≡ Menu

Moolala Book Review and Giveaway

moolalaRandom House Publishing contacted me to review a new personal finance best seller, Moolala (link), which was written by Bruce Sellery.  The title sounded unique and interesting, so I gratefully accepted the book for review with a few copies for giveaway.

Before I even had to chance to read it, I was seeing the book on the best sellers table at Chapters and at the exclusive best sellers table at Walmart, which then really peaked my interest.

I must admit that the book was a pleasant surprise.  As I’ve read quite a few money books in my day, I was expecting a typical personal finance book with the common money mantras.  However, Moolala had a little something extra that kept me interested.  Where most financial books talk only about the “how”, this book digs a little deeper and adds the “why” to help develop, achieve, and put life goals into context.

About the Author

You may have heard the name Bruce Sellery before as he is one of the founders of Business News Network (BNN).  Here’s what the book says about him:

Bruce Sellery is a business journalist and professional speaker.  As one of the founding members of BNN, he has anchored thousands of hours of programing from Toronto to New York.

More recently, Bruce founded Moolala, a personal finance training company focused on inspiring people to get a handle on their money so that they can live the life that they want.

About the Book

The book is broken out into steps to help the reader achieve their financial goals and hopefully what they want out of life.  As previously mentioned, I enjoyed the “why” sections of the book (steps one and two) which makes up almost half of the book.  These steps include:

  1. Step ONE:  Lay the Foundation – This step puts into context why smart people do dumb things with their money.  Determines what your money is for.  The reasons why you need to get  handle on your money. Determining the right level of complexity for you and your money.
  2. Step TWO: Determine What You Want – Coming up with your financial goals – what do you want for your life?
  3. Step THREE: Develop the Plan – What is your starting point? What’s holding you back from achieving your goals? What are the top three things that you need to do? Assess and improve your cash flow, working with a financial advisor or do it yourself to come up with an investment plan.
  4. Step FOUR: Take Action – Just do it, how can you make sure you act on your plan?
  5. Step FIVE: Stay Engaged – Make it a long term engagement.

I recommend this book for just about anyone looking for more than just “do this to be financially secure”.  I’m sure that I’ll be reading this book over again in the coming years.

Want a Free Copy?

The publisher is offering Million Dollar Journey readers the chance to win a free copy of the book (3 copies available).  The details are below:

  1. New and Existing Money Tips Newsletter Subscribers will be drawn at random for a free book (you can subscribe here). (+1 entry)
  2. Tell me one of your financial goals for 2011 by clicking here. (+1 entry)
  • Only one comment entry per person (valid email addresses only please – privacy policy).
  • Contest will end Sat 5pm EST April 2, 2011 and the winner, drawn randomly, will be contacted shortly after!
If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free newsletter service below (we will not spam you).

FT About the author: FT is the founder and editor of Million Dollar Journey (est. 2006). Through various financial strategies outlined on this site, he grew his net worth from $200,000 in 2006 to $1,000,000 by 2014. You can read more about him here.

{ 153 comments… add one }
  • cbez March 28, 2011, 9:17 am

    Looks like an interesting read. My goal is pay off my LOC in 2011!

  • Jason R March 28, 2011, 11:04 am

    My goals are normally things like pay down the mortgage, invest more etc, but this Christmas we are going to NZ and Australia for 6 weeks. So my goal is simply to save enough for the trip.

    Cheers,
    Jason

  • Jon Bishop March 28, 2011, 11:04 am

    This book is on my list to read. My goal for 2011 is to pay down mortgage debt, and max out my TFSA.

  • Joel March 28, 2011, 11:34 am

    My goal is to pay down my mortgage x%

  • Bobby Aves March 28, 2011, 11:34 am

    My goals are to learn more about investing and dip my foot in the water to achieve a higher rate of return then last year

  • Andrea March 28, 2011, 11:35 am

    In 2011. my goal is to fix my asset allocation.

  • Dan March 28, 2011, 11:49 am

    Goal: To get my rsp’s upto 25k so i have the max first time home buyers plan.

  • Suzanne March 28, 2011, 11:51 am

    My goal this year is to add at least an extra 50% to my mortgage payment every month — doubling it would be a super victory!

  • js_cooldude March 28, 2011, 11:53 am

    Sound slike an interesting read. My goal for 2011 is to save enough for a 25% cashdown on a condo I’m planning to buy.

