≡ Menu

The Worried Boomer by Derek Foster – Book Review and Giveaway

TheWorriedBoomerDerek Foster is back again with his sixth book – The Worried Boomer (link).  While his first five books were mostly about investing, this one a little bit different where it’s all about retirement.

Who is Derek Foster?

Derek Foster is known as Canada’s Youngest Retiree when he retired at the young age of 34. How did he do this? Through starting young and sticking with his investment plan of buying strong dividend paying stocks. He feels very strongly about his strategy and rightly so as he has achieved great success. His first book Stop Working: Here’s How You Can is a Canadian Best Seller.

Foster currently lives off and supports his family through dividend distributions, book sales, and speaking engagements. Note that he retired before publishing his first book. You can read more about him in my book review of Stop Working: Here’s How You Can and an interview we had with Derek Foster.

About the Book

As the title suggests, this easy to read book is about retirement and how to simplify what’s made out to be a complicated topic.  How much is enough for retirement?  The traditional model for retirement income, or what the financial services industry wants you to believe,  is 70% of working income.  Similar to myself,  Derek is a believer in calculating expenses for upcoming retirement first, then figuring out the income required to support your lifestyle.  You can see some of my own calculations in my early retirement series.

The book includes work sheets so that you can work through your personal scenario.  This book also does a good job simplifying the various income options that Canadian seniors have available to them such as government benefits, pensions, annuities, and stocks/equities.  I recommend this book for people who are approaching retirement and/or anyone interested in learning the nuts and bolts of retirement in an easy to understand manner.

The chapter outline includes:

Part 1: Lights

  • Normal problems, novel solutions!

Part 2: Camera

  • Spending your way to poverty?
  • Finishing your vegetables before enjoying dessert!
  • Is work a four letter word?
  • You see $20 on the sidewalk, do you pick it up?
  • Your financial toolbox, which tools do you need?
  • A pension plan for you, even if your employer doesn’t offer one!
  • Your basic retirement checklist.
  • How much would you pay for a good nights sleep?
  • Giving gifts – Do it right!

Part 3: Action

  • Retirement action workbook

Want a Free Copy?

The author is offering Million Dollar Journey readers the chance to win a free copy of the book.  The details are below:

  1. New and Existing Money Tips Newsletter Subscribers will be drawn at random for a free book (you can subscribe here). (+1 entry)
  2. Leave a comment in this post by clicking here. (+1 entry)
  • Only one comment entry per person (valid email addresses only please – privacy policy).
  • Contest will end Sat 5pm EST Dec 3, 2011 and the winner, drawn randomly, will be contacted shortly after!
If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free newsletter service below (we will not spam you).

FT About the author: FT is the founder and editor of Million Dollar Journey (est. 2006). Through various financial strategies outlined on this site, he grew his net worth from $200,000 in 2006 to $1,000,000 by 2014. You can read more about him here.

{ 171 comments… add one }
  • Jungle November 28, 2011, 9:29 am

    I liked all of Dereks books and his first one, stop working, was a huge inspiration for me. I will put this new book on reserve at the library.

  • Sustainable PF November 28, 2011, 9:49 am

    This would be a great book to pass along to my parents.
    I’m pretty sure I already subscribe via newsletter!

  • Connie November 28, 2011, 9:53 am

    I like Derek’s book on dividends, so this sounds great to me.

  • Chris November 28, 2011, 10:19 am

    Sign me up for the giveaway :)

  • Bernie November 28, 2011, 10:27 am

    Greatly enjoyed all Derek’s books and have started along the path of “Stopping Working” even though I’m “over the hill”.

  • Dustin November 28, 2011, 11:09 am

    sure sign me up. Should be an interesting read/excercise

  • ThePaperboy November 28, 2011, 11:16 am

    Sounds like a good read, I also subscribed for the newsletter!

  • Daryl November 28, 2011, 11:30 am

    Sounds like an interesting read.

  • ldk November 28, 2011, 11:33 am

    Could definitely use this one for my parents!! Is there a book for “Boomers worried kids?”

