≡ Menu

Book Review and Giveaway: Rob Carrick’s Guide to What’s Good Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today

It’s been quite a while since our last book review and giveaway, but lets get it going again with a great personal finance book written by the popular Globe and Mail columnist, Rob Carrick.  The title is a bit long, but descriptive to the overall theme of the book.  The book is titled “Rob Carrick’s Guide to What’s Good Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today.”

About the Author:

According to the book:

Rob Carrick is one of Canada’s most widely read and best-respected financial experts, with two decades of experience as a business and economics reporter and commentator.  Carrick worked on both Bay Street and Parliament Hill before becoming the personal finance columnist for The Globe and Mail ten years ago.

About the Book

As you can probably conclude from the book title, this book focuses on the Canadian investment industry and does a great job explaining how the industry works in a brutally honest fashion.  Although this book is meant for the beginner to intermediate investor, there is something for everyone in this book.

Did you know that when you buy mutual funds from a discount broker that they keep the trailer fee even though they didn’t offer any advice (except Questrade)?  Or the traits of an advisor that you should look out for?  Or even mutual funds that actually provide value?  Those are just a few tid bits of information that I gathered from the book.

The topic areas covered in the book include:

  1. Getting off to a good start – how to get started as an investor, some common mistakes.
  2. Mutual Funds – how fund fees work, and lists of good and bad mutual funds.
  3. Navigating the Stock Market – how to build a simple portfolio without mutual funds, dividend investing, discount brokers, ETFs.
  4. Bonds, GICs and other conservative stuff – fixed income rip offs, ETF alternatives, principal protected notes, high yield bonds.
  5. Do-it-yourself investing – reasons to use a discount broker along with a listing of the top 3, investments that go great with a discount broker account and online resources for investors.
  6. Investment advisors – traits of good and bad adivsors, interview questions, and steps to take if an advisor has wronged you.
  7. Information, please – recommended websites/newsletters/calculators for investing.

Final Thoughts

Overall, I enjoyed this book and would consider it a must read for personal finance enthusiasts, especially those just starting out on their journey.

Want a Free Copy?

The book publisher was generous in offering Million Dollar Journey readers the chance to win a free copy of the book.  The details are below:

  1. Follow our new Facebook page by clicking “Like” on the top of this page. (+1 entry)
  2. Leave a comment in this post. (+1 entry)
  • Only one comment entry per person (valid email addresses only please – privacy policy).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Fri 5pm EST Sept 10, 2010 and the winner, drawn randomly from all entries, contacted shortly after!

If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free newsletter service below (we will not spam you).

FT About the author: FT is the founder and editor of Million Dollar Journey (est. 2006). Through various financial strategies outlined on this site, he grew his net worth from $200,000 in 2006 to $1,000,000 by 2014. You can read more about him here.

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • John King September 6, 2010, 9:14 am

    Thanks for the review. I find that Rob Carrick usually does a very good job of researching and reporting for the benefit of individual investors.

  • Mark September 6, 2010, 9:18 am

    Sounds like a good book for most beginners.

  • jen September 6, 2010, 9:29 am

    Sounds like a useful book.

  • RI September 6, 2010, 9:41 am

    I believe it would be a pleasure to read this book.

  • cbez September 6, 2010, 9:44 am

    It looks like a good read.

  • Pierre September 6, 2010, 10:10 am

    Sounds like a great book

  • Sim September 6, 2010, 10:15 am

    I don’t use mutual funds anymore, but this could still be interesting.

  • Melanie Samson September 6, 2010, 10:31 am

    This sounds like the perfect book for my situation.

  • Jared September 6, 2010, 10:37 am

    Sounds like an interesting book

  • Brian C September 6, 2010, 10:51 am

    Count me in please!

  • Traciatim September 6, 2010, 10:52 am

    I like books :)

  • BillT September 6, 2010, 11:12 am

    Send me the Book!

  • Matthew September 6, 2010, 11:25 am

    Receiving a copy of this book would sure help me in my financial journey!

  • Brian Poncelet, CFP September 6, 2010, 11:30 am

    Hey Ft,

    Does the book talk about risk management at all?

    Disability, critical illness, life insurance, or annuities (later in life). I know this puts people to sleep, but my thoughts it is worth a few chapters.