  • Amaley March 28, 2011, 11:55 am

    My goal for 2011 is start saving and investing into other things other than my chequing and savings account at my bank

  • Tanya a.k.a. stamperitis March 28, 2011, 11:58 am

    My current financial goal is an 8 month emergency fund.

  • Neeraj March 28, 2011, 12:11 pm

    To pay my mortgage by 10%

  • Eddy March 28, 2011, 12:15 pm

    To contribute to my TFSA so that I can use up the room available there.

  • nobleea March 28, 2011, 12:15 pm

    goal for 2011 is to pay down mortgage by 20%.

  • Patricia D March 28, 2011, 12:17 pm

    Pay off my LOC and start building an emergency fund instead of relying on the LOC.

  • Brian March 28, 2011, 12:17 pm

    Pay off my Mastercard by July

  • Michael March 28, 2011, 12:18 pm

    Goal for 2011 is to get the mortgage under $100K.

  • J Oakley March 28, 2011, 12:18 pm

    My goal for 2011 is to build up my savings to always have $1000 untouched, and then to add on to that.

  • Jason March 28, 2011, 12:18 pm

    My 2011 Goal is to pay down the mortgage by 25%. Sounds like a refreshing take on existing finance literature.

  • Lisa March 28, 2011, 12:18 pm

    goal for 2011 is to pay down my mortgage by 10%, and max out my daughters’ RESP’s.

  • Bing March 28, 2011, 12:21 pm

    One goal in 2011 is to build and apartment above a work shop on the same property as my duplex maximizing that property.

  • Michel March 28, 2011, 12:22 pm

    My goal for 2011 is to finally write my goals to be able to follow them.

    1. look at savings with current budget
    2. start up TFSA and contribute
    3. Find financial advisor for upcoming business opportunities

    well just wrote them. now to get them done. tks. MDJ

  • Adam Okhai March 28, 2011, 12:22 pm

    2011 goals: Focus on Canadian large caps that have dividend yield of 3.5% or more AND whose dividend payout approximates 50% of their earnings . Examples of companies I will be looking at : BCE, ScotiaBank .

  • syrah07 March 28, 2011, 12:23 pm

    my goal is to have a break even budget

  • Denise March 28, 2011, 12:42 pm

    my goal is to set up a financial plan. This book couldn’t be more fitting. I hope I win it.

  • KLM March 28, 2011, 12:43 pm

    2011 Goal – pay off mortgage…i’m almost there!

  • Tim Elliott March 28, 2011, 12:43 pm

    My financial goal for 2011 is to make enough money between a part-time job and my photography business to spend Jamuary and February 2012 in Florida.This white stuff is getting to me.

  • Vanda Orsini March 28, 2011, 12:47 pm

    My goals for 2011 are to focus on starting a small business on the side or actively start. Get more financially sound by increasing different revenue streams.

    I would love to win one of the Moolala books. I could use the help.

    V.

  • Lyne March 28, 2011, 12:49 pm

    One of my goals for 2011 is to rebuild my emergency fund which was decimated due to illness last year (but I was really glad it was there when I was without a paycheck for several months!)

  • Russ March 28, 2011, 12:50 pm

    My 2011 goal is to pay down my mortgage by 10% and max my RRSP’s

  • Pete March 28, 2011, 12:50 pm

    2011 goal: to live solely off of my investments

  • Heather March 28, 2011, 12:54 pm

    Build our downpayment savings.

  • Erin March 28, 2011, 12:57 pm

    My family’s goal is to continue to pay down our mortgage before our 4 kids head to college (they are 5 years old and under right now) AND still be able to enjoy the things we enjoy like travel, skiing and outdoor activities.

  • Daryl March 28, 2011, 1:03 pm

    To get my line of credit paid off

  • Pamela March 28, 2011, 1:07 pm

    I would like to pay down my debts by Dec. 31, 2011

  • Renee March 28, 2011, 1:07 pm

    I am currently on maternity leave, baby is 8 months old. I was laid off from my job 35 weeks pregant. My financial goal for 2011 is to step out into entrpreneurship living my passion and replace my corporate income.

  • juliett March 28, 2011, 1:09 pm

    I retired and I don’t have as much money as I thought I would. I.d like to find a solution to this problem before it escalates in my more senior years.

  • Denise March 28, 2011, 1:10 pm

    My goal is to double my stock trading acount in 2011.

  • Peter March 28, 2011, 1:15 pm

    learn more about preferred shares

  • Pedro Tabotda March 28, 2011, 1:16 pm

    Complete our downpayment savings plus keep learning about money and investment

  • Adam March 28, 2011, 1:26 pm

    I would love to contribute more to my RRSP. Darn student loans…..