  • Vlad November 28, 2011, 11:33 am

    I want free book!

  • Oxidd November 28, 2011, 11:39 am

    Sounds interesting. I liked his book on dividends. Could use this one for my parents.

  • Steve @ Grocery Alerts November 28, 2011, 11:44 am

    I enjoyed reading his last book, very simple premise and I lend this to rookie investors.

    I am in the same scenario (no pension plan) so I will need to be careful planning my pension.

    Would like to see how this book takes planning to a whole new level.

    Thanks!

  • amy November 28, 2011, 12:39 pm

    sounds like a good book

  • nora November 28, 2011, 12:48 pm

    Sounds like a good read. Thanks for the giveaway!

  • James November 28, 2011, 1:01 pm

    Free book, why not

  • Jay November 28, 2011, 1:05 pm

    I have read and liked all of Derek’s books and his first one was a great read and a huge inspiration to me. I would love to have this free book too.

  • Steve November 28, 2011, 1:10 pm

    Sign me up for the draw as well.

  • Saver November 28, 2011, 1:13 pm

    Looking forward to reading this book as I have enjoyed all of Derek’s other books. I will enjoy this one even more if I am lucky enough to win it!

  • Jess November 28, 2011, 1:14 pm

    I bought all of Derek books. I’d like to add this to my collection.

  • RS November 28, 2011, 1:16 pm

    I got his first book and it is a good one. I’m want this one as well.

  • Joel Goy November 28, 2011, 1:18 pm

    Good luck to all! :)

  • Jan November 28, 2011, 1:28 pm

    Sign me up. However, one must remember that being an author and a speaker is, indeed, working!

  • Lyne November 28, 2011, 1:34 pm

    I would really enjoy this book :-) Thanks!

  • Rick November 28, 2011, 1:47 pm

    I am sure I can learn and help others from reading this book .

  • Mr. dividends November 28, 2011, 1:53 pm

    Love Foster. I’m also on track to collecting $25,000 in dividends per year. I think it will take me about 10 to 15 years to get there. I was inspired by Foster’s approach and can’t wait to read his latest book.

  • Sandy Shaw November 28, 2011, 1:58 pm

    worried boomer is worried she won’t win a copy of this book!

  • Bernie Klunder November 28, 2011, 2:05 pm

    I’ve read three of Mr. Foster’s books. I would love to add this to my collection.

  • Patricia November 28, 2011, 2:07 pm

    Yes!!! I need to read this.

  • IG November 28, 2011, 2:10 pm

    Free book! Woohoo! 8-)

  • Steve November 28, 2011, 2:25 pm

    I first heard of dividend investing through Foster’s initial book. Would love to read about his thoughts on retirement!

  • Nick November 28, 2011, 2:29 pm

    “Worried Boomer” definitely describes me, please include me in the contest FT – Thanks!

  • Susan Stokes November 28, 2011, 2:31 pm

    I just put a number of his books on hold at the library (Sorry, but buy very few books now!). This one isn’t available yet, but I’m sure the others will be helpful. And I’ll just continue to watch for it.

  • Brian November 28, 2011, 2:34 pm

    I have two of his five books which got me started off investing properly. I would love to add this to my collection of investment books.

  • Marcin November 28, 2011, 3:07 pm

    I`m new to investing so I`m trying to learn as much as I can.
    I find Derek`s info very valuable

  • Carolyn November 28, 2011, 3:10 pm

    I’d love to win this new book. Recommend Derek’s other books – am applying what I learned.

  • Jean November 28, 2011, 3:14 pm

    I’m a boomer, 56, planning to retire soon but the stock market has definitely delivered me a blow and I’m nervous and scared to retire now with future yields on capital approaching zero… The book would be of paramount importance to me and very helpful in relieving my anguish…

  • Paul November 28, 2011, 3:17 pm

    Keep the great articles coming!!

  • Pete November 28, 2011, 3:24 pm

    Pick me! I could use the financial help… :)

  • supersocco November 28, 2011, 3:25 pm

    Would love to have this!