    Most DTYers have never given this any time. Risk management should be the foundation. Which is the most important!

    It hit home with me this summer when I was visiting B.C. (Kelowna by the lake) and seeing multimillion dollar condos which had a poor foundation and were leaning to one side.

    I was told the cost of repair was going to be more than the buildings!

  • H. Nieuwenhuis September 6, 2010, 11:33 am

    Sounds like an interesting book!

  • Mark September 6, 2010, 11:40 am

    I would like a copy of this book since I am in the beginning stages of investing. Crossing my fingers and hoping I win!

  • Mike September 6, 2010, 11:47 am

    I would love a copy too.

  • Peter September 6, 2010, 11:58 am

    The subjects covered, according to the table of contents looks very interesting. I would love to read this book. I hope a copy will be available at our public library in the not to distant future. Thank for the article.

  • Mike September 6, 2010, 12:04 pm

    Interesting book for people starting to invest

  • John September 6, 2010, 12:05 pm

    It’s good to see books written on personal finance with a Canadian bent. Too often we have to glean and adapt from American ones.

  • tom September 6, 2010, 12:08 pm

    I like reading what Carrick has to say.

  • karen September 6, 2010, 12:09 pm

    Please out me in the draw.

  • Alain September 6, 2010, 12:13 pm

    I like your web site.

    Much of the information does not apply to me, but occasionally I find some gems that make my life easier. Thank you.

  • Patricia September 6, 2010, 12:14 pm

    Would love a copy of this book.

  • Daniel Morel September 6, 2010, 12:14 pm

    Sounds like a good book, but most people will still buy and read trashy novels.

  • guinness416 September 6, 2010, 12:16 pm

    I read it already (TPL has a bunch of copies folks!) but would be happy to have a copy for my shelf. Thanks, FT!

  • chad September 6, 2010, 12:16 pm

    It would be nice to read for anyone nowdays because alot of individuals are doing more investing on there own.
    and lots of mistakes are still being made
    nice timing with the book you should do we’ll

  • Judy September 6, 2010, 12:21 pm

    Sign me up for the book.

  • John September 6, 2010, 12:27 pm

    I always enjoy reading what Rob Carrick has to say – have learned plenty from him over the years . I’m sure a copy of his book would be useful addition to my library. Thanks for the review and opportunity to win.

  • Judi Jeffers September 6, 2010, 12:36 pm

    I have heard of this book before and have not been able to find a copy in the library. I hope that I can win one, as I am very interested to read it.
    Thank you

  • No Fees For Me September 6, 2010, 12:37 pm

    Unfortunately the copy of this book in our local library branch is missing. Probably taken by a disgruntled mutual fund sales person. The good news is that it is available at other branches. I look forward to reading it.

  • Pat September 6, 2010, 12:40 pm

    It looks like a perfect read for me.

  • Larry September 6, 2010, 12:54 pm

    I’m certain I would benefit from reading such a book. Thanks

  • Ruth September 6, 2010, 12:57 pm

    This sounds like a useful, informative book that I would like to read

  • Financial Cents September 6, 2010, 1:00 pm

    Hey FT – send me the book please! :)

    Cheers,
    Mark

  • Kate September 6, 2010, 1:10 pm

    Sounds like an interesting book

  • AL September 6, 2010, 1:25 pm

    Would love to read it!!

  • Bernie September 6, 2010, 1:33 pm

    I would definitely enjoy reading this book!

  • Kevin Epp September 6, 2010, 1:48 pm

    Following your “Journey” with great interest … practical, informative and inspiring.

  • Matt September 6, 2010, 1:48 pm

    Would be interested in reading this. Thanks for another giveaway!

  • Steve Zussino September 6, 2010, 2:13 pm

    Have done a review on this book on our site.

    Good read and I liked how current and impartial he is.

    I would like to know what Rob invests in though.

  • Alberto September 6, 2010, 2:16 pm

    Would like to get hold of a copy.

  • Allawi September 6, 2010, 2:32 pm

    pick me please!

  • Michael September 6, 2010, 2:38 pm

    Count me in! It sounds like an interesting read.

  • Sam September 6, 2010, 2:39 pm

    Love to read Rob Carrick’s book to help to find a safer path through the Financial Minefield!