  • Sam March 28, 2011, 1:27 pm

    Keep a close eye on returns on my ETFs, RRSP and TFSA as approaching the Retired age group.

  • Sabrina March 28, 2011, 1:30 pm

    My goal for 2011, as a 29 yr-old single mom (recently separated), is to develop a financial plan for myself, including RRSPs, RESPs for my son, see how much I can contribute to my mortgage and start investing, while also saving for a vacation! Thx for your work with the site! Very helpful!

  • Tin March 28, 2011, 1:31 pm

    Pay off my line of credit

  • Gaurav March 28, 2011, 1:40 pm

    Pay for my university

  • Colin March 28, 2011, 1:40 pm

    Goal is to spend less money.

  • Sarlock March 28, 2011, 1:41 pm

    Complete year 3 of my 5 year financial plan… going well so far!

  • JM March 28, 2011, 1:48 pm

    One of my 2011 goals is to pay off my credit card debts completely.

  • Terry March 28, 2011, 1:50 pm

    Take more control of my retirement savings/investments.

  • kirancdn March 28, 2011, 1:51 pm

    My goals are to max out both my RRSP and TFSA from the money that I get back after filing taxes.

  • Denis March 28, 2011, 1:53 pm

    Cut down on subscriptions. We cut back two magazines, our lotto subscription, one gym membership, and dropped personal training down from weekly to monthly.

  • Tina March 28, 2011, 1:56 pm

    My goal for 2011 is to buy my first home.

  • Greg March 28, 2011, 1:59 pm

    To maximize TFSA contributions for both my wife and myself.

  • Nova Scotian March 28, 2011, 2:07 pm

    Increase my dividend income and stay debt free

  • Adrienne March 28, 2011, 2:09 pm

    One of my 2011 financial goals is to spend money more mindfully – buy only what we need and think twice before spending money on “wants”.

  • Joel March 28, 2011, 2:16 pm

    My goal for 2011 is to top up my RRSP contribution room.

  • Digger March 28, 2011, 2:18 pm

    Max out our TFSAs. Half way there already.

  • blake March 28, 2011, 2:19 pm

    2011 goals are to have our july wedding paid off and to get our mortgage down to 80% of home value so we can start leveraging more

  • Ashley March 28, 2011, 2:19 pm

    Complete my University Degree this year debt free!

  • Linda Karst March 28, 2011, 2:21 pm

    My goal for 2011 is to pay off the family credit card.

  • Douglas March 28, 2011, 2:22 pm

    My goal is to catch up on my RRSP investment, I’m 10 years behind and have 12 years to go before I get to 65. I don’t particularly want to work past that.

    Thx

  • Melanie S March 28, 2011, 2:44 pm

    Sounds like a good read.

    2011 goal is to save enough for the bathroom reno, three trips to see my parents and for Christmas, all while on reduced income (maternity leave)

  • Kate March 28, 2011, 2:50 pm

    my goal is to pay off the car

  • sara March 28, 2011, 2:53 pm

    my goal for 2011 is to build enough cash down to move someplace my children can each have their own room.

  • Mark March 28, 2011, 2:53 pm

    One of my 2011 goal is to be more focus in terms of financial investment.

  • Uncle El March 28, 2011, 3:06 pm

    Hello, I have so many goals but the only one that stays on my mind most frequently is paying off my student loan. I dont forsee paying it off in 2011, but at least I can pay it down as much as possible.

  • Steve Zussino - Canadian Coupons March 28, 2011, 3:11 pm

    One of my goals for 2011 is to make 40,000 with a part-time business.

  • UpTooLate March 28, 2011, 3:12 pm

    My goal is to finally accept that I have enough money to retire and just bite the bullet and walk away!

  • L yang March 28, 2011, 3:16 pm

    This book sounds like a good addition to my business and finance library. My goal is to begin a business and get income coming in within the next 3 months.

  • Charles March 28, 2011, 3:20 pm

    My goal is to open a self-directed TFSA and actually buy my first stock(s) in it. I currently only own bank-managed mutual funds.

  • Greg March 28, 2011, 3:20 pm

    I have created a budget, so my goal is to adhere to it.

