11:29 am

    I would love this book…I love Squawkfox’s website.

    Sorry…I think I posted twice…kinda new at this…

  • M Hawk June 2, 2009, 11:32 am

    Sign me up!

  • Alex June 2, 2009, 11:35 am

    Count me in.

  • Nick June 2, 2009, 11:38 am

    Count me in

  • Tom @ Canadian Finance Blog June 2, 2009, 11:39 am

    I was hoping to read this soon. Maybe I’ll win it?

  • Eric Starker June 2, 2009, 11:41 am

    I’d love a chance to win this – thanks!

  • Michelle June 2, 2009, 11:42 am

    Looks like an interesting book. Nice to see more Canadian stuff coming out.

  • Walk June 2, 2009, 11:43 am

    A free copy would be great!

  • Heather June 2, 2009, 11:43 am

    I’m also following you on Twitter – check out my new frugal Canadian blog if you have a sec – http://bunnymunny.blogspot.com/

    Thanks for a great blog!

  • Mike June 2, 2009, 11:43 am

    Sounds like a good book to have. I’m in!

  • Luc Richard June 2, 2009, 11:44 am

    The book looks interesting. Count me in. Thanks

  • Erika June 2, 2009, 11:44 am

    Looks like a great book. Can’t wait to read it!

  • Alexis June 2, 2009, 11:45 am

    Please include me in the draw. Thanks!

  • Erika June 2, 2009, 11:46 am

    Looks like a great book. I can’t wait to read it!

  • Denyse Beaulieu June 2, 2009, 11:46 am

    Pease enter me in the draw, I would love to read this book!

    Thanks!

  • sebastien mills June 2, 2009, 11:47 am

    could use some sound advice ;)

  • casey5 June 2, 2009, 11:47 am

    Count me in! Thx.

  • alice June 2, 2009, 11:48 am

    I would love to read the book.

  • Jenny June 2, 2009, 11:50 am

    Sounds like a good book, hope you send a copy my way ;)

  • Jason June 2, 2009, 11:50 am

    I’d love a copy of the book. Followed you on twitter too :).

  • Tish June 2, 2009, 11:54 am

    I have been waiting for such a book!!!

  • Naumko June 2, 2009, 11:55 am

    Count me in!

  • Digger June 2, 2009, 11:57 am

    Always looking for more ways to save money!

  • Carol Ann June 2, 2009, 11:59 am

    Enjoy your info so much and appreciate the chance to win this great book! Thanks so much

  • karash June 2, 2009, 12:06 pm

    I WOULD LOVE A FREE COPY :)

  • Squawkfox June 2, 2009, 12:06 pm

    Hey Frugal Trader!
    Thank you so much for your review! I’m so happy you enjoyed the book! I really did a lot of research, crunched the numbers, and did the math to show readers how much money can be saved with a particular tip.

  • doctor S June 2, 2009, 12:06 pm

    Only thing better than a copy of this book would be a free copy! No wammys!

  • Melanie Samson June 2, 2009, 12:07 pm

    Sounds great!

  • nobleea June 2, 2009, 12:08 pm

    Ditto to everyone above. Except squawkfox.

  • Marianne O June 2, 2009, 12:18 pm

    I can think of a lot of relatives who might be happy to get this book in their stockings this year! Now to figure out a way to negotiate a bulk discount. *grin*

  • Michael June 2, 2009, 12:19 pm

    Sign me up and let me read. Thanks for the entry.

  • ryan June 2, 2009, 12:22 pm

    VICTORY!

  • Rebecca June 2, 2009, 12:25 pm

    Would love to win!

  • Split June 2, 2009, 12:31 pm

    Count me in as well

  • K June 2, 2009, 12:33 pm

    LOVE Fox and her tips. You guys are both daily reads.

  • Colette Fournier June 2, 2009, 12:42 pm

    This book sounds good. Would love a copy!

  • Kevin K. June 2, 2009, 12:49 pm

    Frugal tip: win a great book! Thx!

  • DwellOn June 2, 2009, 12:50 pm

    me want book

  • Frugalgirl June 2, 2009, 12:53 pm

    Sign me up.
    I enjoy saving money and it’s interesting learning how others have saved and apply it to your life.

  • tom June 2, 2009, 12:56 pm

    count me in brosephs

  • sidekick June 2, 2009, 1:00 pm

    I’d like to be entered into the contest thanks!

  • steven June 2, 2009, 1:02 pm

    Please include me in the draw

  • Nate June 2, 2009, 1:04 pm

    Count me in!

  • luc June 2, 2009, 1:16 pm

    Me, me, me!

  • Elbyron June 2, 2009, 1:25 pm

    397 seems like a strange number to choose. Maybe I’ll find out why if I win a copy!