  • Dan November 28, 2011, 3:29 pm

    I’ve been a fan of Dereks since his first book, before I knew what a dividend was. Ive got the whole set now. Just waiting for the next one!

  • neeraj November 28, 2011, 3:30 pm

    Please count me for the giveaway!

  • Vanda November 28, 2011, 3:35 pm

    I have some concerns about my retirement and would appreciate a copy of the book. Please consider me for the giveaway.

  • RMG November 28, 2011, 3:38 pm

    Looks like the type of book I am looking for. Told my son we are going to spend his inheritance ;-)

  • Heather November 28, 2011, 3:47 pm

    Hi – I already subscribe to MDJ and enjoy it thoroughly. I have just retired (age 61) and could really use the information in Derek’s latest book. Thanks Derek and please keep all your great info coming!

  • Mark November 28, 2011, 3:56 pm

    Count me in on the free give-away.

  • Brian November 28, 2011, 3:57 pm

    I have read all of Dereks books and find his writing style to be rough around the edges but straight forward, well thought out, and with good content. I already had been practicing most of what Derek writes about but his books help simplify the concepts to explain to family. I find the books help internalize proven concepts that are simple, but difficult to practice consistently for the vast majority of irrational investors.

  • tom November 28, 2011, 3:58 pm

    I’ll take a free book

  • Patricia Collyer November 28, 2011, 4:05 pm

    This sounds like a great read. Thanks for the fine intro to Derek’s latest book.

  • Roy November 28, 2011, 4:26 pm

    I already have the book, however I’m not finished reading it, but another one would make a great gift. I have all of Derek’s books and learned something from every one and recomend them to anyone who will listen

  • Amanda November 28, 2011, 4:31 pm

    I haven’t read any of Foster’s books. I will check him out!

  • Judy November 28, 2011, 4:31 pm

    As a Boomer, I would like to read this book.

  • Lisa November 28, 2011, 4:39 pm

    Of course, I would love a copy of his latest book..:)

  • Joel ME November 28, 2011, 4:40 pm

    I have read his stop working book, and would love to win this one

  • Res November 28, 2011, 4:41 pm

    Love all of Foster’s stuff! Great guy.

  • Kabe November 28, 2011, 4:56 pm

    Always looking for something new to read!

  • Colin November 28, 2011, 4:56 pm

    Pick me, Pick me.

  • Karen (Parkins) November 28, 2011, 5:01 pm

    I found The Lazy Investor information about the DRIP’s very useful and since we are already retired I’m hoping this new book will be just as helpful in that so many people in today’s world do not have company pension. Thanks for the good reading.

  • Karen November 28, 2011, 5:04 pm

    I found The Lazy Investor great for explaining the world of DRIPs. I’m sure his latest book will be equally informative as we are already at the retiring stage.

  • Mark Des Cotes November 28, 2011, 5:24 pm

    Loved his other books.

  • Joe November 28, 2011, 5:29 pm

    Would really love this book!

  • Chris November 28, 2011, 5:38 pm

    I look forward to reading this new book. If it is anything like the last few, it will help me with my investing.

  • John November 28, 2011, 5:39 pm

    looks like a book I will enjoy to see if I am on the right track.

  • Diane November 28, 2011, 5:40 pm

    Unfortunately, the book title describes me – I am 60, with my job ending in the next few months,and have no pension plan through work. I am sure I could put the book to very good use!!!!!!

  • Hollywood November 28, 2011, 5:43 pm

    Many of these investing books end up being more egg than chicken, but you can always take something away. Remember the “Pig and the Python”. Great read at the time, but never came to fruition. Now if you can write a book how to make money in a down market and not lose capitial, I want to hear that story.

  • Linda November 28, 2011, 5:45 pm

    This is just what I need!

  • Viper November 28, 2011, 5:51 pm

    Love his books. Would like another on my bookshelf.

  • Victoria Stevenson November 28, 2011, 5:52 pm

    I have all Derek’s book and trust them entirely! Great author, thanks for all your help!