  • DividendMan March 28, 2011, 3:23 pm

    My goals are:

    1) To max out my TFSA
    2) To max out my RRSP contributions
    3) To increase my nw by 50% (i’m considering removing this one since i have less and less control over my NW as my portfolio becomes much larger than my savings, and to just have a savings goal)

  • paul & ais March 28, 2011, 3:33 pm

    2011 Financial Goals-
    +Pay Off Consumer Debt
    +Tighten Budget in fears of upcoming layoffs
    +Consolidate Student Loans
    +Get PMI removed from primary residence
    +Appeal Primary Residence Property Taxes
    +Refi Loans on Rental House
    +Build Emergency Fund
    +Buy 2+ rent houses

  • Boris March 28, 2011, 3:44 pm

    Max out the ol’ RRSPs.

  • Marni Andrews March 28, 2011, 3:50 pm

    My goal is to start a new company so that I can up my earnings (way up)!

  • Chris March 28, 2011, 3:58 pm

    My goal is to stabilize my spending to get my budget inline, so my dept pay-down scheme is more consistent,

  • Mateo March 28, 2011, 3:59 pm

    my goal for this year is to continue the momentum of paying off student loans, despite the “temptations” to spend otherwise.

  • Jenny L. March 28, 2011, 4:06 pm

    My goal for the year is to learn how to invest in the stock market!

  • Barry C. March 28, 2011, 4:39 pm

    My goal, is to save more for a down payment

  • LindaL March 28, 2011, 4:41 pm

    My key financial goal for 2011 is to bring in more income. I became self-employed last year and we are suffering. I’m not bringing in enough income to keep up with our expenses and hence, our debt is increasing… not good.

  • Howard Cowan March 28, 2011, 4:56 pm

    Being retired since 1992 (on fixed income) the goal every year is to stay ahead of the tax man!

  • Stephen March 28, 2011, 5:12 pm

    One of our goals is to pay off the Car loan at least 15 months early.

  • Nichole March 28, 2011, 5:16 pm

    Sounds like a great read, a goal for 2011 is to rebalance my & my husband’s retirement savings portfolio.

  • Cori March 28, 2011, 5:19 pm

    My goal is to make weekly payments on my line of credit and have it completely paid off by October 1, 2011.

  • Ryszard March 28, 2011, 5:43 pm

    I actually have a name for this year financial goal. I am calling it a BS year. No, it is a different kind of BS, meaning big savings. We decided that we are not making any discretionary purchases this year, in order to pay down as much of our the debt as possible. The idea is twofold:
    1. to reduce the amount of interest that we pay, of course,and
    2. to be able to max out our next year RRSP, which I have not been able to do for many years now.
    Additionally, I would love to finish the house renovations that I started a couple of years ago.

  • Joanne March 28, 2011, 5:49 pm

    Improve cash flow, reduce the principal mortgage!

  • Glen Irwin March 28, 2011, 5:55 pm

    My goal for 2011 is to increase my net worth by 4% using dividend stocks.

  • michael March 28, 2011, 6:15 pm

    Strange title but I’d like to read it.
    My goal is to find some gainful employment to stop the bleeding of
    our savings.

  • Matt March 28, 2011, 6:18 pm

    My goal is to max out my rrsp and tfsa’s for 2011

  • StephR March 28, 2011, 6:27 pm

    My goal for this year is to buy some DRIP dividends.

  • D March 28, 2011, 6:50 pm

    My major goal is to save enough for a backpacking trip to South America this winter. One of my sub-goals is to reduce spending on non-essential items like books- a free one would be awesome!

  • SophieW March 28, 2011, 7:11 pm

    I have many goals for this year, many of them continuations from last year and will continue on in the forseeable future… But the big thing on my mind right now is to pay off that darned car loan! Once that’s gone I’ll have over a grand to put into savings and ease up on the budget a little :)

  • Sean March 28, 2011, 8:15 pm

    This year I am making sacrifices to get debt free, besides the mortgage, & get the family into a new house.

    Also to top up the kids education fund.

    Lastly to put the emergency cash fund in place.

    S.

  • Judy March 28, 2011, 9:13 pm

    My goal for this year is to get back to a structured retirement savings plan. After a job change that included a cut in salary I have fallen off track with my savings.

  • Vonnie March 28, 2011, 9:18 pm

    My goal is to have 10 Drips going! Just need to acquire a few more.

  • John March 28, 2011, 9:26 pm

    Rebalance dividend portfolio.

  • Naomi R March 28, 2011, 10:11 pm

    My goal is to keep away from the temptation to pay for anything on credit – save save save and pay cash (even the new car that will be required in near future).