  • Cam Birch June 2, 2009, 1:26 pm

    Sign me up for the draw!

  • Chris June 2, 2009, 1:26 pm

    I like free

  • Sarah June 2, 2009, 1:27 pm

    I want this book!

  • Senk June 2, 2009, 1:31 pm

    Please enter me in the draw.

  • RI June 2, 2009, 1:34 pm

    I guess I would like to read this book.

  • Jackie June 2, 2009, 1:37 pm

    Kerry paid off a $17000 debt in six months??? This I have to read. Count me in! Thanks!

  • Chasing Distractions June 2, 2009, 1:39 pm

    Show me the money!

  • bob June 2, 2009, 1:40 pm

    sounds good.

  • Lancer June 2, 2009, 1:42 pm

    Definately a book I can use.

  • Dk June 2, 2009, 1:42 pm

    i’m in

  • Alaa June 2, 2009, 1:44 pm

    I want this book!

  • Jeff June 2, 2009, 1:48 pm

    Pick me, pick me!

  • Susan June 2, 2009, 1:48 pm

    Would be great to share this with the whole family.

  • fern June 2, 2009, 1:49 pm

    Darn! And I just bought some (non-organic) peaches. The price was too good (.99/lb) to pass up.

  • Susan June 2, 2009, 1:58 pm

    Thanks for this. I know I should be more frugal than I am, and hopefully reading this book will help! Also thanks for introducing me to Kerry’s website.

  • Aaron June 2, 2009, 2:01 pm

    Count me in!

  • Shaun June 2, 2009, 2:14 pm

    I like winning things.

  • Paolo June 2, 2009, 2:19 pm

    Thanks for the review.

  • Rob Levesque June 2, 2009, 2:25 pm

    I’d love to read this book!
    Thanks for the chance!

  • Steve Zussino June 2, 2009, 2:25 pm

    This book sounds interesting. I like her blog but she needs to post more.

  • Breanne June 2, 2009, 2:28 pm

    Sounds really interesting. Would love a chance to read for myself :)

  • Audrée Lapierre June 2, 2009, 2:29 pm

    Looks like a good book.

  • Dolly June 2, 2009, 2:30 pm

    I have a lot of clients that book could help.

    Dolly

  • Julie June 2, 2009, 2:33 pm

    Count me in! Would love to read this (but am too frugal to buy it ;)

  • Brigitte VK June 2, 2009, 2:39 pm

    ohh…this book sounds interesting!

  • Naveen June 2, 2009, 2:47 pm

    Interested

  • Michael June 2, 2009, 2:48 pm

    I would love a copy of this book!

  • Daniel Sendecki June 2, 2009, 2:53 pm

    I need a copy of this book! I just cancelled cable. Now I need to hear 396 more ways to save some coin!

  • telefantastik June 2, 2009, 2:55 pm

    count me in! thanks :)

  • Vince June 2, 2009, 2:57 pm

    i like freebies

  • J June 2, 2009, 3:02 pm

    Count me in too. I am all about saving money these days!

  • Linda Lin June 2, 2009, 3:12 pm

    Please count me in. thanks.

  • Maiku June 2, 2009, 3:15 pm

    397 Ways? That’s more than 1 a day!

  • Melissa June 2, 2009, 3:25 pm

    Sounds like an awesome book – count me in! :)

  • Paul June 2, 2009, 3:45 pm

    please include me in the draw!

  • pappy June 2, 2009, 3:47 pm

    398: Enter free draws

  • Erick June 2, 2009, 4:12 pm

    Sign me up!

  • guinness416 June 2, 2009, 4:19 pm

    Wow you have a lot of readers FT. I’m in the draw too, as TPL doesn’t seem to have the book on order yet – Squawkfox, get on that!

  • Finance Matters June 2, 2009, 4:27 pm

    I love the word “Frugal”!

  • renaud00 June 2, 2009, 4:46 pm

    Would like one copy please

  • Jim June 2, 2009, 4:49 pm

    I’d love a copy

  • tescosamoa June 2, 2009, 4:50 pm

    count me in

  • John June 2, 2009, 4:59 pm

    Sounds good!

  • Kevin June 2, 2009, 5:32 pm

    Count me in!

  • Paul June 2, 2009, 5:34 pm

    Put me on the list! I can always learn to how to save more money!

  • Lesly Orf June 2, 2009, 5:37 pm

    Sounds like a great read. Please enter me. Thanks.

  • Kal June 2, 2009, 5:47 pm

    Can’t get any more frugal than free!!

  • elmanl June 2, 2009, 5:58 pm

    please enter me for the book giveaway

  • Warren June 2, 2009, 6:07 pm

    Sounds like a good read

  • Kelly Salcedo June 2, 2009, 6:14 pm

    Thanks for the post. I have a blog where I review personal finance-related books, and I appreciate how important this information can be. And count me in for the draw!