  • Jason R September 6, 2010, 2:59 pm

    Hum, I think I could be convinced to read it.
    Thanks for the give aways as always!

  • sssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss September 6, 2010, 3:04 pm

    loved the book. would like my own copy.

  • Horace Moning September 6, 2010, 3:07 pm

    Hi i want to know what kind of level of money can i invest.

  • Echo September 6, 2010, 3:09 pm

    Nice review, count me in on the giveaway!

  • Catherine September 6, 2010, 3:47 pm

    I’ve been eyeing this book for a while. Thanks for giving your readers the opportunity to win a free copy!

  • Jagdish September 6, 2010, 4:00 pm

    It will be very interesting to read this book. I think it covers many practical aspects of investments.

  • Joe September 6, 2010, 4:17 pm

    Very interesting – Hadn’t heard of this book. Seems like it encompasses most of the beginner topics. It’s on my “must read” list now. Thanks.

  • Dane September 6, 2010, 4:53 pm

    Very interested to see what he says in the Bonds, GICs and other conservative stuff section as I’m leaning more towards that end of the spectrum these day.

  • ldk September 6, 2010, 5:17 pm

    thanks for the giveaway, FT!!

  • sean September 6, 2010, 5:39 pm

    I need this book

  • Jason September 6, 2010, 5:42 pm

    I enjoy Rob’s articles/features in the G&M. Looks like a very handy book!

  • Adam September 6, 2010, 5:48 pm

    I would love to win a copy as I am also ready to look at investing seriously.

  • Jungle September 6, 2010, 5:54 pm

    Wow, I have never seen so many comments for a post. You must be giving away a book for free..please add me to the draw :) Thanks for the review!

  • Brian September 6, 2010, 6:09 pm

    Always interested in a good read.

  • Kevin September 6, 2010, 7:07 pm

    sounds good, sign me up!

  • Jesse James September 6, 2010, 8:19 pm

    Good Startup tips for an investor. Sounds interesting.

  • Peter Mulloy September 6, 2010, 8:27 pm

    Big fan of Rob’s in the Globe, throw my hat in please.

  • Bob Ferguson September 6, 2010, 8:30 pm

    Carrick is a good writer who seems to relate well to readers. He seems to be able to answer the questions of concern to the average investor. His style is not complicated.

  • Brandon September 6, 2010, 8:38 pm

    Sign me up. Cheers.

  • Brian September 6, 2010, 8:38 pm

    If there is one thing that I have learned about the Canadian investment industry is that it often feels like I haven’t learned very much at all… perhaps Rob’s book can help to change that….

  • BadCaleb September 6, 2010, 9:51 pm

    I’m in. Thanks for doing this.

  • Queen of Warriors September 6, 2010, 10:51 pm

    I’m interested in reading up on it. Thanks

  • Terry Jewell September 6, 2010, 11:05 pm

    Thanks for the review and the contest
    Terry

  • Randy T September 6, 2010, 11:50 pm

    Would love the book!

  • Mai September 7, 2010, 12:03 am

    I am always looking for good books to read. I am in.

  • Jason September 7, 2010, 12:47 am

    Sign me up, it sounds like a great read.

  • Neenie September 7, 2010, 1:59 am

    I have enjoyed Rob Carrick’s column for years, always enjoy his passion to educate investors.

  • miscellanem September 7, 2010, 3:03 am

    Sounds educational. How investments work is wayy beyond me…

  • D.Mason September 7, 2010, 4:10 am

    As a relatively new investor ( since TFSA’a) I’m sure I could learn a lot from the chapter “Navigating the Stock Market”. Hope I get a book!

  • S Huffman September 7, 2010, 7:10 am

    Count me in for a chance at a freebie :)

  • Arcaneind September 7, 2010, 7:50 am

    5 Stars out of 5 on Amazon.ca and not a huge sticker price either.

    BUT winning it would be sweeter!

  • Ken September 7, 2010, 8:05 am

    Sounds like a good read. Thanks for the contest.

  • Emily September 7, 2010, 9:14 am

    Book sounds great!

  • Trevor September 7, 2010, 10:19 am

    Would love a copy!

  • sneeker September 7, 2010, 10:22 am

    I would love to give that book a read! Thanks!