  • Bhaskar Naik March 28, 2011, 10:20 pm

    Goal is to switch over to ETFs from mutual funds…

  • Amanda March 28, 2011, 10:49 pm

    Hi Million Dollar Journey! My goal for 2011 was to pay off my line of credit, which I’ve already done :)

  • Scott March 28, 2011, 11:37 pm

    My goal is to make it through the extra year my wife has taken off work to stay home with the children without taking on any debt.

  • TK March 28, 2011, 11:57 pm

    Retire in 15 years.

  • Snowburn March 29, 2011, 12:02 am

    My goal is to pay down debts and max RRSPs

  • Jimmy Nguyen March 29, 2011, 12:08 am

    My goal this year is to pay down all debts, except the mortgage and try to save more via RRSP and TFSA. I already started pre-authorized deposits every 2 weeks to those accounts and will try to chip in some lump sump payments when appropriate.

    Spend less than what we earn and have more savings than what we owe…a simple recipe for financial success.

    Cheers!

  • spudman March 29, 2011, 12:37 am

    My goal is to drop 20k on my mortgage and buy a camper.

  • iamphysio March 29, 2011, 12:54 am

    My goal is to pay off our LOC.

  • Stacey Piesner March 29, 2011, 1:02 am

    My goal is to pay of the line of credit (a few thousand dollars) and get a good start on my emergency fund

  • Mike March 29, 2011, 1:13 am

    My goal is bring up my portfolio value to what it was in June 2008, and punish the crooked Ottawa brooker that took advantage of us.

  • Kayla March 29, 2011, 1:26 am

    My financial goal for 2011 is to save up tons of money this summer and keep my credit card balance always paid off!!

  • Dryan March 29, 2011, 3:29 am

    get control of my finances and learn more about good investing

  • Colleen March 29, 2011, 4:20 am

    My husband lost his job last September and has only been able to find a 3 month contract since. Our financial goal is to find him a good full-time, permanent IT position.

  • Ian Ferguson March 29, 2011, 6:56 am

    Establish a series of passive income streams to finance retirement

  • NS March 29, 2011, 10:03 am

    My goal is to re-engage my interest in finance. The last few years have found me with waning interest in anything finance related.

  • Trevor March 29, 2011, 10:50 am

    Find some dividend payers for my TFSA.

  • Beth March 29, 2011, 11:03 am

    Pay off our RSP loan in the next month and then start hammering the mortgage again!

  • Kyle March 29, 2011, 11:23 am

    My goals for 2011 are to replace my 3 month safety fund asap. I had to use it this year to cover some vacant properties and was glad it was there. From that point forward its all saving and investing.

  • Dutchie March 29, 2011, 11:46 am

    Make a few extra payments on my mortgage and put some money in my TFSA

  • carwel March 29, 2011, 12:10 pm

    I aim to have 3 years left on mortgage by the end of 2011.

  • padma March 29, 2011, 12:28 pm

    I am looking forward to buying my first home this year. I have been dreaming about from 1st year university. Saved & maxed my rrsp for the HBP. Iam keeping my fingers crossed!

  • freedox March 29, 2011, 12:53 pm

    I’m just getting my feet wet with this personal finance/investing/money management stuff so i need all the help i can get.

  • Andrew March 29, 2011, 1:33 pm

    Our largest financial goal for the year is to pay off an additional $20,000 on the mortgage. At that rate we’ll be clear in 6 years.

  • Zdad March 29, 2011, 1:33 pm

    My goal gain more control over my investments rather than going with everything my advisor says.

  • Fred March 29, 2011, 3:16 pm

    My goal for this year would be to have my wife and I on the same page in terms of our current financial standing and where we want to be long term.

  • Belinda March 29, 2011, 6:35 pm

    My goal is to READ and UNDERSTAND my Portfolio Summary statements that my advisor sends me quarterly. This includes knowing the MERs and fees that I am being charged.

  • 20 and Engaged March 29, 2011, 8:46 pm

    My 2011 goal is to eliminate a debt on a credit card before interest begins to accrue.

  • Eric March 29, 2011, 9:21 pm

    My goal for 2011 is to invest at least 10K$ in my RRSP, and 10K$ in our TFSA.

  • Marina March 29, 2011, 10:39 pm

    Pay off my mortgage ($10,000 left, so should be possible) and start seriously saving for retirement.

  • Imad March 30, 2011, 1:59 am

    My 2011 goal is to max out TFSA while contributing to my RSP… will be tough but it is feasable!