  • Ann November 28, 2011, 5:53 pm

    I found The Idiot Millionaire interesting reading and would like a free copy of his latest book so that I can become a less worried boomer.

  • Rachel November 28, 2011, 5:59 pm

    Sounds like it will be an interesting book to read

  • MS Barbour November 28, 2011, 6:03 pm

    So many books focus on preparing for retirement. Hope this will help IN retirement.

  • Michel November 28, 2011, 6:13 pm

    I have 5 of his books which basically are just no nonsense reading. Dah! Why didn’t I not think about that? Easy to ready and understand. I’m looking forward the Worried Boomer.

  • Erick November 28, 2011, 6:14 pm

    Sign me up for the giveaway!

  • Richard November 28, 2011, 6:28 pm

    His other books were great!

  • Marypat November 28, 2011, 6:42 pm

    I would love to win a copy of Derek’s latest book. I have read several of his earlier books and really enjoyed them.

  • Kevin Martin November 28, 2011, 6:44 pm

    I’m working on a financial literacy project for high school students and their parents. This book would be a great addition to our resources.

  • Elizabeth November 28, 2011, 7:31 pm

    I am a Big Fan of Derek’s! I need a copy of his book as a Christmas present to myself. I promise to share the wealth!

    Elizabeth

  • wayne November 28, 2011, 7:35 pm

    I have 2 of dereks books, i liked both of them.

  • Alfredo November 28, 2011, 8:07 pm

    Derek’s books have very useful tips

  • Keith November 28, 2011, 8:23 pm

    I have bought – and enjoyed – all of the first five books, plus hearing Derek speak, so am looking forward to reading this next one.

  • janelle November 28, 2011, 8:27 pm

    I want a copy of the book, woo! I’ve been saving/investing for years and would love to read more about what works and what doesn’t. Sign me up! :)

  • Mateo November 28, 2011, 8:31 pm

    Looking forward to the chance to win a book! Retirement is a long way off for me but I figure it is never too early to get educated and plan. Probably the only one of my friends that are thinking this far ahead. Thanks to MDJ for the venue to discuss.

  • Mbonella Phiri-Nkomo November 28, 2011, 8:32 pm

    I am inspired by Derek’s success and I enjoy reading about his practical advice and approach to investing in the Idiot Millionaire Newsletter that I subscribe to. I hope that I can win his newest book!

  • Shaukat Mahmood November 28, 2011, 8:42 pm

    I read Derek Foster’s four books on dividend investing,liked all of them. IfI won his latest book, am sure tis one will also be very usefull.

  • James November 28, 2011, 9:15 pm

    I do like Derek Foster’s books. They are a good tool for motivation but I fear that they make investing seem overly simple. I guess it is a delicate balance.

  • Mike November 28, 2011, 9:21 pm

    Derek certainly has opened up a lot of people’s eyes to the idea of being able to retire comfortable without having that magical $1,000,000 saving fund.

  • Be'en November 28, 2011, 9:28 pm

    Am definitely a worried boomer staring at retirement only a few years away. Let’s see how the book helps!..

  • Joanne November 28, 2011, 9:31 pm

    Always enjoy the investment tips that Derek provides. It makes sailing around in the investment world a little less frightening for us novices.

    Thanks and congrats on your new book Derek.

  • js_cooldude November 28, 2011, 9:33 pm

    Altough I’m pretty far from retiring, knowing more can’t hurt.

  • Zee November 28, 2011, 10:12 pm

    Would love to learn how to retire early.

  • Amiel B November 28, 2011, 10:52 pm

    Would love to win his book – have read all the rest!

  • K November 28, 2011, 10:56 pm

    Derek actually got me interested in investing – after meeting him at the library. Between FT and Derek I have learned a lot. Way to go guys!!! You and are inspiring a lot of people

  • Paul November 28, 2011, 11:05 pm

    Wonder what Derek might point out in this book that the media or financial analysts have not.