  • Chris September 7, 2010, 10:27 am

    Book please! Anything that’ll help my journey.

  • Chris September 7, 2010, 10:28 am

    I’d love a print! Thanks!

  • Steve L. September 7, 2010, 10:39 am

    Looks like an excellent read.

  • Bobby Aves September 7, 2010, 10:46 am

    Book sounds great!

  • Michael September 7, 2010, 10:46 am

    Sounds like a good read. Sign me up!

  • Gerry September 7, 2010, 10:55 am

    Sounds like a great book. Count me in.

  • Mike September 7, 2010, 10:59 am

    Looks like a good book

  • Rod September 7, 2010, 11:17 am

    Sounds good. Sign me up

  • Dutchie September 7, 2010, 11:35 am

    I’ve read bits of this book online. It seems quite interesting!

  • digger88 September 7, 2010, 11:51 am

    Always good to find resources aimed at the Canadian market.

  • Erin D September 7, 2010, 12:43 pm

    This sounds really interesting for beginners such as ourselves. Please count me in!

  • Elbyron September 7, 2010, 12:52 pm

    My library has 8 copies of this book, but it would be nice to have my own copy to read at my leisure.

  • Millionaireby45 September 7, 2010, 1:00 pm

    Sounds like a great book.

  • TTTSNB September 7, 2010, 1:39 pm

    I can’t wait to read it!

  • Calvin September 7, 2010, 1:46 pm

    Sounds like that book would be really helpful.

  • Aik September 7, 2010, 2:04 pm

    I’d love to win.

  • Brian September 7, 2010, 2:15 pm

    I wanted to pick up this books since I saw the author on BNN. He was very insightful with his ideas and thoughts on the market. This was around the end of the year last year. I this will be a “must have” on my list.

  • Graham September 7, 2010, 2:31 pm

    Sounds very interesting! Can’t wait to read it.

  • SophieW September 7, 2010, 2:47 pm

    Sounds like just the book for me…

  • Nick September 7, 2010, 3:02 pm

    Thanks FT, count me in!

  • Peter September 7, 2010, 3:23 pm

    Looks like a great book!

  • Marianne O September 7, 2010, 3:40 pm

    Anything by Rob Carrick should be a good read. Thanks for the contest.

  • Jeff September 7, 2010, 3:57 pm

    Another great book give away

  • Adam B September 7, 2010, 4:07 pm

    I want desperately to read this book.

  • Gurjit September 7, 2010, 5:01 pm

    I would love to read this book by Rob Carrick

  • Jo September 7, 2010, 5:29 pm

    Would love to read the book!

  • NS September 7, 2010, 6:00 pm

    I would love to read this book!

  • Kerry September 7, 2010, 6:22 pm

    This would be an interesting read. I have several friends in the industry of mutual fund sucking….I mean selling.

    It would be interesting to see how it all works, not in theory from their mouths.

    Cheers!

  • stacey September 7, 2010, 6:37 pm

    I wondered if this book was any good. Thanks for the review, now I’d love to read it!

  • jaybee September 7, 2010, 6:51 pm

    Thanks for the review. I tend to like most of what Carrick writes…

  • chris September 7, 2010, 7:24 pm

    thanks for another giveaway!

  • Jon September 7, 2010, 7:35 pm

    Sounds like a good book! Would love to check it out for free! :)

  • Greg September 7, 2010, 8:04 pm

    I’d like to read it!!

  • Karl September 7, 2010, 8:08 pm

    Looks great, count me in too!

  • ig September 7, 2010, 9:27 pm

    I’d like the book, please. 8-)

  • mike September 7, 2010, 10:19 pm

    Please let me win

  • Miguel September 7, 2010, 10:22 pm

    Don’t read the Globe, but I am interested in any finance book…

  • Dspayre September 7, 2010, 10:23 pm

    I want the book

  • bert September 7, 2010, 10:39 pm

    sounds like a good read and just in time for the indoor weather.

  • Kenny O September 7, 2010, 11:40 pm

    Would love to win the free copy, sounds like a good read!!

  • Marina September 7, 2010, 11:42 pm

    Please enter me in the contest, it sounds like a great book!

  • Germaine September 8, 2010, 12:28 am

    Please enter my name in the contest. The book sounds interesting and I would like to read it.