  • AKip March 30, 2011, 2:19 am

    2011 Goals: Make $2500 RESP contribution to max gov’t “match” and finish paying off my student loan!

  • sandra March 30, 2011, 9:43 am

    So many goals, so little money! Realistic achieveable financial goals for 2011: 1. finally pay off the Line of Credit, and
    2. then take that payment money and divide it between increasing my TFSA payments and establishing a car account

  • telefantastik March 30, 2011, 10:02 am

    For 2011: fill up the TFSA room, and simplify finances by consolidating/closing a couple of accounts.

  • Emily March 30, 2011, 2:13 pm

    $5000 Emergency fund and max out RRSPs.

  • Equal Opportunity Spender March 30, 2011, 3:39 pm

    Well, we decimated our savings in 2010 when we bought a house and then gutted and reno’ed the kitchen and half the first floor, so in 2011, I want to build up our safety net again.

  • Lisa March 30, 2011, 6:12 pm

    My goal for this year is to pay down some debt which will free up some cash for 2012!!!

  • Jungle March 31, 2011, 5:30 am

    One of my goals this year is to save $25 cash.

  • rob March 31, 2011, 12:34 pm

    pay down our home equity line of credit

  • Heaven7 March 31, 2011, 12:41 pm

    My 2011 goals are to get healthy, pass some courses and get a better job.

  • Mike March 31, 2011, 12:42 pm

    Continue to pay double mortgage payments, and throw any extra money into the stock market…I think uranium stocks look good

  • Ary Andriawan March 31, 2011, 1:30 pm

    my financial goals in 2011 are:
    <3 months: buy (take over) the land for cattle fish, with a capital of a bank loan for about 5 years when there is surplus capital I'll buy a car and car certificates will I make the lever to get a larger capital as a down payment to buy a house small-scale playground stores and home stores such certificate shall I mortgage to pay it off with credit for 10 years.
    so I'm not too burdened by my debt, because will be paid by my cattle fish and my shop.

    I hope you all will pray for me to be successful, so I MUST be praying for you all.

    Thank you

  • Kanwal Sarai March 31, 2011, 10:50 pm

    My goal this year is to pay off our mortgage.

  • John Lee March 31, 2011, 11:21 pm

    Pay down mortgage.

  • Jim April 1, 2011, 2:04 am

    Pay off line of credit.

  • Matt April 1, 2011, 8:50 am

    Sounds like a good book.
    One goal for 2011 is to significantly reduce my wife’s student loan. As I’m currently in school, we’re able to make payments directly against her principal. Hopefully reduce it by 30% or more by the end of the year.

  • Jamie April 1, 2011, 10:07 am

    My plan is to payoff my HELOC.

  • Canadian Dream April 1, 2011, 11:53 am

    My goal is simple: pay off $39,000 of my mortgage this year. Hard? Yes, but it will take me a lot closer to being debt free like you FT.

  • Steve April 1, 2011, 1:09 pm

    My financial goal is to max out my RRSP this year in order to stay the course toward financial independence and early retirement!

  • chad April 1, 2011, 2:47 pm

    My financial goal get a better jpaying job $12 is hard to raisie a familly on.

    And to start a rrsp.

  • Richard April 1, 2011, 4:22 pm

    My goal is to reduce my mortgage by 10% this year.

  • Erick April 1, 2011, 6:27 pm

    My goal is to dump all my mutual fund holdings and replace them with low cost ETFs.

  • Wanda B April 1, 2011, 10:15 pm

    One of my financial goals for 2011 is to put away as much as possible this year so my hubby and I can retire a bit earlier.

  • Judy April 1, 2011, 11:55 pm

    My goal is to become consumer-debt free by the end of May 2011 and once that is done, put those dollars into my TFSA.

  • Gene April 2, 2011, 2:38 pm

    I’ve got extra cash coming to me, so I’m working on blasting away at our mortgage principal, within the limits of the prepayment rules.

  • Bruce Sellery April 2, 2011, 7:30 pm

    Wow. These goals are INCREDIBLY inspiring. I wish we had 150 books to give away to each and every one of you. Oh well. Thanks for participating, and three cheers for Million Dollar Journey – truly one of the BEST personal finance blogs out there.

    Bruce Sellery
    Author, Moolala.

  • FT FrugalTrader April 2, 2011, 8:46 pm

    Thanks for the kind words and for stopping by Bruce!

Leave a Comment