  • Simple Rich Living November 28, 2011, 11:09 pm

    I already subscribed both Derek’s and Million Dollar Journey’s newsletter.

    Derek’s ‘The Lazy Investor’ was the inspiration for me to take on this journey of self directed investing and finally opened an account with Questrade (July 2011). His ‘The Idiot Millionaire’ was the inspiration to start DRIPping. I am in the process of setting my first four DRIPs (TransCanada, Suncorp, Fortis and Scotiabank). In fact, I had just received my very first share certificate today (like 40 minutes ago when I got home), from TransCanada. I read the review on ‘The Worried Boomer’ at The Dividend Girl blog a few days ago and been wanting to get the book since. Looking forward to reading this book (to rescue my parents’ retirement).

  • john November 28, 2011, 11:37 pm

    Would enjoy reading what Derek has to write about retirement as we’re just about there. Dividend income is on-track to cover our daily expenses, government pensions will cover inflation – it’s still difficult to leave a good income with so much uncertainty out there – maybe there are some gems in the book that will help taking the plunge a bit easier.

  • JYR November 28, 2011, 11:44 pm

    Presently looking at my retirement income requirements. 70% seams high. Need realistic evaluation. Hope the book will help me in evaluating this.

  • Tom November 28, 2011, 11:45 pm

    Any useful knowledge that will help me retire comfortably, is a valued asset!
    Thanks Derek!

  • Ewa KK November 28, 2011, 11:53 pm

    I just made my library buy the book. I have read all the other books by Derek. I even read one aloud to my teenage sons! (The one that talks about him putting away $200 per month, not matter what.)

    Looking forward to reading the new book.

  • Lucie November 28, 2011, 11:54 pm

    Yes, put my name in to win Derek’s new book. I’m sure it’s just as good as his other ones!

  • Ann November 29, 2011, 12:08 am

    I have all of Derek’s books and enjoyed everyone of them. His first book inspired me and following his advice, has helped fund my retirement.

  • Erin November 29, 2011, 12:30 am

    Would love a chance to read his book!

  • Steve T. November 29, 2011, 12:36 am

    Bought this book the day it hit the Indigo book shelves so count me out of the raffle and give someone else the wisdom to make good decisions. Been a loyal reader of Derek’s since “Stop working, heres how you can” and invest just as he describes and am so so thankfull for the motivation his books have given me!

  • Sammy November 29, 2011, 12:38 am

    Would really love to read this book and learn from it.

  • Norbert November 29, 2011, 12:41 am

    i do not know too much about his books and perhaps this will be a nice chance to check it out.
    norbert

  • Cathy Todd November 29, 2011, 12:49 am

    read all the other books. Would enjoy the new one also. Pls put my name in as i am slowly getting closer to that retirement time.

  • ptsakani November 29, 2011, 1:32 am

    Great xmas gift. Hope my odds are good.

  • telefantastik November 29, 2011, 1:44 am

    Looks like a great read, sign me up. Thanks!

  • lian November 29, 2011, 2:27 am

    Love all his books. Waiting to be random winner.

  • Justin November 29, 2011, 3:53 am

    I really enjoyed Mr. Fosters previous books. His first book was te first book I ever read on investing and have seen gone to managing 100% of my own money. I look forward to reading this next edition – albeit free or not!!! :)

  • Mark November 29, 2011, 7:52 am

    Thanks for the review/

  • Deborah November 29, 2011, 8:15 am

    I hope I win! I could use the advice.

  • J. Berendsen November 29, 2011, 9:23 am

    Derek’s first book Stop Working was a real eye opener for me and inspired me to get started with dividend investing so I would love to get this book. Please sign me up!

  • Gerard November 29, 2011, 9:25 am

    The whole “money for nothing” schtick, the gimmicky chapter titles… I’m thinking I wouldn’t want this book, even if it was free.
    Also, how “retired” is Canada’s youngest retiree if he has to excrete another get-rich-easy book every year?

  • Digger November 29, 2011, 9:27 am

    Derek Foster. Always a good read.