  • Dave June 2, 2009, 6:37 pm

    A free book would be great!

  • Qubikal June 2, 2009, 6:45 pm

    draw mee!!!!!

  • Triple_Eh June 2, 2009, 7:07 pm

    Pick me!

  • cannon_fodder June 2, 2009, 7:07 pm

    I’d like to know if there was any conflict with her ideas on ways to save money. Reminds me of the Simpson’s episode where the family had to tighten their belts and Bart offered that he didn’t shower today and he probably won’t shower tomorrow.

    Please enter my name in the draw and good luck to everyone else.

  • Jared Gudnason June 2, 2009, 7:13 pm

    count me in, Thanks!

  • Mooyootoo June 2, 2009, 7:15 pm

    Sounds like a great read, something I’d definately find useful.

    On the organic though, be VERY careful when talking about organic labelling. As someone that works in food regulation, I can tell you that (unfortunately) organic does NOT mean the same as pesticide-free.

  • Howie June 2, 2009, 8:19 pm

    Please consider me for the draw, thanks!

  • Joel June 2, 2009, 8:20 pm

    I’m in – I like to save money

  • iamphysio June 2, 2009, 8:26 pm

    Would love a copy. Thanks.

  • TD June 2, 2009, 8:27 pm

    Looks great, sign me up.

  • Alex June 2, 2009, 8:35 pm

    Copy please…

  • Jimmy June 2, 2009, 8:41 pm

    Love to get a copy to read! thanks!

  • Patricia June 2, 2009, 8:45 pm

    I follow Squawkfox and would love a copy of the first book. Thanks for having the contest.

  • Terri June 2, 2009, 8:52 pm

    I have read excellent reviews about this book. Thanks for the contest!

  • Troy June 2, 2009, 8:53 pm

    I’d love to win, so that I can save money 397 more ways!!

  • rab June 2, 2009, 9:04 pm

    I’m in

  • marlaene russell June 2, 2009, 9:58 pm

    i have read the reviews , you book sounds great , please enter me into the contest

  • Jules @ Lovely Las Vegas June 2, 2009, 10:16 pm

    Sounds great! Please include me in the drawing. Thank you!

  • Matt June 2, 2009, 10:27 pm

    I’m in.

  • Mark June 2, 2009, 10:43 pm

    Hi FT,

    Count me in!!

    Cheers,
    Mark

  • Kirk S. June 2, 2009, 10:46 pm

    My girlfriend and I have been looking at this book (but I am too frugal to purchase it) :)

    Kirk

  • CanadianPennyStocks June 2, 2009, 10:49 pm

    Sign me up too please.

    Cheers

  • RS June 2, 2009, 10:54 pm

    Count me in

  • Matt June 2, 2009, 11:25 pm

    Coun me in!

  • MultifolDreams June 2, 2009, 11:49 pm

    Looks cool

  • slickster June 2, 2009, 11:59 pm

    sounds good…count me in

  • AL June 3, 2009, 12:00 am

    Count me in!

  • AL June 3, 2009, 12:00 am

    Count me in!
    Sounds like a great book

  • Jensen June 3, 2009, 12:34 am

    Yay Frugal!

  • Ludger June 3, 2009, 12:42 am

    My wife would love this one…

  • andrew June 3, 2009, 12:53 am

    great review

  • Alex. June 3, 2009, 1:03 am

    LAGURF but not cheap! :)

  • Ron June 3, 2009, 1:49 am

    Even if I don’t win, I’m sure I’ll pick it up from my local library.

  • Darryl June 3, 2009, 2:04 am

    I like free stuff!!

  • Sam Jhangiani June 3, 2009, 2:24 am

    This book would be great to read, considering that I have just retired and my RRSPs have been hammered down. But not in a panic state.
    Congratulations Kelly. Keep up your financial fingers strong and keep other’s toes out of the financial greed. There is usually enough to go around for everyone.
    Cheers,

  • Adeem Zafar June 3, 2009, 2:56 am

    I wanna win!

  • NT June 3, 2009, 7:59 am

    Please include me in the draw!

  • Paul Colyn June 3, 2009, 9:06 am

    Please include me in the draw! Sounds like an interesting read…..

    Cheers Paul

  • Fab June 3, 2009, 9:17 am

    I have been reading Squawkfox blog for a while… and I would be happy to get the book.

  • Bill M June 3, 2009, 9:19 am

    Count me in as well !

  • clalc June 3, 2009, 9:27 am

    Your site is pretty awsome, I read it every day. Keep it up !