  • Future Money-Bags September 8, 2010, 7:58 am

    I am just starting out as an investor this year and woud love and cant wait to learn tonnes more about investing for the average person!!
    I love when people I actually know write good books, not to say the first-timers don’t have good advice.

  • Ben September 8, 2010, 10:45 am

    I would thoroughly enjoy this book. I have very few personal finance tomes on my bookshelf, and it would be nice to have a good reference on hand instead of going to the library.

  • JME September 8, 2010, 11:14 am

    The book sounds good.

  • Neeraj September 8, 2010, 11:15 am

    Seems like an interesting read. Please count me in.

  • BigJ September 8, 2010, 11:45 am

    Sounds great! I’d like to take a closer look.

  • Marypat September 8, 2010, 11:53 am

    As a newbie investor, I think this book would be extremely informative.

  • Justino September 8, 2010, 11:58 am

    Would be interested to see how he constructs “a simple portfolio without mutual funds, dividend investing, discount brokers, ETFs.”

  • Frog of Finance September 8, 2010, 12:30 pm

    I’m certainly interested in reading this book!

  • tin September 8, 2010, 1:47 pm

    would love to read this book

  • Raf September 8, 2010, 2:52 pm

    would like to have a closer inspection of said book…

  • Jim September 8, 2010, 3:02 pm

    I enjoyed his last book. Count me in!

  • Bryce September 8, 2010, 4:33 pm

    Sounds like a great read for a novice like me!

  • Rob September 8, 2010, 4:47 pm

    Thanks for the opportunity!

  • Ken Kirkby September 9, 2010, 12:41 am

    I enjoy my weekly readings of Rob’s columns in the Saturday Globe. I especially enjoy the interviews and information available through Rob’s online vids.

  • Mike Austin September 9, 2010, 12:55 am

    I’d really like to read this book. Sounds cool!

  • Chris Watts September 9, 2010, 1:02 am

    great selection

  • telefantastik September 9, 2010, 2:48 am

    Count me in, thanks!

  • KB September 9, 2010, 12:03 pm

    would love to get this book! thanks for the promotion.

  • carwel September 9, 2010, 1:30 pm

    I’d like a copy.

  • Brandon September 9, 2010, 2:45 pm

    sounds like a good book, i’d like to check it out

  • js_cooldude September 9, 2010, 11:33 pm

    Yay! Free!

    Seriously though, this is like the third positive review for this book (opposed to nonce negative) so I’m really starting to want to read this.

  • A.T. September 10, 2010, 10:06 am

    Always up for learning more about investing

  • Aaron September 10, 2010, 10:25 am

    Should be an interesting book.

  • Steve September 10, 2010, 10:53 am

    I would love to read the book. A free copy would be much appreciated.

  • Tracey H September 10, 2010, 11:31 am

    Sounds interesting!

  • Jean-Gabriel September 10, 2010, 12:17 pm

    I’m in. Thanks for doing this.

  • John Lee September 10, 2010, 12:28 pm

    FT, finally on facebook! awesome.

  • Sean September 10, 2010, 1:41 pm

    Sounds like a great book

  • Lavneet September 10, 2010, 2:11 pm

    Sounds like a good book for most beginners

  • Heather September 10, 2010, 2:30 pm

    Glad you are now on FB!

  • Ruth September 10, 2010, 3:40 pm

    Enjoy Rob Carrick in the Globe and Mail. Would love to win this book

  • Will September 10, 2010, 5:29 pm

    Looks like a good book, thanks for the review.

  • Luc September 12, 2010, 4:00 pm

    Interesting book, would like to read it.

  • Ryan September 12, 2010, 10:18 pm

    mmm, free books

  • helen dakin October 9, 2010, 10:10 am

    rob carrick. one of my my favourite writers!

  • Michael October 18, 2010, 9:42 am

    Pick me, pick me!

  • Mark October 18, 2010, 10:25 am

    sounds like a valuable book

  • FT FrugalTrader October 18, 2010, 11:20 am

    NOTICE:

    I put the wrong link in the RSS post. If you want to enter the RESP book giveaway, please leave your comment by clicking the following link:

    http://www.milliondollarjourney.com/the-resp-book-review-and-giveaway.htm

    Thanks!