  • Roberto s November 29, 2011, 9:56 am

    Dareks The Lazy Investor book got me in a lot of trouble! It was so simple and captivating that I couldn’t put it down. At work.

  • Geoff November 29, 2011, 10:01 am

    Been reading his books since I first read a Globe and Mail review on Stop Working book. I own 4 of his books since…Didn’t end up getting the options/put book.

    Always enjoyable read.

  • Gary Carlson November 29, 2011, 10:45 am

    Derek is the Man…

  • Judy Denham November 29, 2011, 11:11 am

    I have all Derek’s books and liked them all. I now have an investment program underway that I feel confident about.

  • bcrmt November 29, 2011, 1:25 pm

    would love to give this a read…and pass it on!

  • Al November 29, 2011, 1:39 pm

    Good book to have for my parents and myself.

  • Jus November 29, 2011, 2:18 pm

    Ive read “the idiot millionaire” and “money for nothing” and have been implementing his strategy for a year now. Despite the ups and downs in the market, the recession proof companies I now have shares in are constantly increasing my portfolios value! Very happy I stumbled onto Derek’s books! I now feel confident about my investments from here on in. A free book would be awesome!

  • Ma November 29, 2011, 2:23 pm

    I didn’t know about his other books. I read about him in an article. I better look for his books in my local library.

  • Jamie November 29, 2011, 2:27 pm

    Enjoyed first 2 books. This one looks great!

  • Jihan November 29, 2011, 2:58 pm

    I wouldnt mind a copy, but am definitely going to give it a read, thanks for sharing.

  • Rick Maher November 29, 2011, 3:23 pm

    Met Derek Foster on a speaking tour in Sherwood Park, AB in 2010. He’s the Warren Buffett of dividend investing for the average person.

  • Hope November 29, 2011, 4:51 pm

    I definitely want to read this book. Thanks for the review.

  • Hope November 29, 2011, 4:54 pm

    Thanks for the review. I want to read this one.

  • Steve R November 29, 2011, 5:39 pm

    Another book in his collection.

  • joe November 29, 2011, 7:29 pm

    sounds like a good read right about now!!

  • Greg November 29, 2011, 8:29 pm

    Thanks for the book review.

  • Lesley Dalin November 29, 2011, 9:24 pm

    Retirement is on the horizon. Will we be able to do it financially? Please enter me in the draw.

  • My Own Advisor November 29, 2011, 10:18 pm

    Always enjoyed Derek’s books! Sign me up!

  • youngandthrifty November 30, 2011, 1:21 am

    I’ve never actually read Derek Foster’s books! I’ve been meaning to and this would be a good incentive for me to ;)

  • uptoolate November 30, 2011, 3:18 am

    I’m in! Love to have my own copy.

  • Brian Poncelet, CFP November 30, 2011, 8:41 am

    Hey Ft,

    Here is a question I don’t think any one has asked.

    Does he own any life insurance? If so what kind and how much…does it match his assets?

    Also, what is his take on annuities at a late stage in retirement say late 60’s or 70’s. My sense is if he does not own any permanent insurance he will not like annuities because of the loss of control on his money, but likes the idea of paying less taxes.

    cheers,

    Brian

  • Gerald H November 30, 2011, 10:15 am

    Thanks for the article FT. I have all books from Derek, they are really inspiring and I feel confident about the future.

  • Judy November 30, 2011, 11:37 am

    I definetly qualify as a “worried” boomer. Retiring in 10 months…

  • Jim November 30, 2011, 1:55 pm

    free book sounds good to me.

  • alex November 30, 2011, 5:20 pm

    a.Dividend stocks or b. Index ETF’s or c. paydown your mortgage ?

    a.Tims or b. Starbucks or c. make your own?

    a. Chapters or b. Coles or c.win one?

    Frugality pays.

  • alex November 30, 2011, 5:20 pm

    sounds like Millionaire teacher

  • The Passive Income Earner November 30, 2011, 5:40 pm

    I loved the Lazy Investors. I learned about the transfer agents with it. Hopefully I could learn a nugget from this one too :)

  • Ozgur November 30, 2011, 5:42 pm

    I’m definetely in !!