  • paulie June 3, 2009, 9:34 am

    sounds good for my family

  • Judy June 3, 2009, 9:35 am

    I’d love to win a copy as my husband and I are staring unemployment in the face

  • littleleftie June 3, 2009, 9:50 am

    sure hope i win!!

  • telly June 3, 2009, 1:19 pm

    I want in! :)

  • Todd June 3, 2009, 1:43 pm

    Count me in too please. This is the most number of comments per section yet!

  • Sharon A June 3, 2009, 1:48 pm

    I am very interested in this book.

  • Sean Smith June 3, 2009, 1:48 pm

    count me in as well

  • AndrewP June 3, 2009, 1:49 pm

    Sounds like a good book!
    Please include me in the draw!.

  • Julian June 3, 2009, 2:04 pm

    I would love a copy. Seems like frugality is the new hobby in our house.

  • Oil Baron June 3, 2009, 2:25 pm

    Sounds like a good read.

  • Davina June 3, 2009, 2:26 pm

    Enter me, please!

  • Ramona June 3, 2009, 3:15 pm

    Free is the best way to being frugal! yes please.

  • teachmescience June 3, 2009, 3:20 pm

    Thanks for putting on a contest! Please include me.

  • Kate Barker June 3, 2009, 3:28 pm

    Glad “frugal” is back in style…I remember the 70’s…Tightward Gazette and etc. Would love to have the book…know lots of “frugalista’s ” ! Thanks for the opportunity !

  • Aggie CO June 3, 2009, 3:38 pm

    Thanks for the chance to win this!

  • Marc June 3, 2009, 4:24 pm

    Sign me up.

  • uberben June 3, 2009, 4:37 pm

    Sounds like a decent read. Count me in.

  • Eric C June 3, 2009, 4:57 pm

    Count me in please!

  • coffeeordeath June 3, 2009, 5:30 pm

    Love your blog. I am on the road to being frugal through free stuff – please enter me in this draw.

  • Nick C June 3, 2009, 6:27 pm

    Sign me up for the contest

  • Adrienne June 3, 2009, 10:25 pm

    Great giveaway! I would love to read this book.

  • Susan June 3, 2009, 10:27 pm

    Thanks for the offer!

  • Sampson June 3, 2009, 10:37 pm

    Me please! :-)

  • Paula H June 3, 2009, 11:05 pm

    following on Twitter- ksh123

  • Kelly June 3, 2009, 11:27 pm

    Great Stuff. Please include me in the draw. Thanks.

  • Farhan Khan June 3, 2009, 11:51 pm

    Would love to get this book! Please count me in the draw. Thanks

  • Jordan June 4, 2009, 8:54 am

    I just won a Wii, lets see if my luck continues!

  • Norm O June 4, 2009, 11:14 am

    Count me in too…sounds like an interesting read!

  • Jason June 4, 2009, 2:35 pm

    Sounds awesome please count me in!

  • Sean June 4, 2009, 3:43 pm

    Way to save money #398: win this book instead of buying it ;)

    Thanks for the giveaway, and keep up the great work!

  • Ms Save Money June 4, 2009, 4:45 pm

    Great! I would love to have a copy of this books and see if there are some ways I can save that I haven’t thought of.

  • Mike Gillard June 4, 2009, 6:53 pm

    I’ll read that

  • Asaad June 4, 2009, 7:17 pm

    If i don’t win it, will head down to chapters-indigo to buy it.

    Hopefully that won’t be the case :)

  • $1,600 Gold by 2011 June 4, 2009, 9:13 pm

    I’m in!

  • Brennan June 4, 2009, 9:38 pm

    Please include me in the draw.

  • Jorge June 5, 2009, 9:17 am

    Nice article

  • Ruth June 5, 2009, 11:56 am

    I’d really like to win a copy of this book. I’d share tips with friends

  • Brandon June 5, 2009, 12:26 pm

    Count me in….thanks.

  • Alex Givant June 5, 2009, 12:36 pm

    I’m in.

  • Michael June 5, 2009, 12:36 pm

    I’d love to win a copy!

  • Jeff June 5, 2009, 1:43 pm

    Thanks for the chance to win!

  • bett June 5, 2009, 2:21 pm

    397 ways to save money?! yes, please. as a senior this book would be most helpful.

  • Dan June 5, 2009, 3:28 pm

    Cool site. Please add my name to the draw.

  • DavidV June 5, 2009, 3:35 pm

    I’m crossing my fingers

  • Valerie June 5, 2009, 5:09 pm

    Especially interested in the organic food guide…here’s hoping!

  • Elaine June 5, 2009, 5:43 pm

    Sounds like an interesting read. Please enter me in the draw.

  • as June 5, 2009, 7:33 pm

    I’m late, I’m late, I’m late… But, who knows!?