  • InstruMike November 30, 2011, 6:02 pm

    Sounds like a good book. Count me in!

  • jerri November 30, 2011, 6:09 pm

    this sounds like it would be a good read. If I don’t win I will have to go to the library and get a copy.

  • sidski November 30, 2011, 10:43 pm

    I really like Foster’s style of writing. To the point, easy to understand and in plain language. I loved his book on DRIPS so much that I bought a whole bunch to give away as gifts, or resell on my website http://www.financialfrenzy.com (bulk discount) I am continuing my DRIP strategy with a few thousand dollars and 13 companies right now. Just Canadian companies right now, but his book Idiot Millionaire got me thinking more about investing in US companies. His outline for his new book looks interesting. I am past the retirement age that Foster chose (only by a few years) but REALLY would like to see if I can pull off an earlier retirement in the next few years.

  • Don December 1, 2011, 12:05 am

    Love the blog, Sign me up please

  • Alana December 1, 2011, 12:00 pm

    Sounds like a book I would like to read.

  • James December 1, 2011, 2:08 pm

    I have read Derek’s book “The Idiot Millionaire” and found it rather interesting. I’m sure this one will be good too.

  • Bill T December 1, 2011, 4:46 pm

    look forward to reading it. BT

  • Thomas December 1, 2011, 5:02 pm

    Always looking for something to read, count me in!

  • David December 2, 2011, 12:12 am

    cool, read all his books.

  • Eric Chin December 2, 2011, 12:37 am

    Thanks for giving us hope that retirement early is possible. Count me in the book draw.

  • Tony December 2, 2011, 5:26 am

    His first book has been and will always be an inspiration for me.

  • Michael December 2, 2011, 9:38 am

    Excellent, would love a free read of this!

  • Chris Inch December 2, 2011, 9:46 am

    Please sign me up for the book giveaway. I always love a great contest.

  • Cameron December 2, 2011, 9:58 am

    Working in the financial industry I see too many people that focus on the small things, yet have no idea that they could be paying 1-2% more on crappy mutual funds that might be costing them 5-10,000 more a year in fees, for poor poor advice.

  • Rob December 2, 2011, 10:19 am

    Sign me up, this’;d be a great christmas gift for my dad!

  • Luc richard December 2, 2011, 11:58 am

    thanks for the contest.

  • Sandra December 2, 2011, 12:04 pm

    Retirement advice is always appreciated. Would love to read Derek’s book.

  • Matthew Gip December 2, 2011, 12:09 pm

    This book sounds like it would be a lot of help to many boomers faced with issues as a result of the 2008 crisis.

  • sharp21 December 2, 2011, 12:15 pm

    Retired at 34! I’ve only got a year to get started… ;)
    S.

  • Jeanne December 2, 2011, 2:36 pm

    Great. I would love to have a free one to read!

  • SarahT December 2, 2011, 5:11 pm

    Thanks for the opportunity to win this book. Keep up the great work on the blog!

  • Tina December 2, 2011, 10:37 pm

    Looking forward to reading your book, and hopefully being one of the lucky winners!

  • Kay Lynn December 3, 2011, 12:32 am

    Sounds like an interesting read. Hope to win!

  • Frank December 3, 2011, 9:07 am

    Please, I need this book! :-)

  • MrT December 3, 2011, 2:01 pm

    This is the kind of information everyone needs. Sign me up!!

  • Robin December 3, 2011, 4:36 pm

    Guess I’ll try my hand at winning the book as well. (Own his previous book, which is superb!)

  • Brock December 5, 2011, 1:05 pm

    I would love to read it, thanks!

  • orlando December 5, 2011, 6:30 pm

    i like free stuff!!

  • John December 6, 2011, 4:02 pm

    Would love to read the book… if I don’t win, I’ll get it from the library :-)

  • Keith December 7, 2011, 5:28 am

    Would love to win a free book !

Leave a